We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Columbus B&Bs / inns

Rothschild - Pound House Inn

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 Seventh Street, Columbus, GA 31901
Hotel amenities
Rothschild - Pound House Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rothschild - Pound House Inn to your Saves list
76%
Ranked #1 of 2 Columbus B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Paul H Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
31
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Rothschild-Pound House is beyond compare to any B&B we have encountered. Having stayed at so many, including several treasures on the west coast, I am able to confidently place this B&B at the top of the list. The Victorian homes have been lovingly restored and maintained, creating an old-world atmosphere, a time capsule of times gone by. All of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here this summer on a visit to Columbus. The property and house is beautiful but in need of maintenance. Staff was pleasant overall, although they were hard to reach whenever something was needed, checking in and out, etc. Breakfast very dissapointing in comparison to other B&B's we've stayed at on other places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for finding our property to be beautiful! We have, just today, finished a complete exterior painting of the inn. It really looks fantastic now. Additionally, we have upgraded the baths with subway tile, new fixtures and paint. The guest rooms themselves are being painted and wallpapered in the next week. If you watch our Facebook page you will... More

Sandy Springs, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were 2 couples and stayed in the cottages behind the main house. The main house and cottages seemed well maintained. The house was being repainted so we were stepping over ladders and do think we ought to have been notified and the rate might have been lowered. One couple had painters working on their windows while they were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Hi Phyllis, I'm sorry that I didn't meet you while you were here on Friday night. I would have loved to show you our real butter and decaf coffee. I'm not sure what led you believe that we would not have those things. I purchase every product and I can assure you we use nothing but real butter, cream, flour,... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us stayed and enjoyed our rooms and the neighborhood which is well located. No complaints except for the price the breakfast was tasteless and not comparable to other inns previously experienced. My toast was burnt and our group would have preferred something more gourmet for example fresh rolls or home baked biscuits. The grits lacked, the coffee weak,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and I'm really sorry to hear you were disappointed with breakfast. We usually get rave reviews for the food here. But, there's always room for improvement and I will use all your comments to make sure that we can make... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Had a quick two day stay at this B&B and was very happy. The location is perfect and in walking distance of Uptown and many of the lovely parks. The rooms are huge, and the bed was extremely comfortable. My only issue was there was no information in the room regarding wireless access, I know they have free wifi but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We loved having you with us last week. I am horrified that your bed was overlooked,but am happy that we made up for it in other ways, (even though that's absolutely no excuse!). We are undergoing extensive painting, bathroom refurbishment, new feather beds, pillows, flat screens, etc.. It's a great time to stay with... More

Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have family stay here regularly. They always look forward to their trip! Especially the pancakes and homemade breakfast! The grounds are so relaxing. It was nice to see the outside courtyard where we had breakfast that morning. The housekeeping staff was so friendly! Everything smelled so good when we walked in. We will be back again at the end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. It's experiences like yours that keep us motivated. See you soon. More

Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I don't want to bash the property but it just was not up to par with other B&B's. I will say it still beats staying in a hotel but just was below average for what we expected: Pro's Nice breakfast great location to the downtown area Potentially a beautiful property Not so Pro: There are no phones in the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Mark, I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is always disappointing to hear of an unhappy guest. Our property is almost 150 years old. Sometimes an historic property won't have that same "brand new feel" to it, as say a Holiday Inn would. That being said, a chain hotel would not be listed on the... More

Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Wow! if you have never stayed in a home that was built in the 1800's you should. A lot of history here indeed. We stayed up stairs in the big suite. It has a separate sitting room, fire place, and upstairs porch that are quaint. Many movie stars have been here too which have left really great photos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our inn. It means an awful lot when our guests take the time to post a review. We hope to see you again soon. More

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've been to Columbus several times. I've stayed at the Pound House four times and the Marriott several times. There is no comparison! The Pound House is a beautiful home with a fascinating history. Be sure to look at the pictures of the house being moved to its current location. The rooms are great - their website provides great descriptions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Barbara, Thanks again for your enthusiastic reviews. We love all our guests and it's great when they visit again and again.See you again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I returned to this lovely B&B just last week, after a two year absence. If you have any plans to be in this part of the world (we visit our daughter at Fort Benning) you would be best served staying here. Clean, attractive, convenient, service top notch. The list goes on. Heck, without knowing it, Mamie created... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Brian, thanks for your sweet review. We always love having your family here. One day we will visit you in the great Pacific Northwest! Until then, we look forward to your next trip to Columbus. See you soon, Mamie and Garry More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rothschild - Pound House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothschild - Pound House Inn

Address: 201 Seventh Street, Columbus, GA 31901
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothschild - Pound House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Rothschild - Pound House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothschild - Pound House Hotel Columbus

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay