We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Champaign hotels

Red Roof Inn Champaign

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 West Anthony Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820
Hotel amenities
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Champaign to your Saves list
37%
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Champaign
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    12
    21
    21
See reviews for
23
11
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
NE Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We received a newly remodeled room. It was clean. They are on the right track though most Red Roof Inns are tired old motels that they are trying to make look better with paint and shoddy workmanship. Sheetrock joints already starting to crack. hot and cold reversed in the shower. No way to keep the water in the shower. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Champaign Red Roof. At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent... More

Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Walking into this hotel room was like walking into a crime scene from a week ago. I wasn't expect a Penthouse experience, but I was expecting a clean room. What I got instead was dirty, bug and hair filled room with dingy sheets, and a scary atmosphere. I am not a picky person by ANY means, but this low quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m very sorry to hear that we fell short of providing you a much better experience as this is not indicative of the level of service and quality we pride ourselves on. I’ve had a chance to investigate this and I’m unable to determine when any problems were reported nor when a refund was requested. Please feel free... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love the new rooms! We got upgraded for free to a new room from the manager because we arrived earlier than expected and our room was not ready yet. Julie was very professional and polite and made us feel right at home. We will be going back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Champaign Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously... More

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got what I paid for except the wifi. It was not functioning that night. They are actively renovating but my room did retain that old smoke smell as did my PJs unfortunately. Hope with time that gets better. Front desk was great & professional. I was not disturbed & left no worse off than I came :). I wish there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Yes we have received new beds so all of our new rooms are updated with them. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here while visiting the University of Illinois for a football game and, it is safe to say, while I will return to Champaign, I will not be returning to this hotel. Upon checking in I was informed that they were undergoing renovations which I wish I had checked on ahead of time as the room I was assigned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is truly appreciated. It’s unfortunate to hear that we fell short of our promise to deliver a great experience. As we continue with our major renovations I will work even closer with my team to insure that our service and quality matches our brand new rooms. Once again thank you for your feedback and... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

I understand renovations are going on, however the room we were assigned was not renovated. It smelled of urine and the heater did not work. When we contacted the front desk, we were told that since we reserved our room on the Internet, we could not be moved to a different room. Their solution to the urine smell was to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback with your recent reservation. We sincerely apoligize that we did not meet your expectations. As we now know that you did not stay with us. We did let 3rd party Expedia know that we refunded them the money for your stay. We have newly renovated rooms that have all... More

Urbana, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This is the best hotel in terms of economy,services,ambience and offers. The newly renovated rooms along with the free WIFI, TV etc, all amazed me.This was my first time in US and i booked the hotel for 4 days,eventually i extended my stay to 10 days with the ease and comfort red roof has provided me. Thank you red roof... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you liked our newly renovated rooms. We have been working very hard to bring our property to the next level and we are so pleased to see you enjoyed it. Keeping the prices reasonable even after renovations is... More

Urbana, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

The renovated rooms were amazing. Also, lots of nearby restaurants so quite a few options. Service was prompt and employees helpful. Its the perfect combination of affordability and comfort. The rooms were clean. Overall worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here in our new renovated rooms. Here at our Champaign Red roof we are doing everything we can to bring this property to the next level. We are so glad that all the hard... More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I stopped at this hotel just to rest one night while taking my son to Iowa for treatment. I requested a renovated room. Note: Always request renovated rooms when staying at red roof. The room was clean, smelled like brand-new carpet and to my surprise, was quiet. It is near the highway. Manager matched rate given by Hotels.com. We Have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. We are very happy that you liked our new rooms. We have almost completed the first building. Before winter arrives we will have all new vending area and the lobby will be renovated as well as the outside of our buildings will be redone. I will... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Walked into our "non-smoking" room and it smelled like smoke. Then went to use the restroom and noticed several hairs on the walls and floor of the shower. Decided to just sleep on top of the bed wearing long pants, socks, and a hoodie. Until my cousin noticed a cockroach crawling in the corner. We tried to shoo it out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is truly appreciated. It’s unfortunate to hear that we fell short of our promise to deliver a great experience but we’re glad to hear that you were satisfied with the resolution. As we continue with our major renovations I will work even closer with my team to insure that our service and quality matches... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Champaign

Address: 212 West Anthony Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Champaign 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Champaign
Champaign Red Roof Inn

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay