We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Carbondale hotels

BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 North Giant City Road, Carbondale, IL 62902 (Formerly Carbondale Inn)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Lori V kankakee, United States
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    37
    9
    11
    4
See reviews for
56
17
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
kankakee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff was ver nice and concerned. We were visiting for the college (SIU) family weekend. The hotel called a few days earlier to confirm my stay and I asked if they had an cancellation for the second night to pleae let me know and they did. :-) Nice rooms, nice accomdations overall.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review! We really value our feedback on here. Also we are so glad that we were able to accommodate you for another night. Ashley Peterson General Manager More

Manhattan KS, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best choice in Carbondale/Murphysboro, we visit friends there occasionally. We realized that our king room had everything we had at home, except closer together!. Great breakfasts, great staff. Vacuum/dusting left a bit to be desired, but overall, one of the best hotels I've encountered. Above average for the price. We will definitely book there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you feel at home here. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Ashley Peterson General Manager More

McHenry, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it was a great value for the rate. The room was clean and conveniently located for our college visit. The beds were above average. Not a luxury stay but certainly a great value for the price. We will definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us again! Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

McHenry, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel seemed pretty nice, I was wowed when I got to the room -- spacious, nice floor and furniture, even a separate room with a TV. Apparently it used to be a whirlpool suite, but they remodeled it to just be a king-bed room. Everything SEEMED great, but during the next day after checking out, I started itching. I... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am sorry you had issues with your stay. We took immediate action with the room that you stayed in. It was not a pet room, so I am not sure where the flea bites came from. I am also sorry about breakfast. We hope that you with give... More

Moline, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel when I visited my granpa. Overall it was a pretty good hotel. Very friendly staff. There was a fridge and microwave. The bed was also pretty comfortable as well. I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Be sure to come back and see us when you are in town again! Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Springfield, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good value for the money. Nice indoor pool, NO HOT TUB! Small exercise room. Very nice free breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable. Walmart across street, Chilis, Applebees and Buffalo Wild Wings all on main street buy hotel. Good Place to stay when visiting SIU studen. Easy access to campus, just down street past HighSchool and Dollar General and take... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review! I am so happy that you enjoy our location so much. We really enjoy having you as a routine guest. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Decatur, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I stayed one night in the Best Western Saluki Inn, and I think it is the best hotel in town. It is close to many stores and restaurants. My room had plenty of amenities and was very clean and tasteful. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I forgot my Kindle in the room, and they called me and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review for our property! I am happy that you finally got your kindle back! We really enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to having you stay with us again. Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Given the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor I was (am) shocked by my experience. I will stick with the facts. I was given three rooms in which the AC did not work, in the 4th room the TV did not work. The last room where I stayed was on the side of the hotel near the road and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Once again, I am sorry for the issues you had during your stay. I look forward to speaking with you about this more in depth. Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

ST. LOUIS, MO, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We were only there for one night as we were in town for a funeral. We found the inn comfortable, clean & had one of the best breakfasts I've had that is included with the price of the stay. I would stay here again & have already recommended this motel to others attending the funeral.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us a review! I am sorry you were visiting us on those circumstances. I am happy that we were able to provide you a comfortable environment. Thank you for the breakfast compliments, we want people to have a great morning meal before they leave us! Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Collinsville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Lots of old negative reviews made this a hard choice to make, but was glad I did. This location appears to have had quite the overhaul. I'd recommend staying here to anyone visiting their kids on campus or heading out into the state park for a day trip.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to update our reviews! We strive to provide better customer service everyday. I am glad that you have chosen us as your SIU home. We can't wait to have you again. Ashley Peterson General Manager BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn

Address: 801 North Giant City Road, Carbondale, IL 62902 (Formerly Carbondale Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saluki Hotel Carbondale
Ramada Carbondale

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay