We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
101 Edelweiss Strasse, PO Box 1178, Helen, GA 30545-0405
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Husband and I just wanted somewhere clean and affordable to rest after touring Helen. It's definitely adorable but I would have much rather spent more money for somewhere else. The only pros: nice location. Right across street from water park and back road to avoid traffic. Cons: smelly room, air conditioner sounds like plane taking off, killed a big the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikayla K
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the... More 

Fort Valley, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

The hotel is old and dated but it was clean and quiet, except for the smell of stall cigarette smoke but a can of odoban spray fixed that. the beds absolutely SUCK...i have slept on on softer concrete, They were so bad we left the hotel at 3am and drove 3 hours home. We don't plan on staying at this... More 

Helpful?
Thank equalls31
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations because you didn’t like the bed in your room and there were some other issues. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This is an older built motel but had been updated some; it was clean. Pretty much everything was just average - nothing special but nothing bad either. The beds was ok - not pillow top. The pillows were a bit too soft for my preferences. There is a water park right behind the motel so very convenient to that. Downtown... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased that you had a generally good experience with us, but I’m very concerned that we didn’t live up to your standards or expectations. We take great pride in our hotel, and I hope that shows. We’re also always working to get better. I hope you will give us another chance and see... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Thank you for your services!! We got very late You are very kind people!! Clean Room and Cozy. Thanks!! I enjoyed stayed in the Hotel. Clean beds and bathroom. If We back again we will stay in this hotel. Manager very kind.

Helpful?
Thank Lina H
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m so pleased that you would stay with us again, and I hope you have the opportunity to do that soon. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. I’m glad we could satisfy you, as we do so many others each day. Thanks... More 

Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Our room was on the side facing the waterpark. In the summer this would be a great location if you were wanting to go over to the park. The room was clean and odor free. Service was very friendly and prompt. Breakfast in the morning wasn't fancy but we had plenty to eat and it was good :) Close location... More 

Helpful?
Thank laurel w
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind words about our clean, comfortable and friendly hotel with plenty of amenities. We take serving our guests very seriously and are very pleased that we met your needs so well. I hope you will tell others about our property and stay with us again the next time you’re in town. We appreciate the opportunity... More 

Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Helen is a small town in the mountains of Georgia and all of the hotels are older. I realized this was a budget property, but I had to clean the room before we would stay in the room. I doubt the sheets had been changed from the prior guest - we brought our own pillow and slept on top of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lois V
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Beware. This hotel is beyond bad. We booked through Booking.com and arrived to find our room ready around 3pm. We simply dropped off our bags and went to town. When we came back, that is when we realized the horrors. Staibed sheets and mattresses, my mattress had actually collapsed and the locks were broken on the door. We asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flair4GoldBranin
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy, especially when so many others are satisfied each night. We’re always working to make the guest experience better... More 

Ludowici Georgia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Monday afternoon, October 19, 2015 I arrived at the Econo Lodge in Helen, Georgia. Got checked in at the service desk, then went to my non-smoking ground floor room to unload my duffel bag of clothes. The first thing I do is take pics and look at the bed in which I will be sleeping in to see if it... More 

Helpful?
Thank MariefromGeorgia
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience.... More 

Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Check in clerk seemed to be bothered at having to do her job and check me in. Latter when I told her that the bathroom was filthy she refused to do anything about it. Telling me I could take it up with the next person that was coming on duty. She even stated she didn't have time for me. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank ann marie o
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments are very important to us. We rely on guests like you to tell us when we’re doing well and when we aren’t so we can get better. If we let you down, I apologize. We have taken note of these... More 

FL, USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

I would not have chosen this hotel except it was the only one available. It was clean and the staff were very polite. Light Breakfast was included. Only very good because the room is a bit dated and could use a deep cleaning.

Helpful?
1 Thank iqttrvlr
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you in every way. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible experience here, and we’re working toward complete... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#9 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#4 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay