We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake

Hotel website
Hotel deals
800 South Route 31, & Three Oaks Rd, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    33
    27
    16
    22
See reviews for
46
23
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for five nights while in town for our wedding reception, and friends and family stayed here as well. From the first night we got in late, and Peter made sure we got a quick hot meal even though the restaurant was closing, we received outstanding service during our entire visit. We frequented the restaurant and bar and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip, and I had good and bad experiences. The hotel is beautiful and located in a great area full of restaurants. The hotels shuttle will take you to any restaurant or bar in the area and pick you up. The shuttle drivers were friendly. When I checked into the hotel, I found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Dear Zenasly, Thank you for taking time out to write such a thoughtful review. I'm in total agreement with you, the property is set on such a beautiful location & that pond view from the rooms is spectacular. I'd personally like to apologize for the misinformation about the soda machines on our floors. The issue was Coca Cola had changed... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overpriced for poor accommodations. We had a large block of rooms. Two of our friends left because of bad experiences. One room had mold and blood. Breakfast is expensive and not great. $149/n is outrageous for this dump.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Dear Darren, I wish to extend my sincere regret in what you had experienced with our property. Our goal daily is that each and every guest would leave our property with a smile on their face. Now it's expected that there will be at least some minor hiccups from time to time but never ending negatively and for that I'm... More 

Travelers are raving about these Crystal Lake hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't recommend staying here. We were here for a family wedding in late July. The fire alarm went off repeatedly during our stay (3 times, I believe) and for no discernible reason. The staff never had clear instructions for what to do - one person told me I could stay in my room, another told me I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we are continually trying to improve our service and I will be using your comments as a tool in which to do so. I hope that at some time in the future you do give us another opportunity to improve your opinion of our hotel. More 

Saint Paul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After driving all day, we wanted to inquire about room availability. We waiting quietly while the lone clerk on duty attempted to resolve a dispute with a fairly agitated woman. The women then took a cell phone call and proceeded to tell the whole world about her problem. Meanwhile, the clerk just stood there. Then the woman's partner came in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that your check in was not up to ecpecatations, we definately should not have had you standing waiting patiently to check in. I apprecaite the time you have taken to share your thaoughts and will be passing your comments on to the team so each member of our team knows how to better serve our guests... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is great, many things to do in the area. The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable! 3 Oaks lake was so much fun for walking and boating. Many good, non chain restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, We apprecaite you spending time with us while enjoying the area. Make sure to come back in the fall - Did you know that we have the largest corn maze in the country in our backyard? More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed at having no refrigerator. Our stay was prepaid by our travel agent. They then deducted payment for our full weeks stay from my Debit card even after it was prepaid, then a month later when it was queried deducted another $108 without reason. 2 months later we got a refund $137 short of what had been paid. Staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry about the billing issues you encountered and continue to encounter, please reach out to myself directly so that I can pull up your billing and get everything straightened out . Again I am very sorry. More 

Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am hard pressed to explain how enormously awful the service at this hotel is. We went for a wedding. The bride's parents - the people paying for holding an entire wedding and rehearsal, filling rooms, etc - were unable to check in until 6 pm - including a 60 minute wait for a check in at 3 pm, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Service is synnonymous with hospitality and when that is lacking you aren't offering much & clearly that was the case with your recent stay. I wish to offer my sincere appologies in regards to your recent visit. Our property is going through a transistion and I say that not as an excuse but as a way to clear things up.... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had reservations for a Saturday celebrating a friend's wedding. Unfortunately, the room was not ready for check in by the stated arrival time, and in fact we waited for a room in between the wedding and the reception. After 30 min of waiting, we still had no room as did numerous others in the lobby. As it stands at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Truly I can't expect you to even consider us again should you find yourself in the area once more. I truly wish to express my sincere apologies for your experience with out property. This is not how we operate and no explanation can account for it. It is true we are in a personnel change and with that can come... More 

Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

My family visited the hotel as we are considering a stay in the future. The hotel appeared to be very clean and the pool very nice! However, when we were shown a room, disappointed no refrigerator in the room and the rooms appear to be outdated. Refrigerators are standard in hotels now. I will say the staff was very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake, responded to this review

Hi - we dont have a date set for renovations but we do have refrigerators and microwaves available by guest request so hopefully you will come back and see us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Lake
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Crystal Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
9.0 mi away
Super 8 Woodstock
Super 8 Woodstock
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay