We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lava Hot Springs Inn

94 E. Portneuf Rd, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Hotel amenities
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Geauxhike Austin, Texas
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    8
    19
    38
See reviews for
31
64
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed these pools for the day, because they were less crowded and the little dog could hang out with us. I enjoyed all the different pools, and the riverfront one the most. The staff was very friendly, especially as we were trapped in the lobby during a thunderstorm; they were accommodating and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and we are pleased that you had a good time. Come again. More 

salt lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Most of the reviews i have ready here are very real and very justified. I wish i had visited this site before visiting the hotel. I do want to congratulate the kitchen worker (she was so proud of her idea) When she cut a juice bottle to fit over a sewer line (in the ceiling) that runs above the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Most of the hotels/B&B's'in Lava Hot Springs are old and unique. Maintenance is always a challenge. I'm sorry that the building wasn't what you had expected but it is after all getting close to 100 years old and the owner wants to keep as much of the originality and charm as possible. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lava Hot Springs hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I'm kicking myself for not reading these reviews until I came on here to write one. (Lesson learned.) Not only did they lose our reservation (twice) and refuse to give us a refund, they charged us an extra $144 (unauthorized), they didn't insist on infants/toddlers wearing swim diapers (ew!) and the management was really rude and greedy. The pools themselves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

People do love our pools. It is hard to lose a reservation with all of the computer generated information we have to document everything. Most hotels require their guests to sign a policy agreement to cover themselves for damages or anything extra not revealed at check-in such as a pet fee for each pet staying with the guest. We are... More 

Puyallup, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We booked a few rooms at this hotel due to us losing our Grandma in the family and needing to get away for a relaxing night.. The hot springs pools are amazing, VERY amazing.. They feel wonderful and all just so nice. The hotel really needs to be updated and cleaned better, also I think there needs to be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Sounds like you really liked the pools. And we love that you did. Lava is a small town with a lot of character. That is what attracts most visitors....that and the hot mineral water. Most of the hotels in town are old buildings that were converted into B&B's or hotels. A lot of people like the old style and don't... More 

Riverton, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The place is a dump but it has great pools. Reported poop in one pool. They came out, scooped out what they could (most disintegrated into the water). Opened the pool. We we checked out right away. STAY AWAY.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Mud NOT poop. After being told that there was poop in one of the 6 pools on the property, I went out to see for myself. There was a sizable clump of something on the bottom of the pool about 3 feet under water. I notified maintenance immediately that there was poop in the therapy pool. The maintenance person on... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We went for Valentine's/4th anniversary. I wanted to suprise my wife and do something a little different. They said they had a suite with a heart shaped jacuzzi. It was 159$ plus tax and fee's.. Sounds like it's going to be a good weekend right? Nope it was awful and disgusting. The room was small the heart shaped tub was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Most of the hotels in Lava are "well worn". Maintenance is ongoing and as hard as we try, sometimes isn't done the way you would do it at home. People come here to soak and visit. We are sorry that the room was not up to your standards. More 

Huntsville, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here in an Aladdin room last weekend for her birthday. I've never been to this town and wanted to check it out. The room was very expensive for what it was. The room was not very nice. There was patched spots on the walls and ceiling that were not painted. The bathroom door didn't shut... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate the kind words about the pools and the staff. Almost everything in Lava is old and well worn. That is part of the charm about this town and what brings a lot of people back. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay but hope that you will give us another try. And... More 

Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We thought we would give this place a second chance. We stayed once in an over priced "suite". The rooms was dirty and we nearly froze as the heater broke in our room. This time around, the facility is still poor. The changing rooms for the pool were disgusting!!! They smelled of urine, the floors were muddy and there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Most of our walkways are kept as free of snow and ice as we can keep them. Welcome to southeast Idaho where the winter weather is brutal. We did not get a report of anyone falling. I am sorry that the room you had on your first visit was not up to your standards. Most, if not all, of the... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Me and a few of my friends recently stayed at the Lava Hot Springs Inn, at the Colinshaw 2. Check Inn was easy, and fast, and the staff, especially the owner were friendly and engaging. Breakfast was wonderful each day, homemade by George or another staff member. Greek eggs, Mexican egg and pepper scramble. Each day we sat and spoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind and excellent review. George is quite a guy and always has plenty of travel stories. We hope to see you again soon. The pools are hot and breakfast is always ready at 8 AM and I'm sure George can tell more travel stories. Thanks. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We have stopped here often on our way south from our home in Montana. It's the perfect respite. Awesome hot springs, great value, knockout breakfast, and friendly service. We will continue to frequent this jewel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We love hearing this kind of a review. See you soon!!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question