We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Hotel amenities
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    82
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
53
54
31
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Wallowa, Oregon, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I only use a hotel to sleep in, so my needs are few. Bed, TV, internet, breakfast. This hotel provides them all, clean, neat, and perfect. The people at the front desk were fun, responsive, entertaining, and informative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
10 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here two nights, the 22nd & 23rd of May. Got the deluxe king bed room. Was up in the tower section on 7th floor. When you reserve the room with a credit card they charge an extra $40 per night as sort of a deposit. Be aware of that. Glad I didn't use my debit card as that could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with us. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. The points you addressed are very understandable and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again and if there... More 

Sandy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was afraid of check-in because I left my credit card at home, but the front desk made it easy and made me feel very welcome. The room was clean and the beds and pillows so comfortable I slept like a baby. I stayed 2 nights for a conference. The cleaning of the room was excellent. All of my meals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff and amenities. We appreciate you posting your support on Trip Advisor. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again and if there is anything I can do to assist you with your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Ken Kester General Manager More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not a 3 star hotel...Maybe it was 40 years ago when it was built. Overall it seems OK but upon closer inspection the quality of the rooms is terrible. There was a blood spot on the towel in my room, I don't think the linens had been changed (I have no proof other than that all the sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I hope you will come back and give us another chance to earn your business. Ken Kester General Manager More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel in general is pretty dated...I went to my room... and couldn't believe my eyes... My bed had brown stains and black curly hair in it... my towels in the bathroom had brown stains on them as well...also the floor had depree and hairs everywhere... I can't belive out of how much I travel that a hotel would allow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I will be researching and providing additional training to our housekeeping staff that cleaned your room. Once again I apologize for the issues... More 

Boise
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was at a conference at Red Lion and spent one night there. First, I have to share that the food for a large group of people was the best I've ever had. I'm used to conference food being mediocre but the catering staff did an excellent job. The rooms were great for the various sessions and our hotel room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel. Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommending our hotels to others! We appreciate the support! Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager More 

natebanta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at Red Lions throughout the Northwest and this has been one of my favorites. I can tell on Priceline when this is the hotel up for bids, so I always go for it. When I arrive I pay for an upgrade to a non-priceline room. Sometimes they give it to me for free, most of the time it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests. It was disappointing to read about your dissatisfaction with your recent experience with our hotel. I’m sorry that we were unable upgrade your room to the view of the city as you have... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good exercise room. Nice jacuzzi but one door locked us in the area. Couldn't get back out the way we went in. Chair in room was broke. Guest services book was missing pages. One mattress was ripped and woke up in the morning with bites. Staff changed bedding and all was fine the rest of trip. Staff at entrance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with me. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Please be assured that the items mentioned are being investigated and corrective action will be taken as necessary. I pleased that you liked our exercise room and our location close to... More 

Lindstrom, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a conference at the Boise center, this hotel was a nice walk. The staff were great, room clean, breakfast fine. We would stay again.rooms very nice. All of our employees liked and commented how we could come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience. We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Clean, friendly, big, nice pool, close to freeway, nice people and guests. Have been here a few times and each time we have no complaints. Would recommend this place for a quick one, two night visit. Area around a bit to be desired!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff and hotel. Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommending our hotels to others! We appreciate the support! Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay