We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cloister at Sea Island

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
100 Cloister Drive, Sea Island, GA 31561
Special Offer
10% Off Best Avail Rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cloister at Sea Island
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cloister at Sea Island
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    55
    19
    15
    9
See reviews for
162
167
8
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (510)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (93)
All months
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent a weekend here to attend a wedding. Stayed in a Cloister Suite #7, which was beautifully appointed---lovely parlor, huge bedroom and bath. Smallish (2 chairs & end table) balcony accessible from both bedroom & parlor. Only drawback is balcony looked out on a chimney vent from one of the kitchens, not much view of the marsh. Service was impeccable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had the good fortune to spend 4 nights at the Cloister. The history of Presidential visits and the home of the 2004 G8 Summit. Had dinner one evening in the room where the G8 Summit meetings were held.....neat. The Spa/Fitness area is simply off the charts. The world class golf is equally pleasing especially Seaside course.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I just got back from a 5 day family reuinon at The Cloister and cannot stop raving about it. I traveled with my husband and 6 month old baby and met my mom, brothers and sisters and my nieces and nephews ages 4-21. Its is a great hotel for just about any age. We all had a great time, had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our suite, #305 was absolutely superb in every detail except one. It is located directly over the pool at the Beach Club and the continuous riotous noise from dozens of children (it must have been spring break) was extremely annoying when sitting on the beautiful veranda overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The bed gave the best rest of any hotel I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SSteilen, President at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at The Cloister. I was so pleased to see your positive comments about the service you received from our team and to hear that you would be very happy living at The Cloister. I am also glad your party took advantage of and enjoyed many of the experiences we offer from... More 

Kathleen, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely wonderful. The Cloister at Sea Island is a beautiful resort that offers whatever you would like to do. It's family friendly and would make an excellent place for a honeymoon. Lounge on the beach, golf, biking, walking around the grounds or just relaxing in your beautifully decorated room, double sinks in bathroom, gourmet coffee, even wine glasses also a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the loveliest time for three days at Sea Island, but I'd like to specifically mention my experiences at the spa. My traveling companion and I had facials, and we both felt that we received precisely what our bodies needed. My friend said Brittney found exactly the right spots to concentrate on, and I felt so pampered by Janet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SSteilen, President at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at The Cloister. I am very happy to hear you and your friend enjoyed your experience in our Spa and I will pass your nice comments about your facials to our team members. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the time you spent in our garden atrium, steam sauna, mineral... More 

Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I could not find one concern or complaint with The Cloister. The hotel is located on secure property with considerable professionalism of all staff. Southern charm is alive and well there. The construction of an additional 63 rooms in no way disturbed any of our meetings or activities. The room we had was superb. The bedroom had beautiful with Oriental... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SSteilen, President at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Cloister. I appreciate your kind words about our food and guest services and are pleased you were able to experience some of the many activities we offer. I look forward to having you and others from your group return with their families in the near... More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looks like there many positive reviews and I am grateful so many enjoyed it here. We just had to try this place out - a quick jet away to the Saint Simons airport and Sea Island is 5 min away...we left, however, highly disappointed. Excellent customer service, however; I wouldn't call it "unmatched" (as many say). Typical 5-star resort treatment-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SSteilen, President at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The Cloister. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations, however, we are glad you enjoyed your vacation. You are right that we are a wonderful place for families. Having long time guests return with their children and grandchildren is one of our many traditions. Even though... More 

Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed @ The Cloister at Sea Island for TLMI Converter meetings. Absolutely loved it there! We stayed at the beach club which was excellent and I have to say, if you have kids, there is more than enough for them to do! Numerous pools, ocean, game room, cafe dining and many scheduled, supervised kid activities! For us older folks, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

This property is stunning, and truly does have all of the amenities you could imagine. My husband and I joined my family here for a week last August. The entire family was housed in the Beach Club portion of the hotel. There was quite a bit of confusion with our rooms when we first arrived. The ones we were given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SSteilen, President at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at The Cloister. We appreciate you taking the time to comment about the experience, and I sincerely apologize for the miscommunication about your room. We are pleased your family enjoyed several of our activities during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Island in the near future. More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Beach Club(23)
  • River Bar(8)
  • Fitness center(4)
  • Main building(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,058 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (257)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (99)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (776)
Viewed
Amenities (218)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Beach Club Adult Pool (7)
Viewed
Beach Club Pool (22)
Viewed
Black Banks Suite (117)
Viewed
Fitness Center Pool (13)
Viewed
Main Building Suite (71)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (79)
Viewed
Sea Island Suite (92)
Viewed
Standard King Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Water Atrium Spa Pool (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question