We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Chatuge Lodge

653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    73
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
78
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
There are newer reviews for Lake Chatuge Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice spot near the lake. Go for the King Suite on the back and you will have a gorgeous view of the lake - in the fall it is lovely. Chophouse nextdoor is excellent, and there is a cheap breakfast buffet place downtown that is awesome and cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here at Lake Chatuge Lodge. The Chophouse is a terrific restaurant that is located here on our property. Our lakeview rooms offer a terrific view of beautiful Lake Chatuge. All rooms have a private balcony with 2 chairs and a table so you can... More 

Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This olden hotel has a great setting with a peaceful view of the lake below. But as you sit on the patio enjoying the review you notice that the landscaping is not cared for and the footing on the gutter downspout has fallen to the ground. These observations unfortunately define the overall condition of the property. Serious room upgrades are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to thank you for your review but I am going to take the time to address a few of your comments below: Our landscaping is cared for every week by a landscaping contractor. I'm sorry you felt it wasn't cared for but we do have a company take care of this every... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Roomy was clean and a little dated but view of lake was fantastic. Check in staff not very friendly but room was reasonably priced and clean which are more important. There is a free breakfast but the beverages didn't seemed to be well stocked....no juice but overall would recommend a stay here. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I will talk to our front desk staff to see why you felt they weren't friendly. I know that they always try to be accommodating and friendly with our guests at all times. I'm sorry you didn't get this feeling from them. Our lakeview... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We booked the King lake view room for a week-end in the area. The view from the balcony was very nice. Unfortunately the view from the room was impeded by a curtain that is literally unmovable on the door so you could see from the small window out but not the door which would have been nicer. The room itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall experience here at Lake Chatuge Lodge but I'm sorry to see that the atmosphere wasn't to your liking. I would like to take a second a respond to a few items in your review. All of the room do offer a private balcony with a table and... More 

Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

We enjoyed three nights at the Lodge and particularly enjoyed our lakeside room with a nice little balcony to have a morning cup of coffee or evening glass of wine. Overall, the facility was in pretty good shape, not fancy but clean and comfortable. The gentleman on the front counter could use a little help in the customer relations arena... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your lakeview room. All of our rooms offer a private balcony with a table and 2 chairs for our guests to enjoy a cup of coffee and a drink of their choice at nighttime. Our breakfast on the weekend does offer 3 hot items in addition to... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel and are glad we stayed here. We arrived on Memorial day, and the hotel was nearly empty as most people spend the weekend here, so we had a very quiet experience, with only a few other rooms occupied. The staff were all friendly, especially the girls that worked at night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. I loved the detailed descriptions about the lobby and the surrounding roads in our area. Very true description. Our staff tries to be helpful with all of our guests and help them in anyway they need. I will pass along your comments to all of our staff to let them know... More 

La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

As I do when training horses...I like to dispense with the negative first and move to the positive. The breakfast at the Lodge was completely disappointing!! I've honestly had better chow at a campfire in the middle of NOWHERE. The only good thing I can say about the breakfast is; the coffee was hot and tasty and the fruit was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy our breakfast. We offer 3 hot items along with our continental on the weekends and we get a lot of compliments. I hope to talk to you so that you can tell me how to improve it more to your liking. Our large wood burning fireplace in... More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This was our second visit to this lodge and it was a much better experience. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was tasty but very crowded of course it was a holiday. The location was excellent with the lake nearby. The only problem was that the blanket under the spread was full of holes so they may want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to see that you chose us again for your hotel of choice during your visit to our wonderful area. Thank you for mentioning how great our breakfast is on the weekends. We try very hard to put out a breakfast that meets all of our guests appetite. Our location is ideal for anyone... More 

Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Normally this lodge is,perfect but this trip was a little annoying... When I booked the room I asked to,have 2 queen rooms.... If those were queen beds I would be surprised. Secondly, both of the bed frames were broke and so we both had bad back aches after two notes of sleeping on them. Third, the air conditioning switch was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

I appreciate your review. I would like to take the time to comment on it now. All of our rooms with 2 queen beds have 2 queen beds in it. They are standard/traditional size queen beds. As far as the bed frames being broken, I took note of it at checkout and we didn't find any broken bed frames in... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We stayed for one night and stayed in the "presidential suite." For a forty one dollar difference for a standard room and traveling with two children we figured, why not? We could use the extra room! The room is comfortable and clean,all that you would want but not extraordinary and a little dark. Has a private balcony which is nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, our Presidential has a larger balcony than the other rooms as well as an upgraded bathroom. Our housekeeping staff tries hard to keep the entire hotel very clean. I'm sorry to see that you thought the room was too dark.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
2.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
23.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
4.1 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay