We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

162 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    217
    183
    125
    141
See reviews for
138
162
86
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (767)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms outdated and not very clean. Housekeeping trash was left in hallway all weekend. Elevators extremely slow. Front desk staff was friendly but not overly accommodating. Location was good for walking to Rainforest Cafe and American Girl Doll store.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had booked this room,because of the price. After reading all of the negative comments, not going to lie was very nervous. BUT after getting there and looking at everything in the room, it was not as bad as everyone made it seem. I had a great time, and will stay there again. Its in a great location, its an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bruce H, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear dewiggles3, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your honest assessment of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again when you visit Chicago. Sincerely, More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all , I am not a business traveler or see myself as a well rounded traveler that would know the quality of a hotel just by hearing a name. But now when I here Red Roof I will let out an animalistic nooooooooooooooo !!!!!!!!!! I booked this hotel at the last moment and did not read the trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear carlos l, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are working to improve our hotel and appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, More 

Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was not clean. The room I was in smelled of sewage. Although designed for the budget traveler, there is no reason for a hotel to be this filthy! The Front Desk staff tried to be helpful but all appeared to be very inexperienced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anderson, Indiana, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In a land where $150 is a deal, this sub $100 room is a steal. But you get what you pay for. The hotel has this interesting musky, greasy, fishy smell emanating from it. It's not unpleasant, just not "fresh." There's cracks on the walls, stains on the floors, spots on the ceilings. Our bathroom had a huge cracked bulging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear B2theRent, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and your recognition of our value proposition. We look forward to serving you again when you visit Chicago, but until then, safe travels. More 

Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What is the basic of the basic you expect from a hotel room? Cleanliness (bedding, bathroom, floors) Security and location. This hotel's greatest attraction is its location. And for the price, you get the quality you pay for. The worst part: its not clean. At all. The bedding was not cleaned, our room was not done for at least one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear HugodelaF, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay and appreciate your feedback. We will continue to work to improve our hotel and hope to serve you again in the future. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's probably the cheapest hotel you can get so close to Magnificent Mile. You get, however, what you pay for. The first room that we've got wasn't really clean and had a mold odour. After a couple of days we've got some problems with the toilet. It was fixed the next day after we've told the reception about the problem,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear Vera A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your recognition of our positive attributes. We appreciate your feedback as we work to improve out hotel, and we hope to serve you again. Of note valet parking, including in and out privileges, is now $48 per night and that while there are parking alternatives, I... More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is fine for few days, but not for long staying. Room is quite small.location is great!IT is close to subway and good conection to the airport.you don't need to use a taxi.it's close to the lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear MaxTaborda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your patronage and your recognition of our positive attributes. We look forward to serving you again when you return to Chicago. Until then, safe travels, More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel isn't bad looking from the outside but the lobby was old and shabby. The first room I got I couldn't open the door even after I got it unlocked. Even the desk clerk had trouble as the door was badly warped. So they gave me a new room. It was small, too small for a desk or chair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear NLHattel, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and understanding when we had to assign you to another room. Safe travels, More 

Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My review is going to mirror many of the others. I have stayed at Red Roofs all over the country mostly while attending dog shows. I have never had a bad experience. This time however I was in Chicago for business and there was a screw up by the client and who was supposed to have booked me in another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruce H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Dear AmbasadorKosh, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and your feedback. We make a very concerted effort to ensure everyone gets a good night's rest, so if you're ever disturbed by your neighbors, please don't hesitate to call the desk so that we can take appropriate action. Thanks again and safe travels, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Magnificent Mile

Neighborhood Profile
Magnificent Mile
Over 400 stores pack the concrete along Michigan Avenue, the eight-block stretch known as Magnificent Mile. This area between Oak Avenue and the Chicago River is more a shopping paradise than a full-out neighborhood. For prime upscale shopping, this is the place to go. It’s busy, energetic, and packed with shoppers. You'll also find hundreds of restaurants and dozens of hotels, all on the mid- to high-end scale. Some of the city’s most iconic buildings like the Wrigley Building, John Hancock Center and other architectural marvels define the magnificence of this neighborhood.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question