We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Crystal Lake hotels

Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 South Route 31, & Three Oaks Rd, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Crystal Lake
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
rhch Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Overview
  • Reviews (95)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    19
    9
    15
See reviews for
31
17
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at this hotel in June of this year. My son in law and daughter had our first grandchild and we spent some time seeing her. We have been to the area before and usually stayed at the Country Inn since it usually scores higher in Trip Advisor. This time it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

We are so glad that you gave us a chance and we are certainly glad that you will be coming back to see us. Please know that we are definately here to make sure your stays are great so if there is anything we can ever do pleae feel free to give us a call. More

Mazomanie, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a good experience. Several people in our party had issues with their rooms including cleanliness. One couple moved to two different rooms. Another couple moved because there was no shower certain! I found that my room was just okay...the sheets on beds were so old that they were rough to the skin, like old flannel sheets. Mattress was old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

There is no excuse for the issues you had come your way during your stay here. I truly apologize that you had to endure such an unpleasant time here. We clearly were very busy during your stay and as a result things fell through the cracks and landed on you. It is by no means an excuse and regardless of... More

Travelers are raving about these Crystal Lake hotels

Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attentive staff and excellent service when hosting an event. Event coordinators respond in a timely manner and ensure all details are to your liking. They accommodate all requests and do so very quickly. I would certainly recommend this location when hosting an event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

We pride ourselves on our guest repsonse and general concern of guest happiness. I'm truly happy to hear that was reflected across all staff and management. Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again. More

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a small group (4) in for 2 days of meetings and the meeting room we had was just the right size. Our meals and refreshments were there on time and the friendly staff stopped in to make sure we were good. All the staff I ran into was very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time out to share your experiences with us. We are so happy that we could accommodate you and your group! More

Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel appeared to have been recently remodeled. The room was a nice size, clean, well lighted, and the bed was comfortable. There was no microwave or refrigerator. The water pressure was excellent and the hot water was very hot. Check-in and Check out were a breeze. It was easy to connect to Wi-Fi, but the TV was a pain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We have since added a more frequent rotation of the carpet edging to our cleaning list so thank you for your thoughts. More

Plainfield, IL
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Don't book with this hotel. Made reservation with hotels.com and this property would not hold the reservation despite showing that rooms were available at time of booking (both on hotels.com and Holiday Inn website). What is the point of taking a reservation if you don't HOLD the reservation? No assistance was provided to obtain another room. Thanks Holiday Inn Crystal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I apologize for our inability to supply you with a room. It was certainly never our intention to cause any inconvenience to a guest. More

Onalaska, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I really care about things like room size, a decent view and good lighting - this hotel fit the bill. I almost ALWAYS stay at Marriott's but there just wasn't one close enough to my meeting location, so the Holiday Inn won out. I arrive late in the evening, almost 10pm, and the bar seemed lively and fun, but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we definately made some mistakes and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts so we can be better. Your information has been shared with the team and we will definately utilize it to become better. Next time your with us please reachout to me and share your stay so that I know that things are... More

Lady Lake, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

first room beds looks like an old mare second room not much better....bed old and so it hotel. Elect plugs not convenient to use. Had to ask for ref...old and small. Room didnt get cleaned first nite here...phone had to be fixed fauset had to be fix....never washed the bathroom floor. Dining room expenisive and nobody here to eat.....had fish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are taking all your feedback very seriously and assure you that we are definately working to make improvements. I would love to speak with you directly to get additional comments and suggestions so that we can continue to improve for our guests. More

New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was here with my significant other in july 2013. this old hotel needs to be totally gutted and rebuilt. stayed one night in july 2013 and its was in the high 90's temperature but our room air conditioning didn't work ; it was like a sauna bath! we had to wait for maintenance while we sweated after our 1.5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I apologize that we asked for identification during your stay with us while you were visiting our lounge and that offended you. As you know our policy is to card 100% of the time, We ask for proof of age, no matter how young you look. It protects our license and flatters just about everyone. I wish you the best... More

Perrysburg, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I always stay here whenever I'm in the area. The people are some of the friendliest I ever have the pleasure of coming in contact with at a hotel. From the front desk staff to the waitresses and bartender, it is a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for the great comments - we appreciate you coming back to see us and sharing your thoughts with others. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake

Address: 800 South Route 31, & Three Oaks Rd, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Crystal Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake Hotel Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Crystal Lake Holiday Inn

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Hotel Crystal Lake and Conference Center is the only full service hotel in McHenry County that sits in a park like setting amid the oak trees overlooking sparkling Acorn Lake. This Crystal Lake Hotel is perfectly situated near several corporate centers for Sears, Allstate, Snap on Tools, Affinia, Cardinal Health, Nissan Forklift, True Value and more. We are conveniently located near several of Chicago s attractions including Chicago Metra, Volvo Auto Museum, Illinois Railway Museum, Raue Center for the Arts, Algonquin Commons Shopping District, Championship Golf Courses and relaxing spas. With our great location we are also easily accessible to O Hare and Midway Airports. This full service hotel offers amenities the business or leisure traveler can truly appreciate. We offer a 24 hour business center, heated indoor pool, sauna, fitness center, complimentary high speed Internet (Wi-Fi), simply smart bedding collection, 16000 Square Feet of meeting and banquet space, Three Oaks Dining Room and Lounge, Wedding Services and more. Located on site is Enterprise Car Rental and a complimentary shuttle the runs within a 5 mile radius. We are also a pet friendly hotel. Please register your pet before check in. Holiday Inn Crystal Lake we offer service, value and variety. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
196

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer