We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The James Chicago

#24 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
55 East Ontario, Corner of Rush and Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Special Offer
Complimentary Nights
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Jetsetter to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The James Chicago
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The James Chicago
Add Photo Write a Review

2,285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,440
    602
    151
    59
    33
See reviews for
302
915
145
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2285)
  • Mar-May only
    (536)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (694)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (593)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (462)
All months
Mexico DF
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

3 friends travelling 4 days to Chicago. Perfect location, 1 block from Michigan Av. with great stores and great restaurant around. Walking distance to everything. Amazing service! Everyone with great will to help. Free bicycles to use for 4 hours. Helmet and locks included. Everything was easy. They also recommended and booked for us the boat tour. No extra cost.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear creatinidad, Thank you for the great review. It is nice that we provided you with excellent service and you had everything you need at the James! I'm looking forward to welcome you back soon! Thank you again, Stephen Blackford More 

Bourbonnais, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This somewhat small modern hotel is conveniently located in downtown Chicago. The rooms are slightly small with beautiful modern bathrooms. The lobby is also very sleek and modern; very trendy vibe. Hotel is located 2 blocks off of Michigan Ave fine shopping. Very close to locations such as Garret's popcorn, Pizzeria Uno & Due. We ate dinner at RPM Italian!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear KSL5, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I'm happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay and our location. I'm looking forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again, Stephen Blackford More 

Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a pleasant visit and booked thru Hotwire. The service was outstanding , even rotating the revolving doors for us! The location was perfect....we walked and biked everywhere. The decor is eclectic and rooms nicely sized. We enjoyed the fluffy robes and towels

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Gina R, Thank you for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the service and friendliness of my team of staff. I am very proud of the service they provide. I look forward to meet you in person and welcome you back on your next stay with us. Thank you again, Stephen Blackford More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice clean hotel a bit on the old side but well kept. Staff are very friendly and seem to go that little bit extra to help you out. Great location to everything, my only complaint is that you can hear street noise through the old single pain windows. My suggestion is that either, you run your room fan on continuous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Fiumes61, Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your comments about our staff and location. I'm looking forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again, Stephen Blackford More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

not big and fancy, not that much of boutique, but good enough for the price. best location, walking to everywhere, Navy Pier, water tower, river side, millennium park, etc. tons of good restaurants around, including several most famous Chicago Pizza places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Jing Z, Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate you feedback and I am happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay. It is nice that you took advantage of our location.We are in a great area with many shopping and dining destinations. I’m looking forward to welcome you back. Thank you, Stephen Blackford More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Tries to be chic and trendy, but fails. Not worth the money. Small, uninviting lobby. Rooms are OK size wise, but furniture is cheap. Location is very good, but beyone that is is hard to think of highlights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Trey R. Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey and share your concerns about your recent stay. It is with your feedback that we are able to improve and provide a superior guest experience. I am sorry to hear the design and amenities in your guest room did not meet the standards you have come... More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The James is is for all intents and purposes a very good hotel. The rooms are nice, roomy, modern and thoughtful. The location is pretty good. Wifi is quick and free. What disappointed me deeply was the fact that waking up early before catching my flight, my room had no hot water. I know there is nothing in life that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear pace_ripley, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is with your feedback that we are able to improve and provide a superior guest experience. Your comfort during your stay is our number one goal. My sincerest apologies that we failed to meet even our own expectations. I... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived early in the morning and were given an upgraded room and allowed to check-in immediately. So, we were able to change, freshen up and get in a full day of sight seeing. The staff was terrific without exception. Bed was very comfortable and the room was well equipped and roomy. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Bill H, Thank you for your great review. I’m happy to see that you had wonderful stay. It is nice that we provided you with excellent service and you had everything you need at the James! I look forward to meet you in person and welcome you back on your next stay with us. Thank you again, Stephen Blackford More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Chicago is a very busy city and reservations are often tough. I tend to prefer the big chain hotels but couldn't get in so settled for a boutique. A few were recommended but the James had the best feedback. Arrived in a rain storm surprised that this hotel,had no driveway or awning. The doorman did his best but the rain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Britacan, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay with us. I appreciate your opinion on our lobby and hopefully during our next renovation that will be something we can improve as well. I'm looking forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again, Stephen Blackford More 

North Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for six nights. Combination of business and pleasure travel. The hotel was close to transportation (four blocks to the red line at Grand/State), close to Michigan Ave. (one block) and lots of restaurants/food stores really close by. We had a standard room which had plenty of space plus a nook with a bench seat and a desk which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheJamesChiGM, General Manager at The James Chicago, responded to this review

Dear MDHNorthTustin_CA, Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay. It is nice that you took advantage of our location and you enjoyed your room. I’m looking forward to welcome you back. Thank you again, Stephen Blackford More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

968 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (383)
Viewed
Room/suite (180)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (86)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (547)
Viewed
Amenities (75)
Viewed
Guestroom with One King Bed (58)
Viewed
Guestroom with Two Double Beds (60)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Apartment (80)
Viewed
Penthouse (174)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay