We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

162 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Share an Experience

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    215
    181
    122
    139
See reviews for
137
160
86
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (758)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is fine for few days, but not for long staying. Room is quite small.location is great!IT is close to subway and good conection to the airport.you don't need to use a taxi.it's close to the lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel isn't bad looking from the outside but the lobby was old and shabby. The first room I got I couldn't open the door even after I got it unlocked. Even the desk clerk had trouble as the door was badly warped. So they gave me a new room. It was small, too small for a desk or chair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear NLHattel, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and understanding when we had to assign you to another room. Safe travels, More 

Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My review is going to mirror many of the others. I have stayed at Red Roofs all over the country mostly while attending dog shows. I have never had a bad experience. This time however I was in Chicago for business and there was a screw up by the client and who was supposed to have booked me in another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear AmbasadorKosh, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your feedback. We make a very concerted effort to ensure everyone gets a good night's rest, so if you're ever disturbed by your neighbors, please don't hesitate to call the desk so that we can take appropriate action. Thanks again and safe travels, More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Besides the fact that the rooms need to be updated to the modernization of the times as well as be thoroughly cleaned...It is quite conveniently situated in the midst of shopping areas and across the street from Garrets Popcorn and the city "L" trains

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear NickyI825, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your feedback and hope to serve you again in the future. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couldn't take a shower....no water pressure....they let us use a shower in another room and it was the same. Overall I will never stay there again the cleanliness was barely average and the bathroom was not very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Chad S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that you were less than completely satisfied with your stay and for the water pressure issue that you mentioned. We're working to improve the situation, but as you can imagine, it is a challenge in an older building such as ours. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you like a mold and mildew smell in your room which gets in your clothes, plaster hanging from the ceiling, running out of hot water, torn up carpet, horrible plumbing, makeup and dirt stains on the shower curtain, smashed bugs on the bathroom wall and a floor that leaves dirt on your feet........then this is the hotel for you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Irishboxer1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that you were less than completely satisfied with your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we will continue to work to improve the hotel and correct the issues you mentioned. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very Good location just in the middel of everything. Restaurants and shop just around the corner. The hotel is old and is no luxury, but it is cheap (conserning it is downtown Chicago) and I felt like we got more than we payed for. This is my second time in this hotel and if I go back to Chicago I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Berit K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your positive feedback and your recognition of our excellent value proposition. We look forward to serving you again when you return to Chicago. Safe travels, More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
29 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

centrally located it is near to bus stops and train station. It is quiet and large roon beautifully decorated. The environment is clean and services are good with friendly staffs. There are food vendor machines and drinks machines which are conveniently located

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear 225phil, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your positive feed back. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. More 

Akron, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my third time in this hotel. I wrote bad review, pointing at the managerial control over the staff. OK, there is improvement. Out room got cleaned every morning and the staff did not yell to each other in the hallway. And they cannot escape from the bad side of their business. The building is very old and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Mariy V, Thank you for your repeat business and for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is appreciated as is your recognition of our value proposition. Safe travels, More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I stayed her for Valentines Day. The room was small, no bigger than my bedroom at home. The heater did not work. We literally froze in that room under 4 blankets. When cancellations came in, the front desk did not notify us of the vacancy. We had a couple of cans or Red Bull sitting on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Jody F, Thank you for writing a review. I'm sorry that you haven't received a response from our office, but if you will please contact me I will follow up on your concerns. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question