We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2183 North Decatur Road, Decatur, GA 30033
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I checked in at this hotel at 5:00am on a Monday on recommendation from the hospital staff at Emory, where my aunt was in the ICU. I asked for two nights and was told that check out would be Thursday, so I assumed I was getting an early check in. I double checked this Tuesday night. I was told that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dana L
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest: Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. If a guest checks in before 7AM they are charged for the night before. This policy is comparable to all area hotels. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. I do hope that your friend is recovery... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying in any hotel I usually take off the comforter and just sleep under the sheets (otherwise it's too hot)- as I was doing this at Holiday Inn Express Emory, I noticed that there were small blood spots on the comforter- this is a telltale sign of bedbugs. I travel a lot and know more than I would like know... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Matt P I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations of a great stay. I wish that you had spoken to the front desk or myself regarding your concerns. I am taking your concerns seriously and will make sure that our housekeeping team and maintenance is aware of this matter. This is unacceptable and not what I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

Check in was fast, even if we arrived late into the night. In less than ten minutes, we were in the room and doing laundry😄. The personnel of the hotel were courteous and polite. The room was spacious with queen beds. My son really liked the pool area. Will stay again 😄

Helpful?
Thank frankcanepa
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We thank you for your business and your loyalty to our brand. I am happy to hear that you had a speedy check in process and great experience. We look forward to your next visit with us. Take care, Leslie More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Had to take wife to a medical appointment at Emory clinic. Although we made an advance reservation for a suite and called en-route to make sure that the suite would be available, when we arrived, they had given it to someone else. They did find an alternate handicapped room that worked however it was a disappointment. They were very apologetic... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James H
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Good Day James H, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your full expectation. I wanted to let you know that we do have a Emory hospital rate and if you choose to stay with us again, all you have to do is provide an appointment letter and we will take car of your... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Holiday Inn is generally not my first lodging choice so I was pleasantly surprised by the amenities of this affordable hotel. Though a bit off the beaten path, this property is only 25 minutes ($20 Uber fare) from the both the airport and Midtown Atlanta so it's a great option for travelers looking to avoid expensive in-town hotels. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank drajdiva
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear drajdiva, Thank you so much for your awesome review. I hope that during your travels over the future that you spend more time in our Holiday Inn brand hotels. I'm confident that you will love it and be one of our most valuable IHG Rewards members. Take care, Leslie- GM More 

Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

My husband and I spent a night at this motel on December 9th because I had a very early appointment at Emory Clinic the next morning. While the room was not luxurious, it was comfortable and met all our needs. We enjoyed the wine/appetizers that were served in the lobby at 5. The desk staff was superb in each of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We take all guest concerns very seriously and do our very best to accommodate every guest needs. I am happy to to hear that you did overall have a good experience and hope that we will see you again. Take care, Leslie- GM More 

Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express- Emory numerous times. My mother is a cancer patient at Emory. I booked the rooms in advance and not realizing got the 'pay early and save' option. I didn't realize that you can not cancel these reservations. SO, to make a long story short, my mom's treatment isn't going to be as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christy31548
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Christy31548, I am sorry for your frustration with your early departure. Once a prepaid non refundable reservation has been booked there are no changes or refunds made. I know that this put a damper on your stay with us and I am sorry. I hope that your mother is feeling ok and our thoughts are with you through this... More 

Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

I travel on business weekly and am a Platinum IHG member, I stay loyal to the chain and this particular stay wont change that, but- The building itself seems to be old and room smelt very musty, The 60's would like to have their furniture and carpeting back! and the floors above and below creaked anytime somebody walked across them.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take your concerns very seriously. We just spent 35k in our public space refresh project and now are progressing into refreshing our guestrooms. I am sorry to hear that you and your wife were disappointed in your visit with us. I am glad to hear that our staff made your experience more positive. Take... More 

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

We had no trouble receiving a medical discount for our procedure at Emory, just bringing proof of our appt. We arrived late and checked out early, but the staff we encountered was very friendly. The room was average. We've seen much worse but it could've been better. Mildew around shower, chipped paint, etc. Room was clean but just needs some... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christy L
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business. I hope all went well with your emory visit. We are evaluated our guestrooms and making some updates. Take care Leslie- GM More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

The hotel is fine. It's not great; it's not bad. It's just fine. It's a dated HIE in an okay area of Decatur. The staff was all very friendly. The room showed a lot of wear. The shower had mildew in areas and the bathroom door was chipped at the bottom. The seat on the toilet was loose. You get... More 

Helpful?
Thank cmk4735
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#70 of 176 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay