We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake

Hotel website
Hotel deals
800 South Route 31, & Three Oaks Rd, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    33
    26
    13
    19
See reviews for
42
23
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family visited the hotel as we are considering a stay in the future. The hotel appeared to be very clean and the pool very nice! However, when we were shown a room, disappointed no refrigerator in the room and the rooms appear to be outdated. Refrigerators are standard in hotels now. I will say the staff was very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Hi - we dont have a date set for renovations but we do have refrigerators and microwaves available by guest request so hopefully you will come back and see us. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here because we were guests at a wedding held in the hotel's banquet hall. The facilities for the wedding were excellent - classic decor, very clean, roomy, and attended by friendly and competent staff. The room was very clean. No complaints, but nothing outstanding either. The front desk staff was very friendly and professional. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments - we will actually review scheduleing needs on "busy" weekends so that we don't let this happen again. More 

Abingdon, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel needs to be updated. There was no mini fridge or microwave. We were on the 3rd floor and I had to run the water in the shower for 2 minutes before it got hot. In the meantime the tub was filling up and not draining. The beds were comfortable and the temperature controllable so that was nice. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - we appreciate all of our customers feedback and we will certainly be discussing our lack of WOW with you as our customer. More 

Alto, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was disappointed that the room did not have a microwave or small refrigerator - this is standard in hotels that cost a lot less than we paid. The bathroom was also without a mirror magnifier - standard in most hotels. Was told we would get a free breakfast buffet, but was told no when we got there as we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Dear Cheri, I truly appreciate you taking time to write a review. Believe me when I say "i know refrigerators are a must", and I couldn't agree more. Though our property does not have one for every room we are happy to bring one up if available. We are currently in the process of planning our renovation and I can... More 

Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay ever year twice a year for the last 15 years, because it is centrally located for family meetings. The rooms are dark and outdated. Our suite is big +, so if you put a TV in a room that size it needs to be big enough to see from bed. The mattresses on the fold out bed REALLY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Dear Jodiluwho, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I really am sorry you didnt have the best of stays. Our rennovation is in the planning phase. I know our rooms are on the older side and are on the verge of being oudated, but that does not stop us from providing the best customer service and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Crystal Lake hotels

East Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying for 6 months for work and my room had bugs in them and my tv didn't work and the elevated was not working. They wanted us to pay for breakfast every morning, you think if 6 managers are staying there for 6 months you would give us some type of perks

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Dear Renee B, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and rest assured that these will be used towards our improvement. We would love to have the opportunity to regain your faith... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I stayed at the Holiday Inn June 19, 2015 for two nights in Crystal Lake, Illinois, and had the following problems: • Upon checking in, I was required to agree to follow and to sign a list of guest rules, which were not enforced upon the guests in bar who were screaming at 1 a.m. • Mattresses on both beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Dear msommer100, Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Please be assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you,... More 

Peoria, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Well worth the stay! Only 5 mins from Sky High facilities. Great for those volleyball weekend trips. The breakfast buffet is the best we have had all season! A good reason to keep coming back to this tournament! We stayed at the Hilton in Rosemontthe last two weekends, almost wished we would have stayed here and drove the 50 minutes!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

We love having the volleyball teams in, pls feel free to visit us anytime your playing in the area. Best of luck in your upcoming tournaments. More 

Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

The staff here is really friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean. The food was average but the service was phenomenal. We would definitely stay here again. It is conveniently located and includes complimentary parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments - I will definately share the comments with the team. More 

Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

My stay here was WONDERFUL. The hotel is beautiful, staff is beyond accommodating, and the bed was extremely comfortable. I checked in the night before my race, and with this race, participants get very dirty (as it was a mud run). I asked if I could check out late so I could come back and shower, and they said yes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I do love the beds as well, they are certainly very comfortable. Be sure to plan your stay here next year during the race weekend. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Lake
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Crystal Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
9.0 mi away
Super 8 Woodstock
Super 8 Woodstock
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay