We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Chatuge Lodge

653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Add Photo

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    64
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
70
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel and are glad we stayed here. We arrived on Memorial day, and the hotel was nearly empty as most people spend the weekend here, so we had a very quiet experience, with only a few other rooms occupied. The staff were all friendly, especially the girls that worked at night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. I loved the detailed descriptions about the lobby and the surrounding roads in our area. Very true description. Our staff tries to be helpful with all of our guests and help them in anyway they need. I will pass along your comments to all of our staff to let them know... More 

La Porte, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As I do when training horses...I like to dispense with the negative first and move to the positive. The breakfast at the Lodge was completely disappointing!! I've honestly had better chow at a campfire in the middle of NOWHERE. The only good thing I can say about the breakfast is; the coffee was hot and tasty and the fruit was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy our breakfast. We offer 3 hot items along with our continental on the weekends and we get a lot of compliments. I hope to talk to you so that you can tell me how to improve it more to your liking. Our large wood burning fireplace in... More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to this lodge and it was a much better experience. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was tasty but very crowded of course it was a holiday. The location was excellent with the lake nearby. The only problem was that the blanket under the spread was full of holes so they may want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to see that you chose us again for your hotel of choice during your visit to our wonderful area. Thank you for mentioning how great our breakfast is on the weekends. We try very hard to put out a breakfast that meets all of our guests appetite. Our location is ideal for anyone... More 

Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Normally this lodge is,perfect but this trip was a little annoying... When I booked the room I asked to,have 2 queen rooms.... If those were queen beds I would be surprised. Secondly, both of the bed frames were broke and so we both had bad back aches after two notes of sleeping on them. Third, the air conditioning switch was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

I appreciate your review. I would like to take the time to comment on it now. All of our rooms with 2 queen beds have 2 queen beds in it. They are standard/traditional size queen beds. As far as the bed frames being broken, I took note of it at checkout and we didn't find any broken bed frames in... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night and stayed in the "presidential suite." For a forty one dollar difference for a standard room and traveling with two children we figured, why not? We could use the extra room! The room is comfortable and clean,all that you would want but not extraordinary and a little dark. Has a private balcony which is nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, our Presidential has a larger balcony than the other rooms as well as an upgraded bathroom. Our housekeeping staff tries hard to keep the entire hotel very clean. I'm sorry to see that you thought the room was too dark.... More 

Byron, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended the North Georgia EggFest on May 15 and 16. You can walk from the hotel to the N. Georgia Fairgrounds. This hotel was ok. Nothing extra. Our couch was dirty and worn. The breakfast was fair. While we might stay here again, I could easily be convinced to check other places. No real problems, just nothing extra.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

I thank you for your review of the hotel. We always enjoy the Big Green Eggfest that comes every year. The food is always so terrific. I'm sorry that nothing stood out for you during your stay. I hope that you will contact me to let me know what we can do to make your stays more memorable. I apologize... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was wonderful. Rooms were clean and homey. Staff were always helpful and attentive and went the extra mile to ensure our comfort during the stay. Would love to go back for a longer time. Look forward to my next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel and your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed everything. Our staff always tries their best to accommodate all of our guests. Our housekeeping staff tries to go that extra mile to make sure all of our rooms are extremely clean. Thank you again for your glowing review and I hope that you... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We were looking for a place to stay near the Towns County Park where we wanted to see the Rhododendrons in bloom. Lake Chatuge Lodge is in walking distance so we booked a room for two nights. Well maintained with a friendly staff. I have a strong aversion to duvets on hotel beds. They make no sense since you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I'm glad that you like our triple sheet bedding that we do here on all of our beds. I'm excited to see that you like to go "green" and take the steps. All of our stairwells offer windows to look out at the surrounding scenery. We do offer lakeview rooms and as you mentioned... More 

Green Cove Spri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

King room on lake side - room was very nice - very clean. Private balcony overlooking lake. Front desk very helpful, very nice. Breakfast - not much to brag about. Some repairs, cleaning will need to be done - mildew under roof hadn't been addressed in quite a while, interior corridor door coming apart - but room was great as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

I appreciate the great review you left about our wonderful hotel. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your private balcony from your lakeview room. All of our rooms offer a private balcony with a table and 2 chairs for our guests to enjoy during their stay. As far as the repairs you mentioned, we are always updating and repairing... More 

Chapin, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

This was a great alternative to the chain hotels. The lodge had a great lodge feel and was in a good location. we had a balcony off of our room and we could enjoy the cool morning air. When we checked in we were greeted by a desk clerk who had to look up from his iPad and appeared bothered.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had some problems during your checkin. I will address with the front desk there isn't to be personal use of electronic devices while at work. I apologize for this, it is very unprofessional. We do from time-to-time have weddings in the hotel and sometimes the lobby is closed for a private function... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay