We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Special Offer
Culinary Adventure Offer
Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #65 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Kenneth B San Francisco, California
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    303
    76
    18
    6
See reviews for
131
135
29
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (635)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (169)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North is an average Marriott Courtyard property that is well-located in the heart of the city. There are many great restaurants in easy walking distance. The prices are high, as with all Chicago hotels particularly when conventions are in town (which is always). Valet parking for instance is $62 per day. However, my car appeared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Executive Director at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, however from your rating we have some room for improvement. We noted that you thought that the hotel was well appointed, but our lobby was crowded and the decor seemed a bit outdated. You also mentioned that the desk area provided enough... More 

Nevada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed here before and always amazed as to the consistent quality of the staff and the hotel. the added postcard service the points plus a snack is a plus. the location is excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My only recommendation is the to minimize road/street noise you ask for the higher floors 10+. the exercise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback. We have noted that our staff always provides excellent and consistent service during your many stays here at the Chicago Downtown Courtyard River North. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoy our added touch of service for our Platinum Elite Marriott Rewards Members. More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a few days last month on business. The hotel is very clean and the staff extremely accommodating. I loved it here! The restaurant downstairs is fabulous! The beds are comfortable and the internet is free!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent a lot of time researching hotels in Chicago. I was looking for a great location, and good value. Overall I was happy with my experience. The hotel is in a great location with many attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc within walking distance. There is also a clear focus on customer service at this hotel as every employee provided exceptional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were able to walk to many landmarks and great restaurants from this centrally located hotel. Magnificent Mile was just a 5 minute walk up and lots of trendy bars and restaurants were littered around the hotel. We walked to "the Bean" and Navy Pier, too. Parking was very expensive. We opted to save a few bucks and park across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Zurich, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family went downtown for a few days over spring break and stayed at this hotel. Staff was awesome, especially Michelle at the front desk. Rooms were large and very clean. Requested adjoining rooms and the hotel was able to accommodate us. Great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Khao Lak, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to shopping, nightlife and many restaurants. Rooms are old and not in best condition. Restaurant is ok. Fitness area and pool ok. location of my room was very noisy as firestation is nearby. Ask for more quiet location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Exec Admin Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, you are correct in that we are close to great shopping, nightlife and many classic and specialty restaurants. We are in a very popular neighborhood in downtown Chicago located in close proximity to the River North Firehouse which gives our guest a sense of security. However we will work... More 

New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Was here on business for one night and was surprised by the size of the room. King size bed with a desk and a couch. Plenty of drawers and closed space. Also had a refrigerator which I didn't use, but could be very helpful if staying for more than one night. Location was perfect for business - downtown location. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Michelle and Tabitha are the best! While we were checking in, my girls were treated to complimentary candy bars and drinks. Our room wasn't ready & they didn't see that we required a room away from the elevator, so we were upgraded to a suite for our trouble and free donuts were waiting in our room. Normally, you have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback! I am delighted to hear that Michelle and Tabatha were most accommodating during your stay. We are pretty thrilled to know that we have such great associates that know the importance of making the Chicago Downtown Courtyard your home away from home. Our guests are so very important to what we do and we... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The hotel service was good. People were nice and helpful. The lobby was clean/nice. We had a suite-king size bed and a pull out. The couch was poor quality-old and low to the ground. We were going to bed and pulled out the couch mattress and there was crazy amount of garbage and a dirty mens pair of boxers!!!!! GROSS!!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi G, Senior Executive Assistance at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback, it is with much regret to learn that your stay was less than perfect. I am however delighted to learn that you received great service and you thought our associates were nice and helpful. However as it relates to the cleanliness of the guest room we failed to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question