We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cloister at Sea Island

100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Special Offer
10% Off Best Avail Rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Cloister at Sea Island
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cloister at Sea Island
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    54
    18
    15
    8
See reviews for
160
164
8
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (93)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Cloister at Sea Island
See the most recent reviews
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have been wanting to visit this hotel for years!! It is a gorgeous hotel with beautiful grounds, After a 12 hour journey, we arrived at the hotel valet and as I was taking my purse out of the back seat, a guest decided to drive a golf cart into the back door, right where I had been standing. All we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent visit to Sea Island. We strive to deliver an outstanding experience for every guest and are disappointed that we did not achieve this during your stay. We are also sorry that you suffered an unfortunate accident while with us. We have tried to contact you to discuss your... More 

Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband took me to the Cloister for a long b'day weekend. When we arrived we were welcomed with warmth & big smiles. We had reservations for a King suite, but when we checked in we were told none were available. We were offered a double queen corner room suite with a discount, since the mistake was theirs. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Cloisters is beautiful, elegant and regal. Extremely clean, service is excellent. Enjoyed the spa, the gym, the beach, pools and restaurants. The beds are exceptionally comfortable. My only complaint is the constant nickel and dimeing. There is a charge for almost everything at a quite expensive resort. $20 for bicycle use, $20 for most exercise classes, $35 resort fee,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We actually won a trip here for 4 nights and we were so excited because we were planning on coming here in a year or so. We stayed in a Villa and it was Ocean View. It was beautiful but not being next to a construction site where you heard noises all day and starting from early morning. The Villa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit to Sea Island. Please accept my sincere apology for the service issues you experienced. It is our commitment to provide our guests with the finest experience in the resort industry and hope you give us another opportunity. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to make your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

From arrival to departure we had such a great trip! The staff was courteous, the facility is very well maintained and the food and service is excellent!!! We will continue our annual Fathers Day trip to The Cloister on Sea Island for years to come!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband treated me to a stay at The Cloister at Sea Island for my birthday. It was the best birthday ever! We stayed in the main building in a petite suite. From the moment we arrived, when they greeted us by name as they opened our car doors, until we left with a big hug for Bruce the doorman... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sea Island as your Birthday destination. I sincerely appreciate your warm compliments regarding your stay. I hope to welcome you and your husband back to The Cloister soon! More 

Charlotte
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unfortunately, we only had one night to spend on our way back up from Florida, so we did not enough time to do all the things we would have loved to do. Next time we will stay longer and bring the family! What a beautiful place, the grounds are just immaculate, everything just "flows"! We loved all the gorgeous clay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RRiess, General Manager at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you for being a recent guest at Sea Island. I appreciate you taking the time to write regarding your experience at our resort and am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your compliment on our flower pots. I am happy to hear you are enjoying yours as well. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely without a doubt the best place we have ever stayed in.... We were cocooned in utter luxury from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The rooms, buildings and architecture is just outstanding and impeccably well kept... Little golf carts ferrying guests from their rooms to the beach club or restaurant just add to the ambiance. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Cloister was a wonderful experience. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful, the food superb. However, the Staff is The Bomb!! They are a complete representation of Southern Charm with their outstanding manners and graciousness including the landscaping crew even if they are hanging from a tree or doing fresh planting. Every encounter was delightful. Not only are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I have been here twice to enjoy the McGladrey Golf Classic and I am hopeful we can make it again this year. The grounds are beautiful and encourage me to keep up my running schedule in spite of the humidity. The staff, though sometime sparse, are very helpful and pleasant. I feel as though they are happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cloister at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Beach Club(23)
  • River Bar(8)
  • Fitness center(4)
  • Main building(3)

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
The Cloister At Sea Island Georgia

1,050 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (257)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (99)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (37)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (776)
Viewed
Amenities (218)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Beach Club Adult Pool (7)
Viewed
Beach Club Pool (22)
Viewed
Black Banks Suite (117)
Viewed
Fitness Center Pool (13)
Viewed
Main Building Suite (71)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (79)
Viewed
Sea Island Suite (92)
Viewed
Standard King Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Water Atrium Spa Pool (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay