We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Renaissance Chicago Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    546
    404
    117
    31
    16
See reviews for
193
246
66
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1114)
  • Mar-May only
    (266)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (376)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (257)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (215)
All months
Chciago
Level Contributor
303 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Yes, it's a lot of money, but so worth it! Great room overlooking the river and yet, it was so quiet for being in the midst of everything! Nicely decorated halls and room that make it inviting. Rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators, beautiful televisions and the best beds in the business! After one night, I had such a restful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a terrific experience at the newly remodeled hotel. The new lobby is great and welcoming. Terrific and reasonably priced food and beverage offerings. Really nice local beers. We were upgraded to an Executive Suite which was even better. Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is in a pretty good location. However, the lobby area was very loud. The Check in, check out process was very easy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very modern and comfortable décor. Wifi worked very well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Hotel, responded to this review

Mike - Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the honest feedback as we are continually looking to grow and improve. We hope we have the chance to delight you whenever your travels bring you back our way. Thank you and live well! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel with a lot of amenities. The location is perfect for anyone that wants to be equal distance from the loop and to River North/Water Tower/Gold Coast area. The hotel does have a restaurant and bar. When I stayed there in the past, the bar waiters were slow on getting drinks/food. This time, they were doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The lobby remodel looks great. The front desk people were all extremely friendly. I really appreciated that they were able to accommodate our early check in request! The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Easy L access -great location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Hotel, responded to this review

Carie - Glad we were able to get you in early and on your way to exploring! Until next time, live well. More 

Dearborn Heights, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed here twice with my sister on our girls' weekend in Chicago. And both times were excellent. The rooms are very nice, the view of the river amazing. The staff is always friendly. My only complaint was that we encountered some construction at the hotel, which left half the elevators out of service. But other than that, it didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Hotel, responded to this review

Emily - Delighted to hear we are your first choice for hotels in the windy city! I do apologize for the inconvenience caused by some of our elevators being down during your recent stay. I certainly hope you will plan your next trip with us very soon! More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is awesome from the staff to the decor to the beds. I have stayed here before but this is my first time since they remodeled. They did a great job. The beds are amazing, bathrooms are updated, and the views are great. My wife and 3 kids enjoyed the location and the staff was accomodating to our requests.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Hotel, responded to this review

Looking forward to helping you discover something wonderfully new again in September! Until then, live well. More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

So of course this hotel is clean and new and very pleasing to the eye. We got a nice big room but that is not what we wanted. We have two kids so we wanted two beds and requested it months in advance. We checked in about 6 and was told that they know we requested two beds but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Hotel, responded to this review

Brooke - We completely understand your frustration with not receiving your requested room type. While we do try our best to accommodate all guest requests for particular room types, we regret we were unable to do so for this stay. We want to extend our sincere apologies for the discomfort that your family experienced during this trip and we hope... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you take the Blue Line from O'Hare and get off at Clarke/Lake, instead of walking all the way around the block enter the building on the corner of North Dearborn/Lake (Leo Burnett Building, walk past the shops inside) or State/Lake (has Renaissance sign); the front desk is on the Lake side of the building so you'll save a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Hotel, responded to this review

Although having your flight cancelled isn't necessarily a good thing, we are delighted you could spend an extra night with us and have some more time to explore the windy city! Thanks for sharing such a kind review of our property. We look forward to your next visit! More 

nikitta28
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I struggle writing this review because overall I feel disappointed with my experience. The rooms for 4th of July were extremely expensive ($2,649.28 2 rooms for 2 nights) It seemed having status with Marriott (one night shy of diamond) was useless because it wasn't acknowledged at checkin, my requests were not honored, the club was closed for the holiday, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RenaissanceChicagoGM, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago Hotel, responded to this review

Nikitta - We want to apologize we were unable to meet your expectations during this recent stay with us at the Renaissance. We always strive to provide the best service possible to all our guests and we regret we were unable to do so for you during this stay. If you should find yourself coming our way again, please let... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

416 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (304)
Viewed
Room/suite (86)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
View from room (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (112)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#21 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#9 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay