We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
94 E. Portneuf Ave., Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Hotel amenities
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lava Hot Springs Inn to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ashlee J Puyallup, Washington, United States
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    8
    19
    36
See reviews for
30
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a few rooms at this hotel due to us losing our Grandma in the family and needing to get away for a relaxing night.. The hot springs pools are amazing, VERY amazing.. They feel wonderful and all just so nice. The hotel really needs to be updated and cleaned better, also I think there needs to be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Sounds like you really liked the pools. And we love that you did. Lava is a small town with a lot of character. That is what attracts most visitors....that and the hot mineral water. Most of the hotels in town are old buildings that were converted into B&B's or hotels. A lot of people like the old style and don't... More 

Riverton, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is a dump but it has great pools. Reported poop in one pool. They came out, scooped out what they could (most disintegrated into the water). Opened the pool. We we checked out right away. STAY AWAY.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Mud NOT poop. After being told that there was poop in one of the 6 pools on the property, I went out to see for myself. There was a sizable clump of something on the bottom of the pool about 3 feet under water. I notified maintenance immediately that there was poop in the therapy pool. The maintenance person on... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lava Hot Springs hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for Valentine's/4th anniversary. I wanted to suprise my wife and do something a little different. They said they had a suite with a heart shaped jacuzzi. It was 159$ plus tax and fee's.. Sounds like it's going to be a good weekend right? Nope it was awful and disgusting. The room was small the heart shaped tub was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Most of the hotels in Lava are "well worn". Maintenance is ongoing and as hard as we try, sometimes isn't done the way you would do it at home. People come here to soak and visit. We are sorry that the room was not up to your standards. More 

Huntsville, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here in an Aladdin room last weekend for her birthday. I've never been to this town and wanted to check it out. The room was very expensive for what it was. The room was not very nice. There was patched spots on the walls and ceiling that were not painted. The bathroom door didn't shut... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the kind words about the pools and the staff. Almost everything in Lava is old and well worn. That is part of the charm about this town and what brings a lot of people back. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay but hope that you will give us another try. And... More 

Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We thought we would give this place a second chance. We stayed once in an over priced "suite". The rooms was dirty and we nearly froze as the heater broke in our room. This time around, the facility is still poor. The changing rooms for the pool were disgusting!!! They smelled of urine, the floors were muddy and there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Most of our walkways are kept as free of snow and ice as we can keep them. Welcome to southeast Idaho where the winter weather is brutal. We did not get a report of anyone falling. I am sorry that the room you had on your first visit was not up to your standards. Most, if not all, of the... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Me and a few of my friends recently stayed at the Lava Hot Springs Inn, at the Colinshaw 2. Check Inn was easy, and fast, and the staff, especially the owner were friendly and engaging. Breakfast was wonderful each day, homemade by George or another staff member. Greek eggs, Mexican egg and pepper scramble. Each day we sat and spoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind and excellent review. George is quite a guy and always has plenty of travel stories. We hope to see you again soon. The pools are hot and breakfast is always ready at 8 AM and I'm sure George can tell more travel stories. Thanks. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We have stopped here often on our way south from our home in Montana. It's the perfect respite. Awesome hot springs, great value, knockout breakfast, and friendly service. We will continue to frequent this jewel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We love hearing this kind of a review. See you soon!!! More 

Ogden, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

My husband and I were there this weekend for our anniversary. I wanted to surprise my husband and go to Lava which is where we met 11 years ago. I paid a lot of money for a spa room and walked into a tiny little room with no shower and a rock hard mattress. They heated the room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your anniversary weekend was not what you were hoping for. The Inn is a family oriented establishment. I'm just sorry that your stay was one that had too many kids when you were hoping for a romantic get away. More 

Orem, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

This has to be the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. We stayed in the Cottage at a whopping $149 for one night. The place hasn't been cleaned in probably a decade. The floor was so dirty I didn't want to walk barefoot. The blinds were caked in dirt, the curtains stained, the heater is probably from the 1940's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that the cleanliness of your room was not what you felt it should be. We have an excellent housekeeping staff that does a great job. Most of the buildings in Lava are old and upkeep is always a challenge but we do strive to have clean rooms for our guests. I apologize for the bad experience you... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

There's nothing quite like waking up to the feeling of parasites crawling over your skin, drinking your blood and leaving you with dozens of furiously itchy bites. Sadly, this was our experience the first night we stayed at the Lava Hot Springs Inn on 11/15/14. I captured one of the bedbugs and showed it to the after-hours clerk at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff at LHSI, I would like to sincerely apologize for the horrifying experience you and your girlfriend had on 11/15/2014. If any of the staff seemed uncaring it was unintentional. This was a serious problem and was taken care of immediately. Serving our guests is what we do. Once again, I apologize for the bad... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lava Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Hot Springs Inn

Address: 94 E. Portneuf Ave., Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lava Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Hot Springs Hotel Lava Hot Springs

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay