We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Hotel amenities
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Boise
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013
Elizabeth F Boise, Idaho, United States
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    138
    82
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
53
54
31
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
See the most recent reviews
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have held two events at the Red Lion Boise Downtowner and have been so impressed both times! The staff is amazing to work with and are so flexible and kind. Our conference rooms were always clean and stalked with what we needed. All of our meals were great and very filling. Rooms were comfortable! There isn't one complaint I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

While my comments to your review are very late, they are not without gratitude. We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel. Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommend our... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room was filthy..it was supposed to be smoke free..it smelled of stale cigs..the side table had a sticky mess left..the bath tub was clogged..there was an old food tray left outside of our room from the previous tenant...not good

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. I have shared your concerns with our Housekeeping Manager; she will try to investigate which room attendant was responsible for cleaning your room, but unless the room number was shared at checkout it may be difficult.. When we are made aware of the issue we can quickly correct... More 

Ogden, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I were traveling through Boise to Eugene Or from SLC and needed a place to stay in the middle that was pet friendly. We decided on staying at the Red Lion downtown because it seemed like a decent location and they were a pet friendly hotel. Friendly may be a bit excessive to say, they are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

It was a great pleasure reading the thorough review you wrote about our property recently. The points you addressed are very understandable and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We do hope that you will come and visit us again. Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A solid 3 to 3.5 star hotel in a great location only minutes from the heart of downtown Boise. The hotel rooms have recently been renovated with new furniture and a flat panel TV. The free Wi-Fi is fast enough to stream video. The fitness center has commercial grade equipment, and the bar is comfortable. The staff went beyond expected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that... More 

California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Its my second time that I've stayed here and my experience was pleasant. The front girl even remembered me which I thought was pretty neat. The rooms are clean, they offer a free shuttle service to downtown (and I think the airport maybe too), they have a hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable tv, wifi and work desk. I recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience. Ken Kester General Manager More 

Los Alamos, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were walk-ins and only stayed one night but we had a clean room (pillows were soft and fluffy) and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Very close to downtown and the price was right! We didn't check out the breakfast because we slept in to late. Check out was at noon which was super nice not having to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager More 

Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel was comfortable and the staff, for the most part, helpful and friendly. Lobby carpets were worn and soiled, the hotel in general is about ten years overdue for an update. Terrible coffee served in both the restaurants and for meetings. Wifi access was good throughout the facility. Not a bad value for the price but not impressive either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager More 

Baker City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have used this hotel before as it is pet friendly, but was not impressed with the cleanliness overall. The room was okay except for coffee drips on the bathroom floor. It had not been cleaned properly. Just because you travel with a furry companion doesn't mean you give up cleanliness!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with me. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Please be assured that the items mentioned were investigated and corrective action was taken as necessary. Ken Kester General Manager More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ok here is the situation 99% of the staff were nice and helpful so I won't make them all go down for the one girl who was working the next morning. The rooms only have one open outlet which is really a pain for those of us that travel with more then one electronic. Our tub did not drain hardly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I’m sorry that the room you stayed in had issue with the TV, bathtub drain, light bulb and sheets. Our Housekeeping manager and... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beds are pretty comfortable, shower is nice with good pressure.. Close to downtown and shopping.Staff was friendly and helpful. Free continental breakfast was tasty. Nice roomy, comfortable rooms. Nice atmosphere. Would stay here again. Check in was easy and fast. TV was a flat screen. The rooms are updated and cheery. Good stay in Boise at the Red Lion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay