We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Special Offer
Culinary Adventure Offer
Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #64 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
galvirgo New Jersey
Share an Experience

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    300
    73
    18
    6
See reviews for
130
134
29
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (626)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (169)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was here on business for one night and was surprised by the size of the room. King size bed with a desk and a couch. Plenty of drawers and closed space. Also had a refrigerator which I didn't use, but could be very helpful if staying for more than one night. Location was perfect for business - downtown location. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Michelle and Tabitha are the best! While we were checking in, my girls were treated to complimentary candy bars and drinks. Our room wasn't ready & they didn't see that we required a room away from the elevator, so we were upgraded to a suite for our trouble and free donuts were waiting in our room. Normally, you have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel service was good. People were nice and helpful. The lobby was clean/nice. We had a suite-king size bed and a pull out. The couch was poor quality-old and low to the ground. We were going to bed and pulled out the couch mattress and there was crazy amount of garbage and a dirty mens pair of boxers!!!!! GROSS!!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Executive Assistance at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback, it is with much regret to learn that your stay was less than perfect. I am however delighted to learn that you received great service and you thought our associates were nice and helpful. However as it relates to the cleanliness of the guest room we failed to... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hate to say anything bad about a Marriott property because I am a staunch Marriott patron. And I did read several reviews before I booked a room here, so imagine my surprise when I checked in and our rooms were in such bad shape. In desperate need of an upgrade is putting it mildly. The carpet was actually thread... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback, it is regretful to learn that your most recent stay with us was less than perfect. You mentioned that condition of the rooms was less than perfect and you felt that you were placed in the portion of the hotel that needed upgrading. We sincerely apologize for the condition of the room in which... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Courtyard is not your average Courtyard. The staff makes all the difference in the world. Everyone was so helpful, cheerful and bright. I had asked for some restaurant recommendations and then ran into the bellman in the hallway the next day who asked how our dinner was. He not only remembered our names, but the restaurant he sent us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Exec Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and the accomodations meet your needs. We hope that when in the Chicago area again you will make us your first choice hotel. More 

Tinley Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location in the river north area. The hotel staff was so nice and accommodating. We wanted to find a place to watch the ufc fight and they called around to make sure the restaraunt was showing it. The room was clean. Definitely staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Exec Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback we are so delgihted that you enjoyed your stay. You are correct we do not charge upgrade fees for great views! It is our desire to honor all guest request before arrival. We hope that you will make the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North your first choice Marriott hotel when travels allow you to... More 

New Hope, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another upgraded Marriot. as always the beds are comfy, and the service and check in process easy. My room was newly carpeted and clean. What I liked about the property is that there is an attached Italian restaurant that is cozy, reasonable, and open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food excellent! , When I first arrived on my business trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandi G, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valuable and helpful feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are also delighted to learn that the accomodations made you feel at home, please feel free to make us your first choice Marriott hotel in Chicago. More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently visited this property and they were exceptionally friendly and professional. It was bitterly cold outside and I stayed in as much as possible. I subsequently had an allergic response to whatever was in my room. When I called down to housekeeping, they dispatched a housekeeper who very thoroughly cleaned my room. Her name was Eboni and I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandi G, Senior Exec Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, we are so delighted that we were able to refresh your room during your stay. We are pleased that you found Eboni to be professional and courteous. We have the best houskeeping team in the City of Chicago and we are so glad that our guest agree. More 

Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Got a great price on expedia for a Saturday night. Simple lobby, but very friendly staff. Room was nice and clean. Bathroom a bit dated. Not much of a view. Close to mag mile and river. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Execuitve Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your valluable feedback, we are delighted that you thought that hotel was a great value and in a great location. Please keep us in mind when travel bring you back to the Chicagoland area. More 

Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We stayed one night. Checked in around 8:30pm after a long day of sight seeing. We parked in a public lot a block away and it was $43 for 10-24 hours. The staff was very friendly upon check-in. Our TV wouldn't turn on so I called the front desk and someone was sent up within a few minutes and adjusted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brandi G, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we are delighted to learn that the customer service you experienced was above average. We are also pleased to learn that when faced with technical issues the problem was resolved on first contact. We also noted that you experienced noise issues during your stay. Please note that we are working hard to resolve all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question