We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Decatur Conference Center and Hotel

2.5 of 5 4191 US 36 West (Wyckles Rd.), Decatur, IL 62522 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Decatur Conference Center and Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Decatur Conference Center and Hotel
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    21
    26
    24
See reviews for
28
12
4
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
McHenry, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made pre-paid reservations at your hotel for Sharpe's TKD tournament Nov 21 and Nov 22. Due to an error on my part, I accidentally booked the night on the 22. When I called and asked about any sort of partial credit or refund, I was blantantly refused. When I checked in on friday I spoke with Mike Huff, he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donna W, General Manager at Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, responded to this review

Hello K.B., Thank you for your review and advance notification via email. Unfortunately, my attempt to reach you was unsuccessful. Please accept my apologies for whatever part my team played in what was clearly miscommunication. I have attempted to resolve this matter as you requested. Please let me know if I may be of further assistance. Respectfully, Donna Wickersham General... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The employee who checked me in had no manners what so ever, and didn't even apologise when I went to my room and all the way back down to reception because she had given me a key card that didn't work. As it is a huge hotel it took me 5 mins to get to my room and 5 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna W, General Manager at Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience while visiting our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you had expected. We are dedicated to providing exceptional customer service and making every guest experience positive. I apologize that our staff didn’t give you that experience. I have addressed your comments with our team and... More 

Decatur, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I stayed here because my daughter was in a beauty pageant and it was easier to go to the room and change her outfits, rather than leave everything in the room and risk something happening to it. Now I wish I had! Upon entering the room, I immediately noticed the smell of mildew. Having my daughter with me, she wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not well kept. House keeping is substandard. A supposedly cleaned room had a towel full of Feces left in there folded by sink. Windows were not of working order because they were not straight in which let bugs in. In one of the rooms with our group had mold on the walls (in which staff did come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna W, General Manager at Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dawnie D, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am so sorry your expeience was not what you expected. As dissapointing as it was to read, I believe I have additional information that you may be interested in knowing. Please feel free to contact me directly at 217-420-8707. Donna Wickersham General Manager More 

Ladd, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had the pleasurable experience of staying at the Decatur Conference Center and Hotel during a recent Illinois Sheriffs' Association training event. The staff were all wonderfully pleasant and supportive while the accomodations we clean and everything I would desire. THe event food service was prepared 'in house" and was very good. Very happy with everythings during my stay. I'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donna W, General Manager at Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for your kind review. It was our pleasure to host the Illinois Sheriffs' Association. We hope to see all of you again at the next event! Best regards, Donna Wickersham General Manager More 

Normal, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband plays in a state tourney in Decatur every summer. After years of him playing, I thought our kiddos and I would join him. This was NOT the place to take children to!! While the pool was lovely, we weren't able to use it due to the hours it was open. I kindly asked if we could use it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Donna W, General Manager at Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for contacting me and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I of course, was disappointed by your experience. We are a full service hotel with lots of great features for all types of travel and events. Softball group blocks are plentiful this time of year and we expect to have families joining the players. Our pool... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights for a convention in June. The place is dated in general, and in need of updating which I'm told is happening gradually. The room itself had a poor quality mattress and the wall mounted thermostat literally fell off the wall at one point. The biggest issue I had was for $99/night the room did not include... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donna W, General Manager at Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience while visiting our hotel. From your comments, I suspect that you were in one of our standard non-remodeled guest rooms. Though we have 185 completely renovated rooms we still have 185 to finish. As you might imagine, there is always something to be fixed or repaired in these original rooms. I apologize for... More 

Jacksonville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful staff and hotel stayed in new room for wedding weekend, great food, pool for kids, staff every where when you need anything,suggest book thru front desk to get new section, they are working hard to beautify the whole hotel (:

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Donna W, General Manager at Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm so glad to know you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again should your travel plans bring you to Decatur in the future! Warm regards, Donna Wickersham General Manager More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went for a family wedding and had the best time. Great big rooms to sleep in, even with 2 adults and 2 teenagers (often times with more in the room). Best dinner ever ate at a wedding reception. The venue was lovely and the bride entrance down the stair case ... not a dry eye in the house.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Donna W, General Manager at Decatur Conference Center and Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your very kind review! Our hotel has been recognized as the "Best Place" in Decatur for wedding receptions. This award is given annually by the Hearld & Review and we've taken the top spot for the last four years! Last year we also added an award winning Chef to our team. He is extremely creative and... More 

Machesney Park IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

First of all, booked through Orbitz, which I rarely do. Hotel lobby was nice, but that is it. Our room was horrible! 80's bad decor, bathroom was not clean. Tile was cracked and dingy. AC barely worked in room. Halls ways were not air-conditioned. Seriously, move on to better hotel, not worth the 99.00 I paid for gross room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Decatur Conference Center and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decatur Conference Center and Hotel

Address: 4191 US 36 West (Wyckles Rd.), Decatur, IL 62522 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Location: United States > Illinois > Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Decatur Conference Center and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Decatur Conference Center and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decatur Hotel Decatur

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay