We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Carbondale hotels

BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Giant City Road, Carbondale, IL 62902 (Formerly Carbondale Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn to your Saves list
81%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Jeremy M Decatur, Illinois
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    33
    7
    11
    4
See reviews for
53
15
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Decatur, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed one night in the Best Western Saluki Inn, and I think it is the best hotel in town. It is close to many stores and restaurants. My room had plenty of amenities and was very clean and tasteful. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I forgot my Kindle in the room, and they called me and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review for our property! I am happy that you finally got your kindle back! We really enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to having you stay with us again. Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Given the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor I was (am) shocked by my experience. I will stick with the facts. I was given three rooms in which the AC did not work, in the 4th room the TV did not work. The last room where I stayed was on the side of the hotel near the road and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Once again, I am sorry for the issues you had during your stay. I look forward to speaking with you about this more in depth. Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

ST. LOUIS, MO, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were only there for one night as we were in town for a funeral. We found the inn comfortable, clean & had one of the best breakfasts I've had that is included with the price of the stay. I would stay here again & have already recommended this motel to others attending the funeral.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us a review! I am sorry you were visiting us on those circumstances. I am happy that we were able to provide you a comfortable environment. Thank you for the breakfast compliments, we want people to have a great morning meal before they leave us! Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Collinsville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lots of old negative reviews made this a hard choice to make, but was glad I did. This location appears to have had quite the overhaul. I'd recommend staying here to anyone visiting their kids on campus or heading out into the state park for a day trip.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to update our reviews! We strive to provide better customer service everyday. I am glad that you have chosen us as your SIU home. We can't wait to have you again. Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here while visiting SIU campus. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and since I was traveling alone with my daughters, we felt safe. We had no problem with internet access, and all of us were on devises at the same time. Also, the water was hot for all of our showers, and with 2 teenage girls using the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review! I am so glad you enjoy our hotel and location. I am sorry about the fruit at breakfast we must have run out the morning you were here. We try to always have bananas, apples, oranges, and grapes, but some days they go faster than others. I... More

Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The people at the front desk greeted us warmly and had good recommendations for us for dinner. We had an upgraded room on the second floor. Great location, clean, and comfortable. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us such a great review! I am glad you enjoyed your upgrade! If you stop through town again, come and see us! Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

NEENAH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Staff is fantastic and location could not be better for Carbondale,SIU and Brehm Preporatory! Breakfast was fresh, hot and delicious! Facility is clean, pool is nice and not crowded, internet is easy to access and reliable.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We really value our feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you again. Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Aurora, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at, the service was exceptional, the rooms were impeckably clean and fresh, the beds were very comfortable, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.You will leave very satisfied with your stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review! I am so happy that you love staying with us! We can't wait to have you again! Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

minooka, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We always enjoy staying at the Saluki Inn in Carbondale. The staff is friendly, helpful and kind. The cleanliness of the hotel is superb. I really like the fact that they use "green" methods for their operation.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so happy that you enjoy your stays with us! We can't wait to have you again. Ashley Peterson General Manager More

Bolingbrook, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Hotel was newly remodeled and clean. Room and amenities very nice. Internet a little slow, but not really an issue. Staff friendly and helpful. Great free full hot breakfast. Would definitely return to this hotel when in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on our hotel! I am sorry about the internet being slow, we will work on that. I am happy to hear you enjoyed everything else. We hope to see you again in the future. Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Do you own or manage BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn

Address: 801 North Giant City Road, Carbondale, IL 62902 (Formerly Carbondale Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saluki Hotel Carbondale
Ramada Carbondale

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay