We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb

1212 W. Lincoln Highway, DeKalb, IL 60115 (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    13
    12
    17
See reviews for
24
4
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were supposed to have a non-smoking room, yet when we left our clothes smelled. We had a phone that did not work, and we had to get Kleenex because they did not leave us with any but one. Beds were not comfortable and the carpet needed to be vaccummed. We will not stay at a red roof inn again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Libertyville, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

The room was clean, there was ample parking. It was an easy load of bags into the room. The front desk staff was very friendly and responsive. It offered free coffee and a hot breakfast! Not a 4 star meal but hey its free and the coffee was hot. Its a college town so you will have revelers in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. I will make sure the comments are shared with the entire staff. Not many economy hotels offer extended hot breakfast, business, fitness centers and luxury suites, we take pride in all we have to offer. Thank you again for your comments and if you should need future accommodations please feel free to contact hotel directly. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Nice friendly staff... Nice clean room. Nice TV ,but only 18 channel. No refrigerate, no microwave,special when ,you have to stay for 10 days straight. For the prices no complain much.Very closer to the university...........................

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn in DeKalb. We do have several rooms with refrigerators and microwaves. unfortunately with your large group not everyone has been able to be checked into one of our suites. Please request a suite on your next visit and we will do our best to place you in one. Once again thank you for... More 

Columbia, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Room was clean and comfortable. The heater fan was extremely loud and kept waking us up otherwise our one night stay was a good one. We had 2 small dogs and the very nice young lady at check in said they would not be a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn DeKalb and for the friendly comment. I shared these comments with Natasha and Lynnae the both remembered you, and said the pleasure was theirs. As for the Heater noise I apologize. Hope to see you and your puppies soon. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I noticed too that all the poor reviews were of the Best Western and that Red Roof is running it a lot better. Pros: * Clean room and hotel area * Free parking & wifi * Free continental hot breakfast * Location is close to NIU and restaurants * Nice courteous staff Cons: * Not that quiet because next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you from taking the time to write this review. it's always appreciated when guest notice positive changes. We will have several new upgrades in the near future. Thank you once again. Next time you visit DeKalb please mention that you would like to be away from the tracks. unfortunately we can't do anything about the train, however we can... More 

Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I came to DeKalb under less than desirable circumstances, a death in the family. The staff, especially Lynnae, was truly a comfort. The entire staff was eager to make what ever small issues (when grieving, one can be pretty nit picky) they acted eagerly, and without hesitation to solve the problem. House keeping was always thurough, maint. always meticulas, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

The pleasure was ours. Thanks you for the kind words, I will share the review to my staff especially Lynnae. We all send are deepest heart felt sympathy to you and your family for your loss. We are anticipating your next visit, please call the hotel directly for your next reservation we will be happy to get you into one... More 

Central Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

As stated, we stay at the Red Roof Inn quite often. They are typically inexpensive AND they allow dogs! We were traveling to Nashville and stopped over here on our way home and used a free stay we had earned with our Redi Card. The booking agent we called was nice enough to upgrade us to one of their suites.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting this review. I will see that the reviewed is shared with entire staff.On your next visit to Dekalb we'll make sure you have a first floor room suite equal to the one you enjoyed on your last visit. I think the next time we need someone to give room descriptions I'll give you a call, you... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Spent the night when seeing a show at The Egyptian Theatre. Didn't want to make the ride back to Chicago, chose to stay at Red Roof Inn. Read reviews for other hotels in the area and felt RR would be fine. It exceeded my expectations. Very happy with our choice. The king suite with spa tub was EXCELLENT, clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Doris: Thank you for your GREAT review!! I will make sure to share this with my staff. Make sure on you next trip to DeKalb you call the hotel and I will make sure you are in the same room you had last week. Try to stay a little longer if possible, relax and enjoy the luxury suite. It was... More 

Fulton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Have stayed here a number of times. The inn is older, but rooms are clean and recently remodeled. They also have a full hot breakfast, unlike most Red Roof Inns. But on my last stay, when I went out to my bus in the morning, someone had spray painted the F-word in huge letters on tthe side of the bus.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Mr. Mzeerick: I deeply apologize for any issues you had. I have talked to the front desk and they said there were no reports of any vandalism. I also contacted Neighboring businesses. I'm assuming you had another name on your reservation., however to check into this situation and share information with the area. I would like you to please call... More 

Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The front staff who checked us in was very friendly. The wifi was very fast. I had to leave out very early in the morning so I didn't get to take advantage of the breakfast. But knowing they had it was good because there have been a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RRIDK, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb. I appreciate your generous comments of our hotel, hopefully on your next visit you will enjoy our Hot breakfast before heading out. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay