We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lava Hot Springs Inn

94 E. Portneuf Rd, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Hotel amenities
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
TouringTales New York City, New York
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    38
    9
    19
    39
See reviews for
33
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes - the other reviewers are right…..this is an OLD Hotel. In a town filled with outrageous updates this is probably the only authentic place left. It is right on the river and through our big double-hung window with the old rippled glass we looked onto the green park, mountains and the freight trains chugging through often. It is certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandy, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed out stay in the tiny cottage that once housed the owners grandmother! Antique & quirky, enjoy the staff, great breakfast spread and private pools! This is not a place of modern day luxury but a travel back in time. Felt like my great grandmothers house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and let others know how great it was. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In reading the gripes and carping posted on here by others, I am astonished at how pampered they must be. This is an old historic and well maintained vintage property. What they are expecting for Lava Hot Springs frankly eludes me. Pay the few extra dollars and get a room with its own bathroom. Piping hot pools of water to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. It is amazing how many people think that they are booking a room like something found at a NEWLY opened Ho-Jo or Holiday Inn........ we are not. All of the Hotels/B&B's in Lava are from Historical buildings that have real character. I agree with you....get out and see the area attractions or... More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Be aware that this "5 star Inn and Spa" is an overpriced no star hostel. Both booking.com and priceline.com have misleading information about the inn on their sites. For example, "Free toiletries are included in the ensuite bathroom" is part of the description on both sites, so I assumed "a standard Queen" room would have a Queen-sized bed and an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Lava Hot Springs hotels

Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

We enjoyed these pools for the day, because they were less crowded and the little dog could hang out with us. I enjoyed all the different pools, and the riverfront one the most. The staff was very friendly, especially as we were trapped in the lobby during a thunderstorm; they were accommodating and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and we are pleased that you had a good time. Come again. More 

salt lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Most of the reviews i have ready here are very real and very justified. I wish i had visited this site before visiting the hotel. I do want to congratulate the kitchen worker (she was so proud of her idea) When she cut a juice bottle to fit over a sewer line (in the ceiling) that runs above the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Most of the hotels/B&B's'in Lava Hot Springs are old and unique. Maintenance is always a challenge. I'm sorry that the building wasn't what you had expected but it is after all getting close to 100 years old and the owner wants to keep as much of the originality and charm as possible. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I'm kicking myself for not reading these reviews until I came on here to write one. (Lesson learned.) Not only did they lose our reservation (twice) and refuse to give us a refund, they charged us an extra $144 (unauthorized), they didn't insist on infants/toddlers wearing swim diapers (ew!) and the management was really rude and greedy. The pools themselves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

People do love our pools. It is hard to lose a reservation with all of the computer generated information we have to document everything. Most hotels require their guests to sign a policy agreement to cover themselves for damages or anything extra not revealed at check-in such as a pet fee for each pet staying with the guest. We are... More 

Puyallup, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We booked a few rooms at this hotel due to us losing our Grandma in the family and needing to get away for a relaxing night.. The hot springs pools are amazing, VERY amazing.. They feel wonderful and all just so nice. The hotel really needs to be updated and cleaned better, also I think there needs to be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Sounds like you really liked the pools. And we love that you did. Lava is a small town with a lot of character. That is what attracts most visitors....that and the hot mineral water. Most of the hotels in town are old buildings that were converted into B&B's or hotels. A lot of people like the old style and don't... More 

Riverton, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The place is a dump but it has great pools. Reported poop in one pool. They came out, scooped out what they could (most disintegrated into the water). Opened the pool. We we checked out right away. STAY AWAY.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Mud NOT poop. After being told that there was poop in one of the 6 pools on the property, I went out to see for myself. There was a sizable clump of something on the bottom of the pool about 3 feet under water. I notified maintenance immediately that there was poop in the therapy pool. The maintenance person on... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We went for Valentine's/4th anniversary. I wanted to suprise my wife and do something a little different. They said they had a suite with a heart shaped jacuzzi. It was 159$ plus tax and fee's.. Sounds like it's going to be a good weekend right? Nope it was awful and disgusting. The room was small the heart shaped tub was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Most of the hotels in Lava are "well worn". Maintenance is ongoing and as hard as we try, sometimes isn't done the way you would do it at home. People come here to soak and visit. We are sorry that the room was not up to your standards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay