We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn

2.0 of 5 1231 Lee Street, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    49
    34
    10
    18
See reviews for
42
39
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Nebraska, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I had a wonderful time in Chicago but it took me 5-8 minutes for someone to come check me in and out as they were talking in the back. I had to kindly ask for assistance and even after minutes of loud coughing trying to get their attention, they still did not check up.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Des Plaines Inn. We will inform our staff of your wonderful review. I apologize for the wait time you have experienced and it will be brought to the attention of my staff. We hope to see you again on another Chicago visit occasion. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

I've been staying at this hotel for about 18 moths 2-3 times a week on average and I can honestly say the art of making guest comfortable has been mastered here. There is always someone at the front desk ready to check me in with a smile on their face and I wouldn't be doing this review any justice if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to start by thanking you for the wonderful review. We are very glad that you are noticing the improvements we are making here at our property Best Western Des Plaines. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Uncaring, non-smiling staff. No Hot water, picture fell from the wall and broken glass everywhere. No offer of a discount for inconvenience was offered. Front deck clerk was apologetic but uncaring. Sent cleaning lady up and she was the only friendly person we encountered.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to express my biggest apology for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay at our property. Unfortunately, sometimes maintenance issues occur but we are glad you didn't get hurt. We will make sure to take all measures that this kind of problem doesn't occur again in the future.I have already discussed with my staff... More 

Md, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Hotel was run down and not very well maintained. Hotel staff in evenings didn't speak enough english to understand that I was asking for someone to look at my in room television because it wasn't working and couldn't tell me if they had washer and dryers for the guests to wash clothes (as I was there for over 10 days).... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to start by giving you a sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our hotel is under construction for wallpaper and can give sometimes a impression that it isn't well maintained , but I can assure you this isn't the case. All of our televisions are only a year old and most... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I Can not believe this hotel meets BW standards I cannot comment on amminities for there wern't any. The towel were old and raggity and there was not a bar of soap in the room. /The mattress was poor and it has taken me two days to get rid of my back ache

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that we could not fulfill your requirements. We have one of the top quality mattresses in our rooms and they are about two years old. We have adopted the ''green initiative'' in our hotel and we have set up soap, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers. We also provide a face bar soap in our bath vanity.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful experience and the hotel manager, Selma was very helpful and was on point with customer service. My room was clean and I always had clean towels. I will definetely come back to this fabulous hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank your for your positive feedback. We definitely hope to see you in the near future. More 

Thunder Bay
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

My title might be misleading but this hotel was ok at best. The swimming pool is not inviting and this hotel provides service to train workers and other servicemen in the city. Some general cleaning would do the hotel some good. Wiping down the elevator, raking up leaves and picking beer cans off the parking lot. Rooms were clean for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear, Guest We would like to thank you for expressing your comments during your stay. We will definitely fix the points you have stated. We encourage you to give us another opportunity to make your stay better. More 

Jacksonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Good food, great staff, enjoyed my stay.. Plenty of parking, well light at night. Location is great to access I-294 and O'Hara airport. Check-in staff very helpful and great at giving directions. Inside heated pool is a real plus and we were having snow flurries. Rooms are large and there's spacious areas between the furnishings. Very pleasant all the way... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very glad to hear you have had a great experience here in Chicago. Our hotel Best Western Des Plaines is located in a very good location so our guests have access to all of their needs. I will definitely inform my staff of the wonderful review you have provided for their customer service. Hope to see... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 via mobile

I don't even want to stay here for just one night. As I walked in the front desk the representative did not even greet me. The motel was smelly and it seemed you are are walking in a construction area. I wanted to transfer to the another Best Western which is located in W. Higgins road but unfortunately I cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear Keroween, Thank you for taking the time to express your subjective opinion of Best Western Des Plaines. I apologize for your perception that you “wasted” money on a” below average motel,” and that our front desk representative gave you “attitude” and “rolled her eyes” at you. She and I have discussed the situation and the proper way to listen... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I don't want to even stay here tonight but I guess I have no choice since I already paid for it. I felt like I just wasted a $120.00 for it. Good thing I'm just staying here for just one night. Customer service was terrible and no manager was available to talk to. I won't recommend this place to anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manojmahapatra, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn, responded to this review

Dear maria Carolyn s, Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion of Best Western Des Plaines. Since I cannot help but note the specific similarities between your review and that of your friend Keroween, I am somewhat at a loss to determine what your opinion is and what she asked you to write.I apologize for your perception... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn

Address: 1231 Lee Street, Des Plaines, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Des Plaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Des Plaines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Des Plaines Hotel Des Plaines
Des Plaines Best Western

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay