We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown

Hotel website
3031 Main Street, Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Shilo Inn Boise Riverside)
Offers & Announcements
Spring into Summer
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    28
    18
    12
    12
See reviews for
27
22
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My mom and I had to stay here for a night in Boise on a roadtrip. It was clean, but a craphole. The room was outdated and dark, as well as the hallways. The walls were paper thin, the wifi kept going in and out. Its basically just a really depressing place, but clean!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the feedback. We have many updates planned for the property very soon. The internet WiFi is back up and working better then ever after our upgrade. The TVs will be up and working very soon. The beds will all be new next week as well. We also have plans to address the lighting in the halls... More 

Travelers are raving about these Boise hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Dumpy atmosphere, stale odors, sporadic Internet and TV reception. The bed was concave, sloped in the middle about halfway to the floor resulting in back pain. Guest breakfast was standard cereal, waffles or tasteless omelet made from powdered eggs. And grossly overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the feedback. I will look into your concerns about the smells in the property and address those immediately. We will be addressing the beds here next week. The 2nd and 3rd floor beds were updated last month and 1st floor will be updated next week. We are also working on a plan to update the walls... More 

Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First off, let me say, the staff makes that hotel. Give Esta props - the lady is new but FANTASTIC. Clearly some updates need to happen and so the Wifi in the room was out when we were there. It also affecting the TV. Solid place to stay for a night or two on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the kind words! I will make sure Esta knows how great she is! Thanks for your understanding as we upgrade our internet and television services. We have completed the upgrades to the WiFi system and the Directv system is almost completed. We have many more updates planned for the hotel very soon. Sincerely, Bernard... More 

Boise, Idaho
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am a frequent traveler. Rooms were clean and neat. It is always nice to find a hotel that is not only clean but has great customer service. Esta provided me with outstanding service.She is worth gold in todays world. i would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to being able to stay here in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This plan was super clean, the pool & spa were great, the breakfast options were good, and the staff were really helpful when we asked for recommendations on where to get food. When you just need a solid, clean, good spot, this is the place. I'd stay here again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the kind words. We love to hear that we have taken very good care of our guests. We do have many more updates planned for the property very soon. I hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, General Manager 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On top of being a dump my room had no working TV and internet was only available in what they call a lobby. As a business traveler I have seen it all, at least I thought. On top of their Dump that they consider a hotel they would only offer a 15% credit on my stay. Nothing like staying in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am extremely sorry about your stay. We are working very quickly to get the internet back up and the televisions service issues worked out with our provider. We are also working very hard to update the property. We do have many plans in place right now to update the lobby and the rooms as well. The mattresses... More 

Twin Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 1/2 price deal is totally bogus! The $90.00 we were charged was way overpriced! The parking lots/landscaping was very neglected, a lot of it was weedy/dead. The door we were told to enter the bldg that led to our room was so damaged it would only close if if slammed it hard, and it definitly would not lock at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry your stay was not as expected. I will check into our pricing to make sure we are within the market parameters. I am very concerned that you did not feel safe in our hotel. We will be updating all of our doors including the patio doors very soon. Please let me know if there... More 

Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was having issues with cable and internet. They called us the morning of are pending arrival and made us aware of this. Once we arrived we were treated very professionally by the front desk clerk Esta. She did a great job to make sure we were taking care of the best that she could under the conditions and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the feedback! We are working with our provider of cable to get the issues resolved and they should be taken care of very soon. I will let Esta know how great she was to you! Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, General Manager 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were just passing through for the night and the hotel was in a great location to highway and downtown. The staff was super friendly (especially Ashleigh and Esta!). The hotel was not the cleanest and VERY dated. Bathroom grout needed to be cleaned. The Internet and TV was down for the evening, but the hotel did give us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the feedback. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff. I will let the staff members know that they are great! I will check into your issue with the cleaning of the room and make changes. Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, General Manager 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
3.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Oxford Suites Boise
#1 of 54 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 54 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#26 of 54 in Boise
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#16 of 54 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay