We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

162 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Add Photo

816 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    225
    204
    134
    151
See reviews for
147
175
91
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (816)
  • Mar-May only
    (172)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (267)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Don't believe everything you read in these reviews about it being dirty etc.....I booked last November for 4 nights for this June and for 6 months i had worried as to what kind of flea pit i had booked into after reading the reviews. I needn't have worried......this hotel is very old, very dated and badly in need of renovating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corydon, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location was great for a girls weekend shopping trip. The staff was polite and they let us check in early. The hotel was clean, but very dated and pretty much below average. There were no full length mirror, the rooms were small, and so as the bathroom

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Susan C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again when you return to Chicago. More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We read the reviews and took the warnings in stride before booking at the Red Roof. We got the room for like $75 and were we thought it really can't be as bad as people are saying... IT WAS WORSE. It is in a great part of town but really really pay the extra money and DO NOT STAY HERE!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Chelsea L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay and if you would please contact me I will do my best to resolve your concerns. More 

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights for the recent U2 tour. My main gripe is the whole 4 pm check in. Yes it is stated as hotel policy, I even called ahead to make sure they could store our bags because we arrived around 11, they said yes and they did. That was fine, but after riding on a train for 4 hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear chiefjade, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and your thoughtful evaluation of our hotel. Early check-in and late check-out are our two most requested amenities, so I'm sure you can appreciate our inability to honor every request. In any case I'm glad we were able to get you in a little... More 

Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon arrival Wednesday night 9 pm we were asked why we were in town. There was an older manager and a younger manager at the front desk. We answered, for the U2 concert. We then went out for dinner and a few drinks and arrived back in our room about 1 am. The next morning we discovered our concert tickets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear tigag, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your safety and security is always our first concern and I would very much appreciate a call at your convenience to discuss your experience. Thank you for your time and I look forward to speaking with you. More 

Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One of the more inexpensive hotels in the downtown area. Parking was nearly $50 a day... OUCH!! The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Room was incredibly small but since we were there to see the town you can over look that. Caution: don't try to go through the room door with luggage at your side. You must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Beth H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your recognition of our excellent value proposition. Although our valet parking is $48, it does include unlimited in and out privileges and you can leave your car in the garage until 5 pm on your day of departure with no additional charge. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Would not recommend. The bathroom was very dirty with mildew stains. The paint was chopping on the bathroom door. The carpet felt sticky. Not the most relaxing night. I wished I had looked at all the reviews and the pictures to see what kind of hotel this was. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Karen O, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that you were less than completely satisfied with your stay and will share your comments with the team. We're working hard to improve our hotel and appreciate your feedback. More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location for a good price but the rooms need improvement, especially the bathrooms. They smelled of mildew and the caulk was moldy. There was no water pressure in the shower. The floors were not clean and had dust and dirt all along the baseboards. The hallways were also dirty and unkempt. I would not recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Leyla W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're working hard to improve our hotel and your feedback is important and beneficial in the regard. More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two great things about this hotel were the location and the fact that they allowed me to do an early check in around 9:00 am when check in time is really at 4:00 pm. On the negative side the hotel staff were very unorganized and unprofessional. They claimed the computers were down/running slow and they were going back and forth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear billie719, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry we incorrectly charged your debit card and I hope your funds were refunded promptly by your bank. We appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again when you return to Chicago. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is one of the cheapest hotels in downtown, and they usually have rooms available, its probable because nobody wants to stay in this hotel, so if you are looking for something cheap this is your option, the room I got had cracks on the sink, a leaky faucet, the bathroom door didn't close completely, and a little bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear turbinux, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and your recognition of our value proposition. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Magnificent Mile

Neighborhood Profile
Magnificent Mile
Over 400 stores pack the concrete along Michigan Avenue, the eight-block stretch known as Magnificent Mile. This area between Oak Avenue and the Chicago River is more a shopping paradise than a full-out neighborhood. For prime upscale shopping, this is the place to go. It’s busy, energetic, and packed with shoppers. You'll also find hundreds of restaurants and dozens of hotels, all on the mid- to high-end scale. Some of the city’s most iconic buildings like the Wrigley Building, John Hancock Center and other architectural marvels define the magnificence of this neighborhood.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay