We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safari Inn Downtown

Hotel website
1070 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Safari Inn Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Safari Inn Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
29
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yah, the price is reasonable but bed was worn out so sleep was poor. Yah, they had breakfast, but it was meager. Yogurt, two cold cereal selections, bagels and English muffins, hard boiled eggs, melon and pineapple cups, donuts. Yah, they had a pool and hot tub but they're small and outside so you can listen to the traffic 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, I'm sorry you had a less then perfect stay. Our goal is to provide a clean comfortable room. Our transition from Cable One to Direct TV has taken longer then expected, but we will have a better product with DIrect TV. We replaced all our beds with Serta Beds two years ago so it... More 

Victor, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can't beat the location of this hotel...easy to get to and a quick stroll to 8th Street with tons of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. The hotel does have a parking lot and there is a small gym that is in an old hotel room...nothing great but sufficient to get a good workout in if you so desire. I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate the feedback. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time in Boise and found this affordable gem with no advance planning. Very comfortable room with nice amenities. Separate freezer a plus since traveling with food for a long road trip. Easy walking to downtown, river, parks, and bike routes. Great dinner at The Fork followed by a soak in the hot tub. Breakfast is adequate and a major... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Safari Inn, we appreciate the feedback More 

Lynnwood, WA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Safari Inn in downtown Boise is about location. It is within walking distance of all the night spots downtown. The hotel is okay. Since it is downtown it is jammed into a small lot and therefore goes up rather than out. My room was on the 2nd floor and had a view of the alley and the neighboring building.The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate the feedback and we do keep adding more items to the breakfast as space allows. .I hope you will stay with us again. More 

Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

This hotel is such a great place to stay in downtown Boise - walking distance to all of the downtown core so close to shopping, music, great food, coffee shops and even an art gallery. The parking is very secure and free with your room - the staff is great and very friendly and helpful. The room had a refrigerator... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Safari Inn, we appreciate it! More 

La Grande, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

I always stay here when I have to fly. My car is always safe there so I don't worry. I get a really good night sleep and it's close enough to walk to lots of great restaurants. The staff is always welcoming.,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you, we appreciate your business and your review ! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Least inexpensive room in downtown area I could locate. Close to Boise nightlife on 8th street & great restaurants. A coffee with microbrews practically across the street. Nice store called Record Exchange with coffee shop a block away to buy last minute gifts. Exceptional continental breakfast beyond cereal & waffles. I highly recommend as comfortable & clean with very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and taking your time to respond ! More 

Lewiston, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Stayed here for two nights. The location was secured and the rooms were clean. The hotel is slightly outdated but the cleanliness, friendliness and pricing made up for the outdated hotel. I LOVED the giraffe in the lobby I actually hugged it when I arrived. I was there on business/pleasure. I did spend a bit of time in my room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments ! Hope to see you again. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Stayed at the Safari Inn for two nights. Rooms were a little dated, but clean. Property is in Downtown Boise, and the other hotels were charging double the rate. Breakfast was typical simple breakfast fair, nothing hot other than oatmeal. Staff were friendly, and I loved the giraffe in the lobby. Not luxurious, but affordable, especially if you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate your feedback. Also, we have added cheese omelets to the breakfast. More 

Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

On the good side, the location is convenient to downtown. The room rate was reasonable. For the rest, the property is showing its age. The same is true of the rooms. If I could, I'd give this property 2 1/2 stars. I wouldn't say it's poor but I wouldn't say it's good either. Decent, which another reviewer used, is as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SAFARIINNBOISE, Manager at Safari Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, we do appreciate the feedback, we're always looking for ways to improve. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay