We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Chatuge Lodge

653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Lake Chatuge Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    75
    40
    7
    5
See reviews for
43
80
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel due to its proximity to the Anderson Music Hall at the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds. The Music Hall is less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel. It's really nice beating the traffic! Rooms were very clean and well kept. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Everything was in working condition and they have plenty of towels!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Approaching the front door there is limited parking. All the employees are professional and nice. Each floor has a coke machine (75 cents) ice machine and a washer and dryer (coin operated). The lobby has a huge sitting area with a fire place that has left the lobby area with a faint scent of a burnt fire. The lobby also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were charged a different amount than our online confirmation showed and hotel refused to refund the difference. The sheets and bedspread were dirty. VERY outdated hotel as far as carpet and wallpaper, making the hotel look unclean. The view is about the only think this hotel has going for it and unfortunately doesn't make up for the rest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize if you feel you were charged a different amount than your confirmation said when you booked your reservation. We tried explaining to you several times that the State of Georgia passed a new law this year that went into effect July 1, 2015. This new law requires all hotels to collect a $5 State Fee per night that... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this based on some good reviews. It is OK -nothing special and the front desk was short and unhelpful. As we asked some questions of things to do and eat--they seemed as if we were bothering them. The rooms are average and the AC works--so thats a plus. We skipped the breakfast--nothing but boxed and reheated items. Seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plano, Tx
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights while at a family gathering. The room was large, comfortable, and quiet. We had a microwave and refrigerator. The building had bee there a while but was well maintained and updated. We did not have a lake view. Those were on the other side of the building but still had a nice view from the second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a great family reunion. Thank you for noticing that we constantly upgrade our hotel and try to keep it extra clean. Breakfast is included in your stay and on the weekends it has 3 hot items added to it as well. Our hotel offers 104 rooms but only a quarter of them are lakeview rooms. The... More 

Atlanta area
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spent two nights. Our stay was very pleasant with no problems. This lodge is next door to the fairgrounds so it is very convenient for a trip to the Georgia Mountain Fair. The complimentary breakfast was also a nice convenience. Our mattress was very firm and supportive, better than my mattress at home so we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm happy that you found the hotel to be very clean. Our housekeeping staff works tirelessly to make sure all rooms and the whole hotel are extremely clean. I'm sorry that your couch had some stains on it. As of this week, just replaced a few of the couches in the room so I'm... More 

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two nights on the second floor with a lake view. The view was worth the upgrade. We would have been disappointed with our stay if we had to stay in a room in the front. The view was almost everything! The room was clean, as was the bathroom but the whole facility could use a major facelift. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am sorry that we couldn't get an excellent review but we will continue to try to get that excellent review before your next stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the view of Lake Chatuge from your lakeview room. I'm happy that you found the hotel to be very clean. Our housekeeping staff... More 

georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Attended Georgia Mt. Fair this week and couldn't have had a more convenient and nice place to stay. We had room on third floor with a wonderful view of Lake Chatuge greeting us in the morning. Such a serene, picturesque place with nice amenities. Staff was pleasant and helpful. We skipped the continental breakfast but plenty other people were taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

What a terrific review. Thank you for that. We look forward to the Georgia Mountain Fair every year. So many great performers, artists, and carnival rides for the kids. We are located next do to the fairgrounds and you can walk from our parking lot to theirs so it is very convenient. I am happy that you were pleased with... More 

Southwest, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights on the first floor. Had a lake view and the room was nice and clean. The bathroom has a large counter area around the sink which I like, so plenty of room for everything. The WiFi was not strong enough to connect in our room, but did work in lobby. So don't assume it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that your overall experience wasn't effected by a few small problems that you encountered during your stay. Our WiFi should be available in all of our rooms so I will contact our internet company and see what is going on with it. We offer a standard continental breakfast during the week and... More 

Griffin, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Paid a bit extra for a lake view room and the view was nice even from a first floor room. Positives: Hot fresh coffee always available in the lobby; Oven fresh cookies in the lobby mid afternoon; Room was clean; Comfortable lobby with nice lake view and comfortable couches to sit around on. Negatives: Wi-Fi did not work in room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I see that you had a few positives and few negatives. I hope to expand on a few of your comments. I apologize for the WiFi not working in your room. We do pay a company to be available 24 hours per day to help our guests connect if they are unable too on their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
2.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
23.2 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
4.1 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay