We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas

Hotel website
135 N. Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Special Offer
Rooms start at $99.00
The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Acworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location couldn't be more perfect and considering this and the fact that the room was spacious, clean, and nicely decorated I consider it a wonderful value. The staff was very welcoming and informative both about the hotel and surrounding area. We stayed here for our first anniversary, and given the chance we'd most definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anderson, SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There's also the comfort, room quality, decor, nicest family run operation, free wi-fi, southern rocking porch, etc. the square is literally a roll down the hill, and parking is steps away. I'll be back to this gem and rest comfortably.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I had the great good fortune of booking the Macguire Suite. When I arrived, the lamps in the living room had been turned on and the fireplace was so inviting. Although I didn't watch any TV, there were large, wall-mounted TVs in the living room and the bedroom. The bedroom was huge even with the king sized bed. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This was a very clean, very updated property literally right off the main square. We stayed in a pretty, spacious room with two beds. The bathroom was elegant, but there was no place to set shampoo or other bath items. I'd hate to wreck the clean lines of the shower, but utility would tell me that I needed one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline A, Owner at The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We have heard from a number of our guests regarding the lack of storage in the shower and have now rectified the issue. There is now plenty of space for soap, shampoo, conditioner and washcloths! If you stay with us again, I believe you will be pleased. More 

McDonough, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Spent the weekend there. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. We stayed in the main building upstairs with its own entrance. The only thing I would have liked to see was curtains covering the windows. The light from the city is able to get by the side of the blinds and is in your eyes all night. Some nice victorian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

My wife and I visited the Dahlonega Square hotel in honor of her birthday and for a getaway. This was our first visit to Dahlonega and found this hotel on line and decided to book here. The hotel is located in the town center and was within walking distance to many activities, restaurants, and entertainment. Since we were driving from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I stayed this past weekend on a girls trip with three other ladies, and we had a great time! The hotel was amazing, and quite honestly, one of the cutest boutique hotels I have had the pleasure of visiting. The staff was incredibly friendly, and more than willing to recommend places to eat and see. The rooms are clean, well-kept,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Bathroom issues, bathroom vent doesn't work well enough sets off smoke sectors. Not a full glass or door on shoer so water goes in floor. No area but small soap dish to sit your stuff. There is a moveable square in floor for drain that if you step on you could get hurt. Floor very slippery because of no floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caroline A, Owner at The Dahlonega Square Hotel & Villas, responded to this review

Shadowaero, You are correct there is no door to the shower, instead it is a walk-in shower… all the rage. You were provided with a comfy bathmat, we do not put shower mats in the showers as these are not very sanitary. The “moveable” square is the drain cover and it does not go anywhere, in fact the cleaning staff... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015 via mobile

Beautiful little hotel in the heart of Dahlonega. Walking distance to restaurants and gold mining museum. Very clean and very comfortable bed. Hosts were very nice and accommodating. Great dinner at Bourbon Street Grille and breakfast at Picnic Cafe. We were only there overnight and did not have time for all the very unique shops. Another time....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dahlonega, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We live in Dahlonega and when family or friends visit, they always stay at Dahlonega Square. Everyone loves it. The staff is always very friendly and rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. The price is reasonable for the quality of the hotel. Dahlonega is a Norman Rockwell painting in real life. The square hasn't changed since the 1800's. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question