We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
700 East Main Street, I-57 at SR 13 West, Exit #54-A, Carbondale, IL 62901 (Formerly Motel 6 Carbondale)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    1
    3
    25
See reviews for
14
2
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly service clean rooms quiet. Spotless.staff cleaned my room everyday i asked.keep up the good work.and the amazing service. Very very clean.........................I recommend staying here over any other motel in Carbondale

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Awesome! We're so glad you had a great stay with us in Carbondale and enjoyed one of our newly remodeled rooms. Our friendly front desk staff and housekeeping always to their best to provide and amazing stay. We can't wait for you to visit us again and hope to see you soon . Have a great day! Thanks, Josh R... More 

Marion, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

visited family in carbondale for a day end up getting a room at best value inn because my sister apt didn't have any space beside the sofa. check in at midnight guy working there was very friendly and gave me 15% off my room because it was very late at night. Beds were very comfortable room was clean as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Lyn12420, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and let us know about your stay. We're very happy you enjoyed staying with us and we hope you had a good time visiting your family. We do our best to provide the cleanest rooms, most comfortable beds, and friendly service for a great price. We can't wait to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here last year around june room was not up to par but this time room was clean and comfortable also had few amenities. Price was good compared to other hotels in area and closest hotel to SIU. Only negative was having to go down to office for iron and hair dryer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Good afternoon Michelle B, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review and for letting us know about your stay. We're very happy you stayed with us again and enjoyed our renovations. We do our best to provide our guests with the most comfortable rooms, friendly service, and always like to hear about good stays and ways we can... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The room given to us was spotless very clean. The staff clean my room each day we were there which wasn't necessary. The rooms are updated with newer carpet etc. Also had fridge and microwave which was very much appreciated since we stayed for multiple nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Avesh46, Thanks for taking the time to share your great stay with us and we're glad you like our new renovations. We do our best to give our guests the most comfortable stay with the best amenities and friendly service. We hope to see you again soon and have a great day! Sincerely, Neal P Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because of numerous negative reviews but our room was fine for the price. Looks like they were remodeling there was crew working few room down from us. I would stay here again if I'm in area again fir sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear dannybrow, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and comment on your stay. We're glad you had a good stay and are looking forward to seeing you in the future and hearing what you think about our newly remodeled rooms. Thanks again and have a great afternoon! Sincerely, Neal P Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

When we walked into our room, we were overwhelmed by the smell of disinfectant or bug spray, not sure which. The pillows (3) were about an inch thick and then we noticed that the smoke detector was missing with a bare wire hanging from the ceiling. The TV did not work but I tightened the connections and finally got a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth F, We apologize for your experience and for not meeting your expectations, and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and upgrades I am currently addressing your concerns maintenance is repairing the faucet and shower, inspecting alarms, and housekeeping will be deep cleaning the room. Again we apologize... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Please beware of this place. I don't care if they offer you a free room DON'T STAY HERE!!! It's not worth it! This is the creepiest, filthiest place on earth! Dingy sheets, dirty comforter, filthy rug. I wouldn only use the tub here wearing boots! If you insist on staying here because it's cheap, remember you get what you pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Brenda W, We are sincerely sorry for the experience you had but our records show that this stay was not at our property. We strive to provide the best possible quality accommodations for the best possible price. We hope that in the future you would stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn in Carbondale, and have a great... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

I did not stay here after reading the reviews and have to say thank you to the reviewers for your great advice but also because I have not laughed so hard in months. OMG funny! This place sounds like the worst place on earth. Well maybe not the worst but a close second to the bathroom in the bar from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Amy J, We appreciate all of the feedback we get from our valued guests and we do our best to make every stay the best experience for our guests. That is why we invite you to stay at our property for yourself to see our clean newly remodeled rooms and friendly staff so that you can share your true... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

It is hard to write a fair review on this place overall because we never made it into our room. We tried both key cards and they didnt work. Instead of trying to rekey them or personally see if they were defective the person on duty sent us away to another hotel across the street. He told us the cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Dear Vintagespunk, We sincerely apologize for the experience you had and that we were unable to accommodate you. We thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. Management has addressed all of your concerns and your comments, our property is now newly remodeled has a great staff and we hope that you will give... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The hotel was terrible. I have stayed in inexpensive hotels but this was the worst. It was not the best area of Carbondale. The stairs were dark, poorly lit. The exterior walk to the room was littered with cigarette butts. The doors had been recently painted- but the peepholes were painted over! It looked like someone had tried to break... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neal_ABVI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn / Carbondale, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience encounter during your stay. I would like to thank you for taking time to bring this matters to my attention so I can take action. I will address this issue with my staff. My sincerest apology, Neal P More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay