We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Madison hotels

Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1041 Ramada Way, Madison, GA 30650
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
45%
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Madison
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014
bellalovesme Columbus, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (62)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (16)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    10
    13
    14
See reviews for
11
20
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped in on our way home after driving all day. Expected a nice place due to Wyndam name. Pretty lobby and very nice woman working at the desk. First room had a broken handle on the toilet and she put us promptly into a new room. Air conditioner was off and the room was hot. Ran all night on high... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

It is good to hear from you, though I am very sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy the service, accommodations, and hospitality that we hold to such a high degree of importance in our hotel. The many inconveniences that you experienced are understandably very frustrating and I do hope that you will return and that your next... More

Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was trying to stay at this hotel for a wedding in the area, which the bride and groom had blocked off 20+ rooms for their guests. It took me multiple times of talking to multiple people to even book a room for ONE night. We made a phone reservation with the manager and left him my CC# and information.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our customer service and that our rating for your experience is so low due this terrible misunderstanding. During such large changes, many inconveniences occur that we must be prepared to address and circumvent where possible. I do hope that you were ultimately able to retrieve the fee unfairly... More

Ridgeville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were traveling on a holiday weekend and needed a place to stay. A clerk at a hotel with no room called numerous places and finally found us the Wingate. It was our first time at a Wyndham property and it was a disappointment. Our room was spacious, but extremely hot and even with the AC on full power all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay. It is our primary aim to give you a five star experience and it is disheartening to hear that this is not the impression we left you with. We hope you'll return someday to see how we are growing and evolving through such valuable customer feedback. More

Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was one of my worst hotel experiences to date. I did not have many lodging options, as many other locations were sold out, so I thought as this was a Wyndham it would be fine. I would not be in the hotel that long anyhow, just to sleep, ect. Upon arrival, the door knob to my door was broken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

I regret to read that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory due to issues which should have been promptly attended to. Know that your voice is of tremendous importance to us and we are confronting each of the issues that you mentioned to ensure that no guest has this experience in the future. Thank you for sharing your... More

Zephyrhills, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

04/20 - 22/2014 I traveled with my husband on business to a marina in Buckhead, GA and chose this Wingate based on their fitness room and hot tub availability and the Wyndham reputation. The hotel is very difficult to find, the GPS takes you to a Quality Inn, so we had to call the hotel. Spoke with a friendly young... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you give us a... More

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had a horrible room at this Wingate coming back from the Master's Golf tournament. No rooms closer than 100 miles away. We were bitten in a lumpy bed by either bed bugs or fleas. Bathroom had been remodeled and was good but everything else needed to be replaced. A chair and ottoman in the room needed to be hauled to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate that you've taken the time to point out the possibility of a pest problem and we want to assure you that we take such comments very seriously. We have not found evidence of fleas or bedbugs in any of our guest rooms, but we thoroughly inspected and treated the rooms... More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I recently stayed at the Wingate in Madison, GA. I was on a business trip to do a site inspection at our Caterpillar Plant in Athens, but heard great things about the quaint town of Madison. I stayed at the Wingate in town (I usually stay at Hilton hotels) and was treated like royalty. The girl at the front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. We are all pleased to learn we were able to make you feel at home and that our services and accommodations lived up to your expectations. We hope you're looking forward to your next stay as much as we are! More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Thanks to this location, I will never stay at a Wyndham property again in life. From the initial check-in to check-out we received rude service, no service and no attempt at customer service. When you book the hotel room, they conveniently inform you that you must pre-pay upon check-in and they need your license plate number. In addition, the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

I regret to discover that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and services during your most recent stay. I want you to know that a number of important changes are being made to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel and that your voice is very important in this effort. Thank you for sharing your experience. More

Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This property apparently was a Red Roof Inn - in the past, the Wingate hotels I've stayed at have been extremely nice, so that is why we stopped here a couple nights ago. We were surprised to find that it just felt old. Seemed like nobody was there - although we were told that the first floor was totally filled.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWingateMadison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. Reviews like yours are extremely helpful in our ambition to continuously improve upon the guest experience and I hope you'll return to see how we grow and evolve. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area

Address: 1041 Ramada Way, Madison, GA 30650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Madison / Lake Oconee Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate Inn Madison Hotel Madison

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer