We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 167 Chicago hotels

W Chicago Lakeshore

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Save Saved
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
W Chicago Lakeshore
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
62%
Ranked #110 of 167 hotels in Chicago
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Pennycakes Saint Louis, Missouri
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    400
    255
    156
    105
See reviews for
181
350
86
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore
See the most recent reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was slow, but the staff was very friendly. Newly redecorated room had a crack between restroom door and room, so privacy was limited. Lobby is under construction, but not to inconvenient. WIFI is NOT free, and no coffee pot for this caffeine addict.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the note! We are so happy you enjoyed felt welcomed by our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back when our renovation and Living Room experience is complete! Let us know when you return and we will be sure to have a coffee pot in the room for you upon your arrival to get that... More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was not sure what I would show up to after hearing reviews and knowing they were undergoing renovations. However the customer service was great. They went above and beyond. Philip was great. The room was a little weird and it was overall quite dark in the hallways. You could see your family members going to the bathroom. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are taking your observations and sharing them internally to achieve higher levels of service. We are so happy the staff really made an impression on you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you! Jessica Y. Marketing Manager More

Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As countless other reviews have said, they are currently in the midst of renovations at the W. I'm assuming this is why we got such a great deal when we booked on Hotwire for only $65/night. However, unless we would've read about the construction I doubt we would have known. It was a very quiet, nice stay. Our family of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

We are so happy we could be part of your special escape with your family and delighted that the location and service were such a good fit for you! We cant wait to welcome you back when our renovation is fully complete and the Chicago weather is radiant! PS you will find guest room packages that are loaded with value... More

Metairie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

-Breakfast service is slow, be ware to order in advance if you are in a hurry. They only have one poor waiter who waits the whole room and he's always running to catch up. -I've had problems with taxi at this place. I think it is primarily because it is a one way leading up to the entrance, and not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were with us as we were enhancing our design but delighted to hear you felt so welcomed by our staff and that they made your stay as comfortable as possible. Please know that the investments we are making now will help us achieve higher levels of service for you in the future! We look... More

NYC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this property before the construction started & loved it. I stayed there during construction and was dismayed (which is why the value is only 'good' below). I'll go back after construction, as I expect it will once again meet my expectations. I would advise waiting until after construction is complete, because when a hotel is under construction... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. On behalf of the entire hotel I am so sorry that you did not feel welcome or heard throughout your stay. I am so sorry that you were with us at W Chicago Lakeshore while we were enhancing our design. Please know that the investments we are making... More

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked at the last minute for a recent Chicago business trip and thought I'd give this property a try based on a very reasonable rate for a W property. Of course, that low rate was due to the significant ongoing construction/renovation at the hotel. Not needing any of the amenities generally associated with a higher-end W hotel experience, I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your recent experience with and that we did not live up to the standards you have come to expect from a W and us. Please know we are eager for the renovation to be complete as well so that we can deliver a sensational guest experience. We thank you for your loyalty and... More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While I liked the location and ambiance of this hotel (its within walking distance to many places and it's very chic) those are really the only two things that are any good about this hotel. The elevator stopped and we were stuck for about about a half hour on there. We had to squeeze down to get out (the women... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear the location and the atmosphere were a fit for you, but disheartened to hear that the other feedback on your stay was not heard while you were at the hotel. On behalf of the entire team at W Chicago Lakeshore I am so sorry that you did not feel more comfortable and attended to.... More

St. Paul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Which might be one of the only things going for this hotel- I stayed in Summer 2013 which was before all of the disasterous construction reviews. Room was nice - we had a lake view room- which was great except the windows were terribly dirty. Location was close to Navy Pier which was great because you can just take the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the candid note about your stay with us last summer. I am so sorry the security team at our former Whiskey Sky Lounge were upfront in the safety policies and did not make you feel welcome. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back and demonstrate our commitment to Whatever / Whenever service as well... More

Long Island NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have had bad experiences at bad hotes. good experiences at good hotels (of course) and even good experiences at bad hotels (rare, but it happens). What I hardly ever have -- if ever -- is a truly bad experience at a reputedly good hotel. But there's always a first time, and mine was at this W. First, full disclosure,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take feedback such as yours very seriously and will be sure to address the points you mention internally so that we may achieve a higher level of service for both you and your fellow guests. I know we cant rewind and change what has happened, but if... More

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I recently had a five night stay at The W, Lakeshore in Chicago. Well, I paid for 5 nights since it was prepaid, but I spent one night at the Park Hyatt in order to get some sleep. Three groups of us had three rooms while visiting for a birthday celebration and to watch the Classic Hockey game at Soldier... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. On behalf of the entire hotel I am so sorry that you did not feel welcome or heard throughout your stay. I am so sorry that you were with us at W Chicago Lakeshore while we were enhancing our design. Please know that the investments we are making... More

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Navy pier(60)
  • Lake Michigan(25)
  • Very nice(23)
  • Room service(14)
  • Great location(13)
  • Lobby bar(7)
  • Top floor(6)
  • Bliss spa(4)
  • Coffee maker(3)

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#95 Family Hotel in Chicago
#110 Green Hotel in Chicago
#110 Spa Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Chicago - Lakeshore, the only hotel overlooking Lake Michigan is a short walk from Navy Pier. Onsite we have flexible event space, perfect for both business meetings and lavish weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.