We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The York House Inn

Hotel website
416 York House Road, Rabun Gap, GA 30568
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The York House Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The York House Inn
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Weaverville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stan & Christine did good. They met and exceeded the needs of our large group. The Inn itself was delightful, the rooms bright and well decorated. The late afternoon wine and cheese hour hit the spot. We would stay again when in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your group. So happy everyone had a nice stay. Stan More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This B&B was below our expectations based on past experiences with other B&Bs. The room chairs were outdoor wooden yard chairs that needed paint, no AC in room, even though listed on website, drawers in chest could not be used -- did not open or close, and barking dog next door. Was awful and food marginal. Only good things was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Wow We are so sorry that your stay was not pleasant for your hiking group, for which the others in your group left some very nice reviews. We are sorry that you did not like the guest room, and if advised we would have been pleased to move you to another room. It is strange as many guests relish the... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hosts were very gracious and the food looked fantastic. Due to the short visit and other commitments, couldn't take advantage of the evening wine and cheese social or the breakfast. Room was comfortable and convenient to downtown Clayton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry your stay was so brief! We love it when guests can stay and linger, so we are sorry you missed the full experience. Perhaps on another visit you can socialize at our "happier hour" or spend some time just rocking on the porch. Stan More 

Weaverville, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Putting up a large group of hikers for several days who wanted an early breakfast one morning, the ability to add a few friends to the evening wine and cheese, and even have a catered dinner brought in would send most genteel B'n'B owners running. Stan and Christine not only rose to the occasion but were the personification of hospitality.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. It was a pleasure having your group with us! More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn. Stan was very accommodating and made sure my breakfasts were gluten free. We stayed two nights and I slept great! The inn was very quiet, and the weather was warm enough that the hubby and I could sit outside on the porch to sip a little wine (purchased from 12 Spies, just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

We were happy to have you as our guests! I was glad you were happy with your stay getting away from the kids for awhile. Sometimes in this shoulder season the activity level is slow paced in the evening, but as I recall you were able to do some wineries during the day and a nice dinner in Clayton. Keep... More 

Winder, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Our room was very nice and clean. The Inn was overall comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious. The owners were very nice but I felt the southern hospitality was missing. I don't like that the animals are allowed to roam the inn and be in direct contact with guest. I like animals but don't feel that is appropriate when running... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Tma67 I am so sorry our cat, or dog do not equate with "Southern Hospitality"! I hope future reviewers note that we do have a cat and a dog, Spooky and Dixie( Dixie of course is very Southern). This is noted on our website. In fact we have a number of guest who request that we be "pet friendly", which... More 

Hope, Alaska
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We were not truly impressed with the communication from the owners!!There animals were allowed to run around jump on the guest and lay all around the furniture.That being said the breakfast was very good and the service was awesome,we had a very quite nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lileazy, I am sorry your stay was not to your expectations. As I recall you initially booked over expedia, and then called to confirm the room you desired. I am unsure what communications were expected? If our cat didn't display the Southern Hospitality, we are sorry for her bad manners...but were happy you found our food and atmosphere to... More 

Fort Morgan, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We took a quick anniversary weekend trip to The York House Inn. It would have been wonderful to spend more time at the Inn and in the area. There is so much to explore. Stan is a great host. The breakfast was delicious and presented perfectly. We enjoyed visiting with other guest. Next visit we’ll make sure we plan some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Sorry the weather wasn't more cooperative. I trust you will continue to enjoy the flavor of the Georgia mountains with the case of wine from the three local vineyards! More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Happier hour was a nice touch to our stay, and meeting other guest. The inn keepers are very nice people.The room was big, clean and comfy. We look forward to another stay in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. More 

Snellville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

This is a great bread and breakfast. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the Inn is super clean. The York House is unique with a history that was a real surprise. The location is wonderful. It is a great get together place for a group of 20 or less. If you are there for the weekend, you will enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased that you found so many adventures in the beautiful NE Georgia mountains. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question