We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown

Hotel website
3031 Main Street, Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Shilo Inn Boise Riverside)
Special Price
Spring into Summer
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    24
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
24
17
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
BROCKTON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First night on our cross country trek - looked better in pictures. Was rundown and worn a bit - room was comfortable and warm enough, breakfast was ok. The shining star was the staff !! Very pleasant, knowledgeable, helpful, not enough superlatives for them. We were trying to stay ahead of the weather, the front desk clerk gave us some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Found the Cottonwood Suites on TripAdvisor with an $80 night (suite with 1 King sized bed). No fancy bells & whistles, but the bed was comfy, the service funny & kind (Thanks, Esta!!) and breakfast got us from Boise to Salt Lake. As we were leaving, we mentioned to each other what a shame it was that we arrived so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the kind words. We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness of the hotel. We love to hear our guests were both happy with the price and the room. We are making many updates and we look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, GM 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This place is old and outdated. It needs a lot of work especially some sound proofing. Any noise in the hall is heard in your room. Hospitality room is ok but the same food each day. Staff is friendly and helpful which helps. I would only stay here again if another place wasn't available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback! We will be looking into your concerns about sound proofing as we are updating the property currently. I am sorry your stay was not as restful as you would have liked, but we will make changes based on your feedback. Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, GM 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

Travelers are raving about these Boise hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

i rolled into cottonwood around 8:30 and Esta helped me into my room, the wifi in the hotel rooms was down so she generously compensated me for the inconvenience. needless to say, my visit at cottonwood was amazing! and if i am in boise again (which i will be ;) ) cottonwood will definitely be my first choice! thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your feedback. I am happy to hear our front desk staff was so awesome! I will let Esta know how helpful she was! Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, GM 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

Richland, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff had trouble finding our reservation! Then, the elevator should have been a clue! Filthy floor with cracked and broken tiles! Carpets in hallways and stairwells have places that need to be stretched/refastened. Tripping hazards!! Carpets in stairwells are threadbare in places. Carpet in room was dirty - hadn't been vacuumed since before we checked in. Lame attempt at making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear your stay was not a good one. We are working very hard to update the hotel as quickly as possible. We have plans in place to update the carpets in the hallways and stairs. We also have a contract with DirecTV to come in and update our channels which that will be... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our family went to Boise for a doctor visit and had to stay at this hotel because of a state boys basketball tournament going on and every other hotel was full. The rooms were quite dark, scary and really old. I think they are trying to update them though. We could hear the kids in the room next to us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry about your room not being as good as you would have liked. We will be making many changes to the rooms to make them more modern. This will be happening soon and there will be many more exciting changes to come to the whole property. Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, G.M. 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Besides the fact that the Internet didn't work most of the time And that I was overcharged at the end of my stay by over $160, the phone number is not a working number so I had to turn around and go back to the hotel to is the overcharges. It WAS clean even though it was outdated and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so very sorry to hear that your stay was not a good one. I will be looking into your concerns about the charges being incorrect. This is something that I take very seriously and will make sure changes are made so this does not happen again. We will be making many exciting upgrades to this property... More 

Moscow, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes the hotel is older and needs updated, but sometimes the people that are there can make up for it. I work for a small company and we really watch the money we spend. We overbooked by a day and were hopeful we could get a refund. Usually, getting a refund from a hotel is closely akin to pulling teeth.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the great feedback! We really like to hear our guests enjoyed the stay. We pride ourselves on our great staff here and we will make sure every guest is taken care of and feels special. Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, G.M. 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great, spacious room. we were here twice within a few weeks and had both a room with two queens and a king room. Both very clean, nice fridge and microwave, the breakfast was pretty good for continental breakfast, and the front desk staff (especially Hannah) was very nice and thorough, even though she couldn't fix the weather for us. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the great feedback! I am happy to hear your stay was a good one. We are going to make many more exciting changes to this property and that does include an upgrade to our internet as well. I hope to see you again very soon! Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, G.M. 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

Manchester, Vermont
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We read the reviews before my husband and I stayed here. We really didn't have high hopes but it wasn't too bad. Yes the place is dated and little run down but our room was clean and our bed seemed newer. We checked in late and the lady at the front desk, I think Lanna, was friendly and efficient. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard D, General Manager at Cottonwood Suites Boise Riverside Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the feedback. We are making many changes to our hotel. I will be looking into your concerns about the desk staff as that should have never happened. Sincerely, Bernard Daugherty, G.M. 208-344-3521 bdaugherty@cottonwood-boise.com More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay