We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Ketchum hotels

Tamarack Lodge

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Hotel amenities
Tamarack Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tamarack Lodge to your Saves list
77%
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
skeeter2000 Seattle, Washington
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
37
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to see my daughter who recently moved to Sun Valley. Stayed at Tamarack and had a wonderful time. Great location right in the middle of Ketchum, you can walk to restaurants and shops - fantastic location. The staff was friendly, room was very clean. Started every morning at the coffee shop across the street. Hiked every day and came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The property is aged but in a great location so if your looking for a room at a decent value (we paid $100 a night) to crash in, adventure all day and cruise town at night, this is a fair option. If you're looking for a romantic weekend with your honey, stay elsewhere. The 5 star first time reviewers are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really nothing to rave about. I spent one night here and then went to The AmericInn in Hailey the next night. Cleaner, updated and less expensive. Tamarack has been updated a little bit but overall beat up and over priced. If you are a frequent traveler you will be Disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

GeeBee711, We are sorry that you weren't satisfied with your experience with us. We are constantly updating the Tamarack and appreciate your feedback. Thanks, Ryan More

Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed a couple nights at the Tamarack Lodge recently and enjoyed it's central location to all of downtown Ketchum. Having lived in the Sun Valley (Warm Springs) area 40 years ago, it was fun to see all the changes around the town and explore all within walking distance. The Tamarack is an older accommodation and yet was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Krisinseattle, We are so glad to have you back in Sun Valley after 40 years! It was probably amazing to see all of the changes that have taken place in the town. We look forward to accommodating you both on your next visit! Cheers, Ryan More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The fantastic location is the best part of the Tamarack Lodge, although the touted view of Mt. Baldy was largely blocked by the unappealing roof of the lodge itself. The service was just ok; when we checked in our room was not ready (which was not mentioned when we checked in), and the door to our room was wide open,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Jenny E, Unfortunately it seems that you were checked into a room where our cleaning staff was in the middle of the cleaning process from the previous guest. We apologize for this experience. Sincerely, Ryan More

Baker City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went to Ketchum/Sun Valley as a trip down memory lane for my wife and a first time for me. After many miles and some heavy emotions, it was very pleasant to sit down, order a pizza and sit on the patio together. The room seemed to be updated and was very comfortable. We certainly enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Joe M, We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time staying with us. Our patio and outdoor space have such great views - a perfect place for the two of you to relax! We look forward to having you and your wife back in the Sun Valley area soon! Thanks, Ryan More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Pipe broken under sink. We moved to another room next day. They reluctantly offered 10 dollars off. The front desk staff was not accommodating at all. Rooms are dated but beds are comfortable and linens are nice. Good location. Customer service lacking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

MurrieM, Thank you for your review of the Tamarack Lodge. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with us. We always strive to give outstanding service and would love the chance to have you visit our hotel again to give you that 5 star experience. Thanks, Ryan More

Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I met some close friends and their kids over Mother's Day at the Tamarack Lodge. We had a wonderful time in the pool and hot tub with our kiddos! We brought our dogs which was a treat. The location of this hotel really can't be beat... a short walk to downtown and just on the road to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Kathryn, Thank you very much for your great review of the Tamarack Lodge. We are so happy your Mother's Day was spent with us at the Tamarack Lodge. As you mentioned we are pet friendly and located right in the heart of it al in Sun Valley. We look forward to your next visit to Sun Valley. Cheers, Ryan More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Cant wait to go back tom wright was the best person to help us on our vacation he was the greatest. I hope he still works there. He made our trip that much better.great people and views such a good place to sit down and unwind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Fernando, I will be sure to tell Tom what an impact he had on your vacation. I am so pleased you had such a great experience staying at the Tamarack Lodge. We look forward to your return. Cheers, Ryan More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a great place to stay right in the heart of Sun Valley within walking distance to coffee shops, art galleries, shopping and many many many restaurants - casual and fine dining. The rooms were comfortable, exceptionally clean, with mini fridge and microwave. I would definitely recommend the lodge and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunvalleywine, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review

Deni2626, Thank you ver y much for your great review of the Tamarack Lodge. If location is what you are seeking then there is no better place to stay in Sun Valley. I appreciate you calling out all of the details that we work hard to provide during a stay with us. Thanks again, Ryan More

Do you own or manage Tamarack Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Location: United States > Idaho > Sun Valley-Ketchum > Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum, Idaho
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Tamarack Lodge

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Sun Valley Resort
Sun Valley Resort
Ski/ Snowboard Areas