We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb

1212 W. Lincoln Highway, DeKalb, IL 60115 (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    13
    16
    13
    17
See reviews for
29
5
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Iron River, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Red Roof Inn is our preferred hotel when we travel and our stay was good. Cleaning and stocking of toiletries in rooms could've been better, but staff gave us tissues and coffee when we asked. The initial room my family member checked was not clean at all, so the staff provided him with a comparable room that was clean. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

I'm very pleased that the front desk staff was able to check your father into the correct room early and resolve the issues, I was aware of the situation and I apologize for any inconvenience this caused. Hope to see you on your next visit to DeKalb. We do have great location directly across the street for the NIU football... More 

Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for three nights two weekends ago online said they had cribs or play pens and they do not!! If we would have known ahead of time we could have brought one of the three we had at home but it ended up costing another $60... Rooms are spacious and luckily we were near the front away from the trains.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Jamie: Thank you for your review, I have addressed the issues and corrected them. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our hot breakfast. We do have cribs available, please contact me on your next visit to DeKalb, I will make sure there is a crib in the room and you are away from the train with a poolside room. More 

Travelers are raving about these DeKalb hotels

Hiawatha, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in need of an update but for the price it is a good bargain. Rooms are adequate size. Beds are OK. One was good the other had a bit of a sag in the mattress. Room was reasonably quiet. Location is excellent, close to the University and downtown. Breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We take all feedback to heart, this helps us to cater to all guest needs.!! We have completed many upgrades, with many more in the future. Our location is a plus, within walking distance to several pubs and restaurants. Across the street from the NIU football stadium I will share... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I was attending an event in Dekalb. She made reservations at the Baymont where we had a horrible experience. So l looked for better accommodations and a few doors away was the Red Roof Inn where upon arrival there was a pleasant greeting and very nice staff. The manager (Vicky) was at the front desk assisting customers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Ms. S: Thank you for the kind words. We were very happy we could help make your trip to DeKalb an enjoyable one. As always I will share this review with entire staff especially Lynnae and Bob. I hope the next time you stop in DeKalb you will allow us to upgrade you to a suite. It was our pleasure... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel wasn't always a Red Roof Inn. Recently management changed it over to a Red Roof but kept the same amenities. This means that you get the room at the price of a Red Roof Inn but the amenities of a higher quality hotel. This meant I got a great value for my money. I defiantly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to our review our hotel. Our Courtyard pool is the only one in the county. We also are the closest hotel to NIU's football field. We haven't taken away any amenities since we changed to Red Roof. We also have kept all staff and management in place. We look forward to your next visit! More 

Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Basic accommodations, but clean, great location, friendly staff, and a great pool. Only points which could have been improved are that they need a vending machine that isn't empty, and they need more than one ice machine. Other than that a great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Sandra that you choosing Red Roof Inn and Suites DeKalb for you stay. We also appreciate you for taking the time to review our hotel. I shared your comments with our staff as always. I apologize for the soda machine and ice machine, this issues have since be resolved. We're looking forward to your next visit to DeKalb. More 

Livermore, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

This isn't one of my favorite hotels to stay at, but when I don't pay for it I have no choice. The place was and would have been my favorite choice. This was my first time ever coming to DeKalb Illinois. The reception I got at the hotel was excellent. Plenty of parking, excellent location, excellent restaurants nearby. I do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We do have plenty of truck parking, and are very fortunate to have so many great restaurants within walking distance and discounts for hotel guests. Make sure on your next visit to DeKalb to contact us it was a pleasure to have you here. Our front desk staff is always eager to help our... More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I've been staying here since this was a Best Western motel. The service was excellent then, and I dare say it's even better now. I put my father in hospice care in early April. All was in flux with my family, and the Red Roof Inn was, truly, a safe haven to return to every evening. The excellent manager there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Karen: I hope all is well. Sorry I missed you on your last visit, I was hoping to catch up. Thank you for your great review, I will share it with my staff. We appreciate your kind words and looking forward to your next visit. Your room will be waiting!!! More 

MACON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

The price is good and the room itself was what you would expect for a Red Roof. Clean. Comfortable for the most part. Not a whole lot of amenities. But, if you stay here, make sure you stay in a room facing the office. This stay we were facing outside and the trains. It seemed like every 30 minutes they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I'm sorry you had an issue with the door and AC. I will share this with the staff and check if they had given you the opportunity to change rooms and if they were able to satisfy you before leaving the hotel. As for the train, on your next visit... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We were supposed to have a non-smoking room, yet when we left our clothes smelled. We had a phone that did not work, and we had to get Kleenex because they did not leave us with any but one. Beds were not comfortable and the carpet needed to be vaccummed. We will not stay at a red roof inn again...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I deeply apologize for not meeting your expectations, and will share this information with our staff. We are a completely non smoking hotel and try to monitor this closely. I would like to look into this further however I don't know what room you were in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeKalb
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
1.7 mi away
Super 8 De Kalb
Super 8 De Kalb
#3 of 5 in DeKalb
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Motel 6 Sycamore
Motel 6 Sycamore
#4 of 5 in Sycamore
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jane Fargo Hotel
Jane Fargo Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sycamore
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay