We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 169 Chicago hotels

theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
86%
Ranked #34 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Kris A SAN ANTONIO
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    334
    117
    38
    29
See reviews for
201
435
82
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN ANTONIO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First off, I love staying at doubletree because the COOKIES are delicious! But secondly, they never disappoint on service and rooms. We did a weekend trip so must of our time was out and about. We did happen to miss their rooftop bar which supposedly is one of the top rooftop bars in the nation. Which also explains the long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place is way over priced at $300 a night plus tax. They tried to charge us for using the mini bar. We didn't even know there was a mini bar. The bathroom door is a sliding door that does not lock or close all the way it just hangs on the outside of the wall like a sliding pole... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ok well I have to admit at first glance of this hotel from the outside immediately in my head I was second guessing staying here. Our company has always booked the Renaissance across the street which was a little more grand of an appearance. Despite the initial small lobby and drab outside appearance, once you hit your room I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear NewEnglandTrvlr, Thank you for your glowing review of theWit Hotel! I am delighted to hear that you were so impressed with our property. I apologize for the outlets not working properly. I will speak to our teams to inspect this area a bit further so that our future guests do not have a similar experience. We look forward to... More

Chicago, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

$500/night for a basic room that was not very clean, appeared kind of grimy, and had been smoked in despite non-smoking room status. Coffee maker was hidden away, gym was mediocre. If Chicago is having a conference and rooms are hard to find and this hotel is available - move on and keep looking.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear John P, Thank you for your recent feedback of theWit Hotel! I am sorry that you had a difficult time locating the coffee maker in the guest room. I have looked at the room you were in during your visit and the ones on either side to eliminate the smell of smoke or stale air. Although we did not... More

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at theWit in Chicago recently. It was a great experience - hotel is in a great location in the Loop and the staff was delightful. I especially appreciated the assistance of the Front Desk Manager Alex and one of his team members Danielle was especially helpful. I had a few "special" requests and they and the Concierge Timm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Trey1247, Thank you for your recent review of theWit Hotel! I am delighted to hear that our team worked together to ensure a memorable experience during your visit. We work hard to exceed the expectations of our guests and it sounds like Tim, Danielle, and Alex succeeded in your stay. We look forward to seeing you back at theWit... More

Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I came to Chicago for business but I would stay at this hotel for leisure as well! I appreciate being able to check in way before check in time so that I can settled before my meeting. Great room, great bed, great service. Only downer was the train is noisy when in service during the day but I was in... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Adiaha I, Thank you for your glowing review of theWit Hotel! I am delighted that we were able to accommodate your early arrival. It sounds like our team made a great impression on your during your visit. We look forward to seeing you back at theWit on your next visit to Chicago. Have a wonderful afternoon! Sincerely, theWit Guest... More

Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked our wedding weekend (and block of rooms) at theWit, which definitely sounded like a good idea at the time. Here is the deal: the rooftop bar is the main priority in the hotel. Instead of it being a hotel with an awesome rooftop bar, it's a mediocre rooftop with a hotel below it. The hotel guests are an... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Evan R, Thank you for your recent feedback of theWit Hotel! I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. This is certainly not the normal feedback that we receive from our guests. We will be following up with the teams that were here during your stay to find out where we lost the connection of service.... More

Home
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you did not know it, the Wit, is a doubletree property. They keep,it well hidden except for the warm cookies that greet you on check in. It seemed to throw off the front desks timing, when my honors number was not entered in advance, but I got on the honors floor, and never delivered promises of special goodies. Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear hotelmavin, Thank you for your recent review of theWit Hotel! I am glad to hear that you found our hotel so enjoyable during your visit. I am sorry to hear that your HHonors number was not initially added to your reservation. I will follow up with our team to ensure a smoother transition for arriving guests. I appreciate you... More

Providence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice large room that is well appointed with great views of the city. Very friendly helpful staff. Good location walking distance to everything including the art museum. Absolutely no complaints and I like to complain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear infojrmd, Thank you for your recent review of theWit Hotel! I am proud to hear that our team was so friendly and helpful during your visit. We are very fortunate to an amazing location for our guests to enjoy the city however I believe it is our team who keep them coming back to theWit. We look forward to... More

Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

They let me check-in before 9am which is extremely rarer. Very pleasant staff. Breakfast was good. Location is perfect. Room size is generous compared to many Chicago hotels. Highly recommend it. Looking forward to go the highly acclaimed rooftop bar tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Srinala, Thank you for your recent review of theWit Hotel! I am delighted to hear that our team was so accommodating for your early arrival. While we do have a dedicated check-in time, it is important for our team to be flexible and empathetic to the needs of our guests. It is motivating to hear that they performed so... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(21)
  • Corner room(10)
  • Ceiling window(5)
  • Would highly recommend(5)
  • Red line(3)
  • Extremely friendly(3)
  • Few blocks(3)

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

415 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (363)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (139)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
View from room (43)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Chicago with
any amenities