We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
333 North Wyckles Road, Decatur, IL 62522 (Formerly Days Inn Decatur)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    4
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a really horrible experience here. It smells smokey when you walk in (we both thought the manager was smoking near the lobby-- and they allow smoking in the hotel!). The room is tiny. There is one double bed-- no kings, no two beds. The sink is way too low. I'm very short, and I had to duck my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

Well I truly remember the whole incident while you and your friend wanted to check in and both rooms with one bed for one night booked via an internet source had stipulated room reserved and I was to honor your reservation and you brought up your issue of being asthmatic and I truly understood you and said the rooms were... More 

Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

This hotel needs a major upgrade. I thought the entire facility was supposed to be smoke free but I could smell smoke every time I entered the building. I woke up in the middle of the night with a headache due to the heavy smoke smell. Stay across the street at the Decatur Conference Center..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harry P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

We thank you for your response and truly regret that you did not have a pleasant experience with us hence we have always being an Inn offering both smoking and non smoking rooms with the entire hotel being split in two with Smoking rooms in the East wing and Non Smoking rooms in the West wing and can assure you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Stay somewhere else. We booked for two nights and left after one. Didn't dare to use the comforter and the box spring had stains. Needed to vacuum the hallway and the bathroom was scary. Woke up to a neighbor coughing up a lung. Nice. The staff at the desk were nice though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

I thank you very much for your review and am very sorry as I could not find any correspondence and giving us a date or a last name I could not find your stay and hence be very assured we have undergone a remodel with new carpets and our bedding is in very good condition only 4 years old and... More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Booked this as a 2-star????? Usually get something higher but had issues booking another hotel so figured how bad can a 2 star be, especially since it was not super cheap (advertised at $79+). I have stayed in many, many hotel/motels in the past 25 years and this is as bad as I have seen it for a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and sorry to have not met your expectations in all area as you were kind enough to compare us with Fairfield and Holiday Inn which is really a segment and you only compare us with 2 stars with what tier but I personally would like to apologise to you for not meeting your... More 

Bonita Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Worst place yet, a real dump. Everything - furniture, plumbing, carpet, etc. - was old, worn out, and filthy. Doesn't deserve two stars. I'd give it 1/2 star only for the running water and a roof over your head.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your views and comments as I personally would not argue with your views but our product is viewed by many and it stands for itself.Thank you very much once again More 

Danville, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

This room was a non-smoking room, smelled like smoke! Old and cigarette burns on carpet, loud high pitch noise all nite, very irratating when needing to get up at 4:30 am!! Will not stay again, do not recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and I can assure you that we do not have our non smoking room smelling of smoke but it seems you had a very unpleasant experience we would like to offer you a 50% OFF your next stay with us and please contact me for this reservation.Please once again accept our sincere apologies... More 

O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Reasonable rate. Older building but room was clean. Bed was horrible. Hardly slept all night. Mattress too hard. Bathroom very small. Fridge & microwave was nice to have. Staff not friendly but not unpleasant. Breakfast was very minimal. Shouldn't advertise it because you don't get much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your comments and we truly value them as to regards with the breakfast mentioned we only promote a Continental Breakfast and it consists of bread,muffins,honey buns,cereals,oats,milk,juice,coffee and fresh fruits with English muffins and mixture of other sweet muffins and to my understanding this is an edequate continental breakfast but seems we fell short of... More 

lawrence, ks
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Staying one night was acceptable but would not recommend for more than that. There were cigarette burns on the carpet. The bathroom was miniature. Positive factors: refrig & microwave & the window opened! Breakfast was minimal. Won't spend time there again. Ck in & out was quick & friendly. Another plus was a room on the first floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harry P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your review and I would like to assure you that we are currently looking into our carpet replacement and we only promote a complimentary "continental breakfast" and we are always complemented for our breakfast , terribly sorry we felt short of your expectation . Hope to see you on your next visit to... More 

Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I shared a two-queen-bed room with our adult daughter. The room was clean and quiet.The pillows were lumpy and the sink drained much too slowly; otherwise, we had no complaints. With a very reasonable room rental fee, we consider this hotel to be a good value and would choose it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harry P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

I personally would like to thank you for your review for our hotel and hoping to see you on your next visit to Decatur,IL More 

Indianapolis, In
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The location was nice and convenient right off the highway. I booked through Priceline. I requested a king room instead of queen. Was told they don't give king rooms to Priceline bookings. Most hotels do however. The room was okay. Could have been a little cleaner (furniture arms were a little dirty) but overall not bad. The bed was fairly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harry P, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Decatur, responded to this review

Well thank you very much for your review I see we did not meet your standards as far as the continental breakfast goes and as always we have had to serve a continental breakfast with fruits , bread group, sweet roll or muffin or Danish with cereals and milk and also fruit juice with coffee for some it will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
6.1 mi away
Baymont Inn Decatur
Baymont Inn Decatur
#7 of 11 in Decatur
3.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 11 in Decatur
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
6.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel and Suites
Welcome Hotel and Suites
#4 of 11 in Decatur
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Decatur
Ramada Limited Decatur
#8 of 11 in Decatur
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur
0.2 mi away
Decatur Conference Center and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay