We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Lava Hot Springs B&Bs / inns

Riverside Hot Springs Inn

2.5 of 5 Inn   |   255 East Portneuf Avenue, P.O. Box 127, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Hotel amenities
Riverside Hot Springs Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riverside Hot Springs Inn to your Saves list
63%
A recent review
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    11
    14
    11
See reviews for
16
43
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Layton, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stay here on October 17 2014. This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.. Yes it is a historical hotel but needs ALOT of updating.. we walked up to our room, the carpet was stained. there was an old time television, walls and window seals hadn't had paint on for years they need a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Jordan, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at this hotel is awesome and will go out of their way to make sure everything you want is just right. The inn is on the National Historic list and has a lot of rich history. We find the inn cozy, quaint, and the food is amazing! Chef Alonso is very talented and always come out to ensure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I'm so puzzled by the many negative reviews as I thought it was wonderful. Teddy Roosevelt stayed here! Aside from historicity, every convenience is offered - good wi-fi, an outside hot tub (where I enjoyed the sunset) has been re-plumbed with the hot mineral water. I was offered a robe which I even wore for an early morning coffee on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salem, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (they were amazing in fixing our reservation error). The hotel and spa itself was very worn and dirty. The rooms were surface clean but don't dig too deep...old beer bottles in the corner, fan blades and window blinds with deep dust. It's time for a major deep clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Yep, some friends/I stayed here (On Harley's)...the (sorry) slightly large lady at the front desk was more than friendly, more than accomodating, more than friendly! - WOW! - we stayed 'across the street' in an apartment (6 of us!)...the complimentary breakfast was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HistoricRiversideInn, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Hello John, Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. We appreciate that you stayed with us and had a great experience. Hope you come back soon! More

West Jordan, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

One word to describe this place is a dump. Don't waste your money, stay somewhere else. The toilets don't have lids to shut, no stopper in bathroom sink, no night stands or anything for that matter to get luggage off from the floor. Grown ups walking around drinking alcohol and screaming in the halls. Very overpriced. Carpets must be original... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This is so run down and dirty don't waste your time looking at staying here this place ruined our anniversary had to find another place in a town that books all rooms weeks in advance not an easy task

Was this review helpful? Yes
HistoricRiversideInn, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Greetings. In response to your review "Horrible" and your spouse's second review immediately following, we are sorry that your check in experience was not what we would have liked for you to have had. Unfortunately, the room that you had reserved was intended to NOT be rented and was marked out of order for repairs due to damages from a... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

First walked in found profanity cut into the hand rails smells bad found our room with a broken window covered up by plastic and duck tape oh yeah this is in the bathroom just FYI found stains on our sheets the floor and rips in the carpet do not waste your money on this dump if I could this would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Once we got more familiar with the town we figured that perhaps the main drag has moved by a block away from the river, making the historic entrances to the old building now seem like they are on the back of the businesses. You enter t his hotel through a back door that isn't marked as a hotel entrance at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandy, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived here pretty late at night. We got the key to our room but when we opened the door somebody yelled at us to get out. Upon going back to the front desk, we were told that they had given us the wrong key (and they said the same thing happened a week ago too). Once we got the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HistoricRiversideInn, Owner at Riverside Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Dear "SpookieFries", Our apologies first of all for the "Whoops" moment when checking into your guest room. Sometimes a guest may change their rooms around last minute which can sometimes result in an error when it is busy. The room you selected was an "Economy Room", also called a standard queen, which shares a bathroom with one other guest room.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Riverside Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hot Springs Inn

Address: 255 East Portneuf Avenue, P.O. Box 127, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Location: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hot Springs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay