We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Martyn House

Hotel website
912 Flat Branch Rd, Ellijay, GA 30540
The Martyn House
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

First of all let me say that this is a fabulous unique experience. I made these reservations for Oct 31,2014-Nov 2,2014 for reasons to maybe get the benefit of the fall foliage and was a bit to late. But we were greeted by 5 wonderful 4 legged immediate friends, Hank Maya and Grace are beautiful dogs and cats Milo and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Canaveral, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We came to the Martyn House for our honeymoon! We wanted unplug after a big weekend and soak it all in! We did not know what to expect since we had never been "glamping" before! All I have to say is "WOW!" We were treated like a King and Queen! We were about an hour late coming all the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My wife and I just got back from our first Glamping experience shared with 2 other couples that we have done "real" camping with in the past. Our kids are older now so we wanted to step up to a little bit more relaxing and upscale outdoor experience and the Martyn House certainly hit the spot! From the moment you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

My boyfriend, Kyle, surprised me for my 30th bday with this amazing glamping trip. We arrived to cheese, fruit, crackers, and champagne on our porch which was so romantic. We stayed in Ridge Roost and had an outside tub which was so awesome! Mrs. JoAnne and Mr. Rick are the epitome of hospitality. I love them! They truly made our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our experience "glamping" here was mediocre at best. While the location and tents were beautiful, the interior left much to be desired. The edge of the bottom of our tent had about a half inch of mildew and the whole tent had that same faint moldy smell during our stay. We were also disappointed by the plastic wine glasses that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
fotoart_10, Owner at The Martyn House, responded to this review

We are sorry about your experience here at The Martyn House. The glasses in the tent are plastic instead of glass because they are often moved from the tents and around the property and we don't want to have any broken glass around the fire pit or on the trails. We tried using real glasses in previous years and had... More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We met 2 other couples for a friend reunion at The Martyn House. It was an amazing experience. First off, JoAnn and Rick are wonderful! They are incredibly hard-working and try very hard to make your stay extra special and fun. The tents are so beautiful and completely outfitted for your comfort. I especially enjoyed the mornings. It was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We signed up for the romance package as a 50th birthday gift for my wife. We are a happily married couple, but sometimes with our busy lives, children, jobs, family and other interests, there is a tendency to lose touch with the most important person in our lives. This was the perfect place to re-connect. Technically, it is camping but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ellijay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This business now has an espresso bar and bistro with excellent coffee and charming atmosphere located right in downtown Ellijay. Order from blackboard when you arrive and food is delivered to your table. Green and blue Mason jars if you'd like to serve yourself lemon water from the dispenser. Did I mention that the coffee was very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
621 reviews 621 reviews
28 hotel reviews
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Between rain, cold, mud, unruly dogs countered by a smile that lasted my whole weekend meant you could not have a better stay in Ellijay. The Glamping wrap is you have to Experiance relaxing indoors outdoors or vice versa. The temperature was in the upper thirties at night but nestled in our comfy beds with gas heat and warm others... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

i cannot say enough wonderful things about JoAnn, Rick and the Martyn House. We held our wedding there last fall and it was fabulous. JoAnn had every detail thought out, and had many options for us to consider while also allowing us to give our input. She is vey flexible, yet knows all that needs to go in to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question