We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Tybee Island hotels

Desoto Beach Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Desoto Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Desoto Beach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity Booking.com
and 3 more sites!
63%
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Tybee Island
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Ceasler Chapin
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    84
    56
    34
    34
See reviews for
90
106
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very convenient to beach and this was important to us. Staff set up out chairs and umbrellas we rented. Made it easy for a last minute trip to beach. Room was clean and staff was friendly. Hallways and game room could use an update. Arcade games were not working. Beach was not crowded and beautiful! A short drive to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, we hope you return soon! More

Cleveland, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel to the area often on business and split my stay either on Tybee or Savannah. This trip was back to Tybee. The Desoto staff at check in was not friendly at all and after a long drive you would at least like a smile much like what you get at the Hyatt on Bay St. and for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your response, we sincerely do apologize for the employee, we are going thru some training of some new staff and unfortunately they all don't make it! We do hope that you try us again upon your return to Tybee Island. More

Holly Springs, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel rooms were clean. The set up was a bit different. No bathrooms down at pool, had to go to your room. House keeping was horrible, first day the didn't vacuum and left dirty towels. I went to front desk and they said they would make sure they cleaned and again, no towels left at all. Beds poorly made,floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your response, I am working with our housekeeping department so as I can assure you this won't happen again, we pride our selves on being very clean and offering friendly service, I do apologize you had these issues and hope that you give us another try when you return to Tybee Island. More

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think the higher price is for the location. It is right on the ocean. We did not have ocean view but it was not important since we were there for only one night. The beds were very comfortable. That fact alone would get me to come again if I were passing that way again. The rooms are small and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I frequent Tybee alot, this would be my second stay here at the Desoto and my first review. My husband and I visited in Februaty, defenitly "low season" . We got a pretty good rate. Our room was on the third floor, main building, ears shot from the front desk. The room looked to to be updated and was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cochran, Georgia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overpriced. Outdated. Very unhelpful staff. We got there at 2:45pm. Check in is 3pm. Desk clerk made us wait till 3 before calling to see if the room was ready. I don't assume early entrance but everywhere else I have stayed it was allowed if ready. She made a point of making us sit and wait. Room and balcony very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a lot of money on an ocean view room. We had an ocean view, but not before the parking lot, the pool and a fair distance. The booking said we would have a king suite with a couch, but there was no couch. When I checked in, it took a while, but the girl was by herself and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff refused to let anyone check in till 3p. Our bathroom spelled like sour Clorox water. We were never given details about any continental breakfast. We left for the evening, and when we returned, there was no parking space for us. The cost for one night was $189.00 with $49.00 level service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We sincerely do apologize for your not being able to check in early than our check time of 3pm, we run a high occupancy and you were here on the week end when we run a 100% occupancy so it is difficult for us to honor an early check in although we do everything in our power to arrange it... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were clean kinda small but doable it was very relaxing I would come back for a stay and the people at the front desk was very nice we couldn't find our room the lady on the Friday night shift was really helpful and nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your Great Comments, We can't wait until your return to the Island. More

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was clean, roomy, and nicely furnished. Didn't smell moldy or dirty, like another place I stayed at a couple of years ago. The bathroom was clean, had plenty of towels, and having a small microwave and refrigerator was also a nice touch. Negatives would be the morning coffee (too weak) and pedestrian pastries. Might not be a bad idea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Continental breakfast(4)
  • CUSTOMER SERVICE(4)
  • Very clean(3)

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 2008-2010. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and new carpet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desoto Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.