We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 167 Chicago hotels

Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
87%
Ranked #72 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
LordH64 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    151
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
128
91
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a week at Marriott in DC I was not looking forward to this. But.... great modern clean room with cooking facilities if needed Complementary breakfast if needed Very pleasant staff Great location byLake slow lift / elevator likely to be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to having you return. Lindsy More

Zionsville, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved the convenience of being so close to the Magnificent Mile and staying in this top quality, beautifully maintained hotel. Our suite was spectacular. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hot breakfast was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Chicago next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four family members and myself stayed her over the St. Patty's Day weekend. We had a 2 bedroom suite. When we got to our room. one of the beds had stained bedding on it. The duvet cover was also stained. The hotel promptly changed the bedding and all was well. Unfortunately, the television in the living room as broken and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The location of this Residence Inn is primo. It's 2 blocks away from shopping and all the major bus lines (that I used frequently to travel up to the Boystown area). Upon check-in, I was immediately upgraded to a one bedroom suite when I inquired about an oven being available in the kitchen. While the breakfast was run-of-the-mill typical hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at our hotel! Location, location, location and as you mentioned ours can't be beat. We are a short bus ride from boystown as well as a block from Michigan Avenue and the lake. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. More

Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I typically don't leave reviews, however, I felt that I needed to give special recognition to Dino at the Front Desk. He was a pleasure to deal with!! We arrived early into town and he was kind enough to allow us to check in early so that we could get dressed and make a tapping, rather than having to stress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just back from a five day stay in a 2 bedroom suite, same suite actually as our last MLK weekend trip to Chicago a couple years ago. And it's the same: Same carpet, same couch (WHO on earth designed those RI couches and thought they were a good idea? Lousy sleep, lousy to sit on.), same kitchen. And it's not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I chose this Residence Inn basically for the location and the comfortable accommodation of a mini apartment in downtown Chicago. Location: two blocks from the John Hancock tower and thus Michigan avenue. It's a quiet neighborhood with little traffic. Perfect for shopping and restaurants! Room: enormous one bedroom suite with full kitchen, big bedroom but very small bathroom. The toilet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Pros: My hotel room was clean, had a great kitchen setup, and good shower. No complaints about the amenities. Cons: Extremely thin walls. The people next to my room were partying at night and I had to call down several times. The staff went up twice and I overheard them threatening to kick them out of the hotel the second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. We have a very strict no party policy which our team follows protcol when necessary to remove any unregistered guests from rooms should noise be an issue. Please contact me directly to discuss further.... More

Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was a decent stay for the price but while staying there I got stuck on the elevator by myself for a few minutes and was informed that the same elevator had been slipping between floors and that others had complained. Instead of shutting the elevator down, they kept it operating (although they called for maintenance). The front desk staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking a moment to provide feedback on your recent stay. As you mentioned the Residence Inn does accept pets of all sizes. We have two dedicated pet floors in the hotel that we do our best to keep our four legged friends on. We also have a pet policy that all guests bringing their dogs... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

After a 23 hour plane flight from Sydney Australia, to arrive at 8pm and be told that there is no room available, particularly when the rooms were booked >6 months earlier, was appalling. To be told there was a room at a hotel near Midway, added insult to injury, particularly when travelling with two kids aged 14 and 12. Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. I can't imagine how frustrating this experience was for you and your family. I am so sorry that the hotel was overbooked and we had to relocate you to another property in the city. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss further. Kind Regards,... More

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 201 E. Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Chicago
#72 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#92 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Residence Inn Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.