We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
595 E. Tracy Trail, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    25
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
15
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Nashotah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there for the weekend of 8/8/15. The problems started with our group not being put in rooms next to each other, even though we reserved a block. Then different rooms had different issues from, fridges not working to mold in air conditioners, toilets not flushing, boogers stuck on the wall, to cobwebs in the corners..It almost 6 hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you opinion of our hotel. You stated your rooms were not together even though you reserved a block of rooms. A block of rooms doesn't guarantee they will all be next to each other it just means the rooms will be available for your group. Unfortunately, in regards to the fire alarm going off, our hotel doesn't... More 

Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights here and were frustrated on a daily basis. The rooms have the old-fashioned noisy heat/AC that is very imprecise. Also the internet strength/speed was the worst we've experienced in a long time. Beware--the room photos on the website aren't completely accurate. We booked a 2 queen room because the photo showed an upholstered chair, so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westchester, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My experience was overall fantastic. The breakfast was good, room clean, staff was great, except its a non smoking hotel and everytime I walked into the building the front desk clerk was standing outside smoking. I had to walk thru smoke to get in. Christine was pleasant, but the smoking really sucks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Comfort Inn. We appreciate feedback and are always striving to exceed our guest’s expectations. My since apologies about the smoking outside the front door by our desk clerk. James Diller General Manager Comfort Inn of Crystal Lake More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The Comfort Inn is a fair distance from I-90 (the Jane Addams Northwest Tollway), but it is just off US-14. It is also fairly close to the Pingree Road Metra station. I like transit-friendly hotels, and I walked to the station each day I stayed in Crystal Lake. While the station is literally visible from the hotel, it's a 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide feedback. I am pleased you found our rooms to be clean and breakfast to your liking. Our staff takes pride in their work and in the hotel. I hope you will stay with us again when your in the area. James Diller General Manager Comfort Inn of Crystal... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We came to visit family, stayed here for week. Staff was friendly, location was clean and quiet. Breakfast was ok, not a huge selection and didn't vary any during our stay but better than just continental. The eggs weren't very good-tasted powdery, maybe not mixed right? But, the days bacon was offered it was nice and crisp and the waffles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. I am glad your room was cold on these very warm days and our maintenance department was right there to fix your sink. I hope you will come back and visit us again in the future. James Diller General Manager Comfort Inn of Crystal Lake More 

Licking, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Nice clean hotel, fine continental breakfast. Little pricey, ask for discounts call ahead for reservations and double check before arriving. They had a few couples in lobby that had made reservations and had over booked. Not Good to find out at 11p.m.!! I know it has become rutine for hotels to up charge on weekends, but when you've been there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all feedback. I will look into this matter. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. James Diller General Manager Comfort Inn of Crystal Lake More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Picked this hotel because of its location, about a half hour from the Illinois Railway Museum and about 15 minutes from the Sanfillipo Estate. The GPS took us right to it. Check in was fast and we were pleased with the King Suite. It was roomy & comfortable. There was some obvious patchwork in the bathroom but everything was clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing this review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff very helpful. We will be remodeling our bathrooms in the near future. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. James Diller General Manager Comfort Inn of Crystal Lake More 

Terrell, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

We stayed 6 nights at the comfort inn in Crystal Lake for our granddaughter's high school graduation. We got a handicapped room--the room was clean but the building was old. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was just average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing this review. I am glad you liked the cleanliness of your room and the staff friendly. We try to make the Comfort Inn of Crystal Lake your home away from home. James Diller General Manager Comfort Inn of Crystal Lake More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

Some people can manage a business good on the book side but suck at the people side. That's the General Manager Jim. Very rude to my husband and gave me the glare of a lifetime. Customers are the reason he has a job. Perhaps he needs a reminder. The 2 people that work during the day are not friendly either.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business. I'm sorry you felt you were treated poorly. We do appreciate our guests and understand fully it is the guests who pay our salaries. We as the staff strive to provide excellence to our guests. I apologize if you didn't understand our billing system and you felt the charges for... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Price-line reservation. Very good stay at the hotel. Able to get a swim, workout, and get a delicious breakfast in a short stay. I'm on the road quite a bit and this was an excellent stop along the way. I would recommend. Here are the quirks (if any) I noticed: Yes, the A/C is a bit noisy, but I LOVE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. We always appreciate feedback and are always looking for ways to improve our hotel. Regarding the 20% deposit you spoke of, our hotel does not take a deposit out of your account. It is actually a hold put on the money for incidentals etc. We apologize you weren't made aware... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Lake
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Crystal Lake
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
8.3 mi away
Super 8 Woodstock
Super 8 Woodstock
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
10.7 mi away
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
#1 of 1 in Johnsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay