We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
101 Edelweiss Strasse, PO Box 1178, Helen, GA 30545-0405
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    30
    22
    11
    41
See reviews for
50
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gonna try and make this short & sweet. (Not very sweet) 1. To begin with, we were sent to an incorrect room. It was under construction and a mess. Secondly, they sent us to the correct room with keys that were inactive. After the third try we finally got into our room. 2. We couldn't find a channel on TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that you experienced some lapses in service as well as some housekeeping and maintenance problems with your room. We take pride in our hotel, and your experience is unacceptable to me. We’re working to solve the problems you experienced and to provide a consistently great guest experience. We’ll do much better for... More 

Savannah, Ga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here before and it is a good average hotel that is good for the price. This trip when we got back to the room Saturday about 4 the room had not been cleaned and there where people waiting for their rooms to be clean so they could check in. Shortly after that the owner, his family, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words and for being so understanding of the staffing issue we experienced during your stay. We’re happy to do whatever it takes to make sure guests have a nice experience, and I regret that some guests were delayed in getting to their rooms. This issue has now been resolved, and we... More 

Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another great stay, this is the only hotel we stay at in Helen. The price can't be beat, it isn't a valet style hotel or butler/maid to cater to all your needs style hotel. If you need all that then you might want to stay home. Out of all the times we have stayed here, we only had one bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
karenhill87
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there August 1. Check-in time on Saturday was 4pm, and we arrived just before 6 with our kids -- hot and tired from a mountain river outing. There was a fair amount of disorganization at the check-in process -- they only had one computer, there was a long wait, they gave me someone else's drivers' license instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. Your experience with poor service is unacceptable to me, and I take full responsibility. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize that we let you down in this way. I have already taken action to make sure a similar situation does not happen again. I hope you will soon give us... More 

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, good price. Just need some maintanence and help. Very convenience if you like water activities (right behind of a waterpark and tubing site). Helen is worth the trip. So many activities and places to visit. We had a great time!.

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased that you had a generally good experience with us, but I’m very concerned that we didn’t completely live up to your standards or expectations. We take great pride in our hotel, and I hope that shows. We’re also always working to get better. I hope you will give us another chance and... More 

Mt. zion, Ga
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our check in time was 4pm, the room was not ready until 8:30pm. We rode our bikes up there and were extremely sweaty by the time we got there. We were unable to get showers until 8:30 and most of the shops close at 9. The staff was pretty nice but the owner seemed like he did not care at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. I’m terribly sorry about the unusual circumstance that delayed the availability of some rooms on the day of your visit. This was a one-time incident and not a reflection of how we usually do business. I take great pride in our hotel and in meeting the needs of many kinds of guests, and I sincerely... More 

Fernandina Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We stayed here after leaving Alpine Valley inn that was eaten up with roaches and parasites. The room was clean, big and the beds were comfortable. Wourld stay there again ! The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m glad we were able to accommodate you when another hotel let you down. I’m so pleased that you would stay with us again, and I hope you have the opportunity to do that soon. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. I’m... More 

Glennville, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

had 2 tv's in room- the working one was 19 inch. We found a flea on us. It was he leas expensive but the experience wasn't great. The free breakfast ended at 9 am. It was not the worst but not great. The bathroom is very small. The room did have a microwave and little frig. We had 4 adults... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible experience here, and we’re working toward complete satisfaction of all... More 

Buford, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

My reception here was cold and uninviting. I arrived 2 hours earlier than the 4 p.m. check-in with a prepaid reservation. I was told to come back at 4 p.m. I asked where I could wait until then (no car) and was told to wait outside under some trees. It was 90+ degrees. In all of my travels I don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I’m very sorry we could not accommodate your request for early check-in. We simple will not provide a room to a guest that hasn’t been cleaned properly. I also apologize that no better waiting area was available to you. We take pride in providing a great guest experience, and I understand how this experience... More 

Rising Fawn, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I got married on a Saturday and we decided to go to Helen for a night for our honeymoon. We stayed here at the Econo Lodge and were highly impressed. We were late getting in because of the wedding. It was around 10:30 that night. Even though it was late the staff was still more than welcoming. Kirby actually had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#4 of 17 in Helen
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 17 in Helen
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#9 of 17 in Helen
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay