We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
700 East Main Street, I-57 at SR 13 West, Exit #54-A, Carbondale, IL 62901 (Formerly Motel 6 Carbondale)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    1
    3
    25
See reviews for
14
2
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The room given to us was spotless very clean. The staff clean my room each day we were there which wasn't necessary. The rooms are updated with newer carpet etc. Also had fridge and microwave which was very much appreciated since we stayed for multiple nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Avesh46, Thanks for taking the time to share your great stay with us and we're glad you like our new renovations. We do our best to give our guests the most comfortable stay with the best amenities and friendly service. We hope to see you again soon and have a great day! Sincerely, Neal P Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because of numerous negative reviews but our room was fine for the price. Looks like they were remodeling there was crew working few room down from us. I would stay here again if I'm in area again fir sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear dannybrow, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and comment on your stay. We're glad you had a good stay and are looking forward to seeing you in the future and hearing what you think about our newly remodeled rooms. Thanks again and have a great afternoon! Sincerely, Neal P Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we walked into our room, we were overwhelmed by the smell of disinfectant or bug spray, not sure which. The pillows (3) were about an inch thick and then we noticed that the smoke detector was missing with a bare wire hanging from the ceiling. The TV did not work but I tightened the connections and finally got a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth F, We apologize for your experience and for not meeting your expectations, and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and upgrades I am currently addressing your concerns maintenance is repairing the faucet and shower, inspecting alarms, and housekeeping will be deep cleaning the room. Again we apologize... More 

Travelers are raving about these Carbondale hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please beware of this place. I don't care if they offer you a free room DON'T STAY HERE!!! It's not worth it! This is the creepiest, filthiest place on earth! Dingy sheets, dirty comforter, filthy rug. I wouldn only use the tub here wearing boots! If you insist on staying here because it's cheap, remember you get what you pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Brenda W, We are sincerely sorry for the experience you had but our records show that this stay was not at our property. We strive to provide the best possible quality accommodations for the best possible price. We hope that in the future you would stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn in Carbondale, and have a great... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did not stay here after reading the reviews and have to say thank you to the reviewers for your great advice but also because I have not laughed so hard in months. OMG funny! This place sounds like the worst place on earth. Well maybe not the worst but a close second to the bathroom in the bar from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Amy J, We appreciate all of the feedback we get from our valued guests and we do our best to make every stay the best experience for our guests. That is why we invite you to stay at our property for yourself to see our clean newly remodeled rooms and friendly staff so that you can share your true... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

It is hard to write a fair review on this place overall because we never made it into our room. We tried both key cards and they didnt work. Instead of trying to rekey them or personally see if they were defective the person on duty sent us away to another hotel across the street. He told us the cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Vintagespunk, We sincerely apologize for the experience you had and that we were unable to accommodate you. We thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. Management has addressed all of your concerns and your comments, our property is now newly remodeled has a great staff and we hope that you will give... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The hotel was terrible. I have stayed in inexpensive hotels but this was the worst. It was not the best area of Carbondale. The stairs were dark, poorly lit. The exterior walk to the room was littered with cigarette butts. The doors had been recently painted- but the peepholes were painted over! It looked like someone had tried to break... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience encounter during your stay. I would like to thank you for taking time to bring this matters to my attention so I can take action. I will address this issue with my staff. My sincerest apology, Neal P More 

Marion, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

this place is a good place to stay the night or even a month everyone here is nice to talk too and rooms are nice and clean.I have been here for 2 weeks and never seen a bug here every good place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were pleased with service and our hotel facilities during your stay with us. Regards, Neal P More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This hotel really live up to the name best value stayed here for a few nights last week, it was really impressive. The rooms were clean and I don't know what kind of air freshener they are using but when I walked into the room it smelt really good. I went to eat next door at the Chinese restaurant, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rolla, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I was so excited to be going to see my little sister in college for the first time. i had been so busy with work so i was looking at this as a holiday for me. being from down south in Texas i was nervous as all get out about going up north but i wanted to see my sister.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay