We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Special Offer
Spring Savings
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Boise
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
rgul Klamath Falls, Oregon
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    80
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
52
54
29
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for the Boise Inter Am at the Owyhee motocross track. Staff is alway helpful and polite, from desk staff to housekeeping. Rooms are nice and always clean. Only problem we had was a microwave that wouldn't work, the child lock was on and would not unlock. Hotter water in the shower would have been nice, never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience. We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist... More 

Eagle, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were celebrating last weekend and decided to stay in downtown vs. take a cab home both nights. I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the past and have always been pleased. I was not happy with the cleanliness of the hotel or our room. Overall it was very dirty. The hallways, the elevator, the stairs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with us. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. The points you addressed are very understandable and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We will take action to correct the items you mentioned. Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While the hotel is what I have come to expect from Red Lions, I was very impressed with the bar staff. The group of people in the bar were incredibly rude to John the bartender. Although clearly understaffed for the number of people in the bar, John and the waitress were running their butts off to get everyone food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff in the restaurant and bar. I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff working the night of your visit. Ken Kester General Manager More 

Buhl, Idaho
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here many times. This time the gentleman that helped me check-in was rude and helpful at the same time. This is the first time that I have been treated rudely. I will return in the future due to the location and quality. When we stay on the third floor it is always a party floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. I am truly sorry that your check-in process didn't go as smoothly as usually. We hope to see you again... More 

Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This hotel is vintage 1060's (I think), but they do a good job in updating internally. Great value for price. I was there with my husband for a conference at the Cathedral of the Rockies. I love that they provide airport shuttle at no cost. The staff is very nice and helpful. the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience. We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist... More 

Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. the beds are the main reason we stay, super comfy. the rooms are clean. the bathrooms are updated and have a nice large shower head. location is good, we walked most places downtown. there is also a shuttle every half hour that will take you most places in the area. ( tipping is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommending our hotel to others. We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We... More 

Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Nice room on ground floor. Good location close to city center. Available shuttle a welcome surprise. The only "issue" I had was coverage at the front desk. When I checked in the gentleman behind the counter was very friendly and informative. When I came back to the front desk later that evening and when I went to check out in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

It was a great pleasure reading the thorough review you wrote about our property recently. The points you addressed are very understandable and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager More 

Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The staff at this hotel are the best; so friendly and accommodating. Whether it's the front desk staff such as Autumn, Ben, Pat, Beth, or the dining room staff, Amy and Tess, or the housekeepers, they greet you warmly and often. We love that it is so pet-friendly and the beds are the best! And Larry and Dean are readily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. I appreciate that you took the time to recognize so many of our outstanding staff members. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again and if there is anything I can do to assist you with... More 

Carnation, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

It is a great place to stay. I like that room, the fact that you don't have to leave, the bar is there and you can get breakfast and be on our way. Ben was especially helpful and very kind. I checked out several rates and Red Lion was by far the least expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience. Thanks for sharing your comments regarding Ben. Ben does a very good job. I will share your comments with Ben. Ken Kester General... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Recently stayed one night, opened my room and walked in and was overwhelmed with the smell of smoke. Called the front seat and Patrick immediately solved the problem without question getting me into a room in the tower. Most negative impressions can be negated with good customer service and such was the case in this scenario. Nice work Patrick. I'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write nice comments about Patrick. I will certainly share your comments with Patrick. Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommending our hotels to others! We appreciate the support! Sincerely, Ken... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question