We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Banning Mills

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
205 Horseshoe Dam Rd, Banning Mills, Whitesburg, GA 30185
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitesburg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Historic Banning Mills
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    77
    9
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
41
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Manton, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the cabins and it was awesome. Had dishes and a stove and everything inside. We enjoyed all the different activities. We rode the horses, we did the long zip line trip which was worth it because the big one was the best of all. Lots of stairs so we got our work out. We also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Husband and I stayed in the treehouse which was a pretty cool experience. We did the level 4 zip line, we had Chris and Tyler for guides-they were great! Then had a massage, horseback trail ride, and a kayak excursion over the next couple of days. Everything was so fun, and the amazing food (for dinner ESPECIALLY) completed this wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted to warn folks about our awful experience at Banning mills. First the over priced breakfast was bad food cold and not much to choose from. Our Cabin number 49 was dirty dirty dirty. Manager man Steven came and mopped but it was still dirty. He said tomorrow when you check out I will take care of it. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Thank you to Amanda in the Historic Banning Mills Lodge, whose kindness and exuberance for her environment carried over into my 6 day trip there. She went the extra mile on my behalf and represented her employers incredibly well with her attention to detail for my needs and her perfect balance of maintaining her busy job. There is also another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

While the actual zip line was great my experience was dampened by the poor customer service. I had called to add on the rock climbing wall and when I called back 15 minutes later to cancel it I was told there would be a $20 processing fee. I was also told that in order to prevent the loss of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna H, Manager at Historic Banning Mills, responded to this review

This guest did not give out the whole scenario. 1. The reviewer made a reservation and he was told Before he made the reservation what our policies were. He made the reservation anyway and called back to cancel after we had scheduled the guides. We did tell him that there was a cancellation fee. He decided to keep the reservation... More 

Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

My husband and I have a trip booked for July to stay in one of the treehouses. We did the big package deal and are very excited. I have told everyone I know about this place and can't wait for our time to come. The reviews are awesome and I know we are going to have a great time. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

We went zip lining and had a fabulous time. My daughter had a panic attack and refuse to try, our guide walked us down to the lodge where another staff member offered to drive her in the golf cart so she could see us zip lining. They were very caring and understanding, which saved the day in my book. Thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quincy, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We didn't get to enjoy the full use of all the activities at the Mill because of rain. We did get to do some 'zip lining which we really enjoyed. Our room was in the lodge. It was clean but you have to understand that this is more of a rustic resort. The room was Ok but it isn't the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We went last weekend with my parents (in their 60's) and my sister & her boy friend (in their 20's) and even brought our son (5 months old). Everyone had a great time zip lining. The guides did a great job explaining the safety rules and general how-to's. My hubs, my baby & I all stayed in a treehouse, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We took our special needs daughter zip lining at Banning Hills yesterday. We were unsure how she would do, but she did great! The guides made her feel comfortable and reassured her throughout her experience. The park is beautiful and we peeked inside a few of the cabins. They were all very nice inside and we can't wait to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitesburg
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 8 in Carrollton
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shenandoah Inn
7.8 mi away
Fairfield Plantation
Fairfield Plantation
#1 of 8 in Villa Rica
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bremen-I-20 (Carrollton Area)
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Newnan
14.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newnan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities