We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb

1212 W. Lincoln Highway, DeKalb, IL 60115 (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    12
    14
    12
    17
See reviews for
26
4
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel wasn't always a Red Roof Inn. Recently management changed it over to a Red Roof but kept the same amenities. This means that you get the room at the price of a Red Roof Inn but the amenities of a higher quality hotel. This meant I got a great value for my money. I defiantly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic accommodations, but clean, great location, friendly staff, and a great pool. Only points which could have been improved are that they need a vending machine that isn't empty, and they need more than one ice machine. Other than that a great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Sandra that you choosing Red Roof Inn and Suites DeKalb for you stay. We also appreciate you for taking the time to review our hotel. I shared your comments with our staff as always. I apologize for the soda machine and ice machine, this issues have since be resolved. We're looking forward to your next visit to DeKalb. More 

Livermore, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This isn't one of my favorite hotels to stay at, but when I don't pay for it I have no choice. The place was and would have been my favorite choice. This was my first time ever coming to DeKalb Illinois. The reception I got at the hotel was excellent. Plenty of parking, excellent location, excellent restaurants nearby. I do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We do have plenty of truck parking, and are very fortunate to have so many great restaurants within walking distance and discounts for hotel guests. Make sure on your next visit to DeKalb to contact us it was a pleasure to have you here. Our front desk staff is always eager to help our... More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I've been staying here since this was a Best Western motel. The service was excellent then, and I dare say it's even better now. I put my father in hospice care in early April. All was in flux with my family, and the Red Roof Inn was, truly, a safe haven to return to every evening. The excellent manager there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Karen: I hope all is well. Sorry I missed you on your last visit, I was hoping to catch up. Thank you for your great review, I will share it with my staff. We appreciate your kind words and looking forward to your next visit. Your room will be waiting!!! More 

MACON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

The price is good and the room itself was what you would expect for a Red Roof. Clean. Comfortable for the most part. Not a whole lot of amenities. But, if you stay here, make sure you stay in a room facing the office. This stay we were facing outside and the trains. It seemed like every 30 minutes they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I'm sorry you had an issue with the door and AC. I will share this with the staff and check if they had given you the opportunity to change rooms and if they were able to satisfy you before leaving the hotel. As for the train, on your next visit... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We were supposed to have a non-smoking room, yet when we left our clothes smelled. We had a phone that did not work, and we had to get Kleenex because they did not leave us with any but one. Beds were not comfortable and the carpet needed to be vaccummed. We will not stay at a red roof inn again...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I deeply apologize for not meeting your expectations, and will share this information with our staff. We are a completely non smoking hotel and try to monitor this closely. I would like to look into this further however I don't know what room you were in... More 

Libertyville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

The room was clean, there was ample parking. It was an easy load of bags into the room. The front desk staff was very friendly and responsive. It offered free coffee and a hot breakfast! Not a 4 star meal but hey its free and the coffee was hot. Its a college town so you will have revelers in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. I will make sure the comments are shared with the entire staff. Not many economy hotels offer extended hot breakfast, business, fitness centers and luxury suites, we take pride in all we have to offer. Thank you again for your comments and if you should need future accommodations please feel free to contact hotel directly. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Nice friendly staff... Nice clean room. Nice TV ,but only 18 channel. No refrigerate, no microwave,special when ,you have to stay for 10 days straight. For the prices no complain much.Very closer to the university...........................

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn in DeKalb. We do have several rooms with refrigerators and microwaves. unfortunately with your large group not everyone has been able to be checked into one of our suites. Please request a suite on your next visit and we will do our best to place you in one. Once again thank you for... More 

Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Room was clean and comfortable. The heater fan was extremely loud and kept waking us up otherwise our one night stay was a good one. We had 2 small dogs and the very nice young lady at check in said they would not be a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn DeKalb and for the friendly comment. I shared these comments with Natasha and Lynnae the both remembered you, and said the pleasure was theirs. As for the Heater noise I apologize. Hope to see you and your puppies soon. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I noticed too that all the poor reviews were of the Best Western and that Red Roof is running it a lot better. Pros: * Clean room and hotel area * Free parking & wifi * Free continental hot breakfast * Location is close to NIU and restaurants * Nice courteous staff Cons: * Not that quiet because next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you from taking the time to write this review. it's always appreciated when guest notice positive changes. We will have several new upgrades in the near future. Thank you once again. Next time you visit DeKalb please mention that you would like to be away from the tracks. unfortunately we can't do anything about the train, however we can... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeKalb
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
1.7 mi away
Super 8 De Kalb
Super 8 De Kalb
#3 of 5 in DeKalb
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jane Fargo Hotel
Jane Fargo Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sycamore
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
4.1 mi away
Motel 6 Sycamore
Motel 6 Sycamore
#4 of 5 in Sycamore
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay