We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
506 West Harrison Street, Chicago, IL 60607
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Add Photo

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    160
    175
    77
    38
    20
See reviews for
100
71
57
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (470)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked a room with request of 2 double beds. Given a room with a very firm and uncomfortable king bed. When we got to the room and saw the bed we immediately exited without touching anything and asked the front desk if our request of 2 double beds could be granted. We were told all rooms were booked, despite online... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear HaveU2willtravel, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and please accept our apologies for all that you experienced. I can completely understand how you must have felt with not receiving the correct beds requested and the frustrations with your car being towed. The lot adjacent to the hotel is not connected with the hotel and apologize... More 

Oakland, California
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all, when we checked in, EVERYONE at the counter had an attitude. The entire staff was RUDE! Second, our guest room leaked in early morning and woke us up. The leak was directly above our heads. It was obvious that the ceiling had a pre-existing patch. When we spoke to the manager the next morning, he apologized and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albay Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my friend checked-in in the middle of the night. They gave us our first room, and somebody was there when we got in. They gave us again another room, and THERE IS SOMEBODY ON THAT ROOM TOO. So basically, two consecutive rooms they gave us, and somebody was there. We are tired and we had to get some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Xuchelle, Thank you for sharing your candid review with us. I apologize on behalf of my entire team for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay. If at all possible, I would love to speak with you offline to gain detailed insight into your stay. Please feel free to contact me either by email at gm@hidowntown.com or by... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I came here with my family (wife and sister) for 3 nights stay and We were here for a leisure trip on long weekend. Pros: - Location: if you already have the Ventra card for CTC trains, you are golden! The station is right behind the hotel which connects to all the other trains around downtown area. Enjoyed the local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear aniket_patkar, Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your experience. I am sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced while trying to find a Ventra card for use on the Chicago Transit Authority System but am happy to hear that you were completely satisfied with your stay. I hope you were able to visit Navy Pier,... More 

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is a bit run down and is not in the most exciting part of town - but it served my purposes well. However, the staff here are so thoughtful, friendly and caring, they really made me feel at home and I would definitely stay here again. They really went out of their way to make you comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for 5 nights but ended up leaving after 3. Hotel is overpriced, run down and in a very boring area. Internet was down for the entirety of our stay. With a car it is quite convenient location if you're going out of town as it is close to the interstate. The manager, Sam, was very helpful and nice -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jakob V, Thank you for your candid review. I apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations and that you departed sooner than expected. If at all possible, I would love to speak with you offline to gather insight into your stay. Please contact me at your convenience either by email at gm@hidowntown.com or by phone at 312-957-9100.... More 

Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I checked into the Holiday Inn Downtown as part of a group for a weekend stay. There were some pro's to the hotel such as a complimentary bottle of water at check in, earplugs furnished on the bedside table, and free Wifi internet access to enable me to book a room at another hotel, as unfortunately staying here was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear PeytonJ, Thank you for your candid review and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you mentioned during your short stay with us. I am sorry to hear that our property did not meet expectations due to outside noise from the City of Chicago. We wish we could control outside traffic noise to ensure our guests have peace... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We drove to Chicago not knowing what to expect. The traffic was horrendous. There is very little parking in downtown Chicago and it is costly. Average parking fee is $40 per day. This hotel is located across from the post office and walking distance to anywhere downtown. It is near the metro which makes traveling to other parts of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear sjwright, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback about your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our staff hospitality too! Thank you again and hope to see you soon! Nitin Talati General Manager More 

Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

on a trip back home from Dalles the Bus was late so my family and I miss the last bus to rockford. The front desk staff Hamid was very good to us. Just when you think there is no more good people in this world then comes Hamid and change my way of thinking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ron R, Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that Hamid provided great service during a stressful time. I will be sure to pass along your feedback as it's something our team value. Thank you again and we hope you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for its excellent location. The price is expensive like all downtown Chicago hotels. Our room was quiet and they resolved any issues quickly. We did not eat at the local resturaunt. Reasonably close to a bus route and within walking distance to many attractions especially Willis tower.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIHS-Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Heidi W, Thank you for sharing insight into your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown! We are happy to hear you had a great stay even though pricing was not the best. It is nice to know you were able to walk around town and utilize the Chicago Transit System. Thank you again and we look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

481 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (358)
Viewed
ADA Accessible Room (33)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (33)
Viewed
Double Bedroom Suite (55)
Viewed
King Bedroom (38)
Viewed
King Suite (58)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay