We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River

414 East First Avenue, Post Falls, ID 83854
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    93
    53
    24
    20
See reviews for
103
61
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Bonners Ferry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is great for folks going for surgery , who have to come from out of town to see their specialists. There is a door leading to the parking lot and if you have a dog, which we do, it is very easy to take him out for walks. It is an older hotel and if you have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. More 

Arlington, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Started off unloading entire car after 7 hour drive only to find card key wasn't able to open door to building. Had to load car back up and drive back to office. Receptionist continued helping another customer for a very long time after I told him my key didn't work, I finally had to interrupt to ask for a new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear of the various inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Clearly, this is not our standard. I will personally follow up with the issues you mention to ensure we rectify them in the future. I hope we have the opportunity to show you a much improved stay in the future. More 

Travelers are raving about these Post Falls hotels

Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I am surprised by all the negative reviews for this place. I stay here once a year or so and always find it decent. OK so it could use an update but it is a great locations, the staff is super friendly and the rooms are clean. I love having the fridge, microwave and sink in room. It feels like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. I hope you have we have the opportunity to serve you again soon! More 

Noxon, Montana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Initially I was checked into a room not connected to the hotel and it was a bit dingy. I changed rooms, the double queen room was a little better, but the slamming doors throughout the evening was loud. Wifi was ok until 8pm when the rate slowed to pausing while streaming. The alarm was set to the wrong time zone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear of the challenges you encountered during your stay. We do have some rooms a bit of a distance away from the front desk and I am sorry you were initially put that far away. I will also follow up on the internet connectivity issues you experienced. Again, thank you... More 

Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Very quaint hotel but definitely needs upgrading. Rooms are clean, service is great but the overall hotel is old. Beautiful view from the dining room area. I was disappointed that there was no pancake griddle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our hotel. I hope you return soon. Your comments regarding our staff are much appreciated and will be shared. More 

Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Very clean, good value, nice people. We stay here every year for a trade show and it is always comfortable. The problem, every year, is "when and where will my key card actually work ?" The answer is...sometimes, and who knows ? We had our room cards reprogrammed 3 times. Sometimes one of the outside doors would work and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. I am very pleased you enjoy our hotel. I am also sorry for the issue with your key card. I will follow up immediately with our maintenance team to see what is causing this issue. We appreciate the kind words and hope we see you again in the very near future! More 

Missoula, Montana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

From the time we checked in, until check out, the customer service was terrible! The front desk staff was the worst! For the money you have to spend on a room, it isn't worth it. The hotel is older and run down in areas. We will not be staying there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction. We pride ourselves on service and I am dismayed to hear you had issues during your stay. I will personally follow up with our team regarding these comments. More 

Kalispell, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

My kids and I stayed here, very average and overpriced, got in our room, there were blood stains on the chair, very confusing halls, no maps posted. The road getting there was closed for construction, difficult to arrive at.Not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of the issues you presented. I will review these with our team. Additionally, I am sorry for the road construction as I completely understand the frustrations of trying to get somewhere with detours. I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay and hope we have the opportunity in the future to... More 

Coulee Dam, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Though it was a very busy weekend, we were able to get rooms that had a river view, which was so beautiful. The beds were comfy, rooms were spacious and the kids enjoyed the pool. The rates were very reasonable for the quality of the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. The rooms facing the river certainly create a beautiful and calming experience. I hope you come back soon! More 

Clarkston, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

I was at the hotel for 2 nights for a conference. Fantastic service, food, and room! The room was large, huge garden tub, and the bed was comfortable. Will definitely return for both business and pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DavMalon, General Manager at Red Lion Templin’s Hotel on the River, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience! We appreciate you taking time out of your day to submit your review. I hope we have the opportunity to have you back as a guest at our hotel! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities