We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1231 Lee Street, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    55
    37
    11
    19
See reviews for
47
42
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Eastlake, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I ordered a room with a King and sofa bed. The room did not have a sofa bed because the new one they ordered would not fit. They then gave us a room with 2 queen sized beds, went into eh room, and it was already occupied. The fan in the bathroom did not work. The water pressure in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Des Plaines, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was fine, but wait for shuttle from airport was 50 minutes. Sunday night after 8pm there is nothing to eat within walking distance. Although only 4.5 miles to airport it takes about 30 minutes. Room was ok, staff pleasent. Parking can be a bit of a walk. Park and fly deal good, but as mentioned be prepared to wait... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Haven, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Best Western Des Plaines was a good property for me to stay at one night. It's a somewhat out-of-the-way location (particularly for someone not familiar with the Chicago area) but still pretty easy to access (and very close to O'Hare Airport). The property itself definitely is older but it's obvious that the operators do try and take care of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waukegan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

This hotel may be 15 minutes away but its not difficult to get there and back, especially when there is a free all day every day parking building near the convention center only a block away. I find this hotel trip to be perfect because it is not that far from the convention and they provide free wifi, complimentary breakfast... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you used our hotel to stay as you are attending the convention center which is nearby. Your positive feedback regarding our staff is much appreciated as our number one priority is excellent customer care.We hope to see you soon again. More 

Monona, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

My husband and I needed a "Park, Sleep, Fly" package when we flew out of O'Hare this spring. I searched several hotels in the area for the best rate as well as hotel decor and cleanliness, shuttle, breakfast, and parking. Some were very expensive. I went to a "park, sleep, fly" website and found a good rate for all of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you on behalf of my staff for such a detailed review. We are glad you took advantage of our Park-Sleep-Fly package which allows you to park up to 14 nights. I will gladly inform all of my staff that were complimented in your wonderful review. We hope to see you in the future again. More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I booked my room yesterday 5/15/15 via a third party and once I received the email I figured out the days were right but the months were wrong. It said I was to checkin on 5/15/15 (same day) and checkout the next day. I immediately called priceline and informed them that I needed to change the months. They told me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience you faced with cancelling your reservation. Unfortunately, third party bookings such as priceline are non-refundable and that is why our front desk agent could not cancel your reservation. I hope you can understand us and you will give us a second chance to serve you better. More 

Dallas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I needed a convenient place to stay in early recovery prior to entry into a sober living environment. The hotel is about a mile from the Des Plaines Alano Club, which worked out great. Great clubhouse w/serious sobriety time...not to mention warm and welcoming clubhouse. I also needed a place where I could be near an Orthodox church so that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive feedback we have received from your end. We are glad you chose to stay here with us at the Best Western Des Plaines for your Orthodox Easter. Also we are glad your church was within the walking distance from our hotel. We hope to see you again for such a special event in... More 

Westchester NY, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

The staff is awesome, very friendly, very helpful. I noticed that they did some renovations and I like what I see. This was my second visit at this hotel and I notice that there is a lot of upgrades. Place is cleaner, new furniture and of course a lighter atmosphere. The shuttle service is also reliable and the drivers are... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the incredible feedback. We are pleased you have recognized all the positive changes we have made so far. We are still in the middle of some projects but it feels good for the guests to notice the remodeling changes we are making for your experience to be a pleasant one. Hope to see... More 

St. Louis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This is a great hotel for the price. Internet service was excellent. Breakfast could have been a bit better. Parking was a bit cramped. TV was updated and channel choice was great. Staff was nice, friendly and attentive. Beds were comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive feedback. We enjoyed reading your review. We do apologize if the parking was a bit full but we have been running higher occupancy lately and we strive to improve the breakfast experience every day for our guests. Hope to see you soon again. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We recently did a park/sleep/fly stay at this hotel. We checked in on day 1, checked out on day 2, leaving for an international vacation that same day for about a week. The check-in, parking, and room itself were all fine, nothing remarkable. The ride TO the airport was also fine (although had we left when the desk clerk recommended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are extremely sorry to hear your discomfort during your trip. Our night auditor could not gauge the shuttle time due to unexpected traffic and prior clients commitment. She offered you our back up service as taxi to reduce your waiting time at the airport. Since we do not control the taxi queue, she was unable to give... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay