We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Martyn House

Hotel website
912 Flat Branch Rd, Ellijay, GA 30540
The Martyn House

36 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was such a wonderful experience. We took a family trip to The Martyn House, and we didn't really know what to expect from glamping. Upon arrival, we all knew that we were going to have an amazing time. The property is gorgeous, the tents are super cool, and JoAnn and Rick are just the sweetest people. The three dogs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Seriously one of the best vacations we've ever been on. Calming, relaxing, beautiful, and lovely. We simply cannot say enough about our hosts, Joanne, Rick, and all the dogs, cats, and chickens. They are so welcoming and hospitable. You'll be in awe of their warmth. Wish we could have taken Hank (the golden retriever) home with us, but oh well;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Powder Springs, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

We came to Martyn House to celebrate our 21st anniversary. It was a wonderful experience. Rick and Joann were gracious hosts and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We relaxed in the evenings by a wonderful fire. Hank (the Golden Retriever) was a wonderful guide as we walked the property. It was as if he was making sure we didn't get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I have been so looking forward to visiting the Martyn House. We stopped today to take a peak before booking a weekend stay. The owner, Rick, met me in the driveway. As I stepped from the car, two large dogs stood on their hind legs putting their nasty paws all on my chest. The owner said nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jantonelli, Owner at The Martyn House, responded to this review

Every once in a while a guest will mention a great review but recently someone mentioned a review they were going to address themselves since they felt it did not at all give the picture of who we are and what we do here. I have just now read it and as always wonder who was this? You were not... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

First of all let me say that this is a fabulous unique experience. I made these reservations for Oct 31,2014-Nov 2,2014 for reasons to maybe get the benefit of the fall foliage and was a bit to late. But we were greeted by 5 wonderful 4 legged immediate friends, Hank Maya and Grace are beautiful dogs and cats Milo and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Canaveral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We came to the Martyn House for our honeymoon! We wanted unplug after a big weekend and soak it all in! We did not know what to expect since we had never been "glamping" before! All I have to say is "WOW!" We were treated like a King and Queen! We were about an hour late coming all the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My wife and I just got back from our first Glamping experience shared with 2 other couples that we have done "real" camping with in the past. Our kids are older now so we wanted to step up to a little bit more relaxing and upscale outdoor experience and the Martyn House certainly hit the spot! From the moment you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

My boyfriend, Kyle, surprised me for my 30th bday with this amazing glamping trip. We arrived to cheese, fruit, crackers, and champagne on our porch which was so romantic. We stayed in Ridge Roost and had an outside tub which was so awesome! Mrs. JoAnne and Mr. Rick are the epitome of hospitality. I love them! They truly made our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our experience "glamping" here was mediocre at best. While the location and tents were beautiful, the interior left much to be desired. The edge of the bottom of our tent had about a half inch of mildew and the whole tent had that same faint moldy smell during our stay. We were also disappointed by the plastic wine glasses that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
fotoart_10, Owner at The Martyn House, responded to this review

We are sorry about your experience here at The Martyn House. The glasses in the tent are plastic instead of glass because they are often moved from the tents and around the property and we don't want to have any broken glass around the fire pit or on the trails. We tried using real glasses in previous years and had... More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We met 2 other couples for a friend reunion at The Martyn House. It was an amazing experience. First off, JoAnn and Rick are wonderful! They are incredibly hard-working and try very hard to make your stay extra special and fun. The tents are so beautiful and completely outfitted for your comfort. I especially enjoyed the mornings. It was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities