We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maryculter House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
South Deeside Road | Aberdeen, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Maryculter House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here for a wedding over the weekend and it was a lovely venue with lots of space, nice and friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food! We got checked in a few hours early which was great as we wanted to dump our bags in our room before the wedding started. However, the room really smelled like stale... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim G
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim G Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear your comments on the bedroom you stayed in, we are looking into this and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding, shame you slept in and missed your... More 

Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was here for hogmany, and it was excellent. Considering the very bad floods around at the time, and the problems they had the day before, they were amazing. Lovely room overlooking the river, the food for the hogmany dinner couldn't fault, nor could you fault the service. Breakfast self service but everything you could want. Hope to go back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill B
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Gill B Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay and celebrations for Hogmanay, it was a great evening. We look forward to welcoming you back again this year too. Kind regards Bev Mackinlay Sales Manager More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We had our ceremony and reception at Maryculter House hotel and a meal for 30 the night before. Great food, helpful and accomodating staff and a scenic setting made for a perfect day. The bar was also very well priced with a good selection. The rooms were also clean and nicely furnished. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter P Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed having your pre wedding meal, wedding ceremony and reception at the Hotel. Its nice to hear we made it a perfect day for yourselves, we have a great Team who are always trying to make all of our... More 

Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

IF you want the feel of old Scotland with a very historical setting, this is a must. Great service and exceptional Scottish breakfast.....I have traveled to this destination more than once and it never disappoints.

Helpful?
Thank Hoserisus
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hoserisus Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to welcome you back and pleased you enjoy staying with us in this very historic house and setting. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Bev Mackinlay Sales Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We came to Maryculter hotel for the five course meal and ceilidh last night! It was a fantastic night! Lovely staff and the food was delicious. The ceilidh was also very good. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable! I would definitely come and stay here again, it was a great event!

Helpful?
Thank Colleen A
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

A lovely hotel in great situation. Staff very attentive and a high standard of cleanliness. Not inexpensive and was surprised to see supplements on the breakfast menu except for the full Scottish and the porridge. The full Scottish was excellent but this is the only hotel where I have seen supplements on a breakfast menu. How disappointing.

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John M Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt very well looked after. Sorry to hear you were disappointed to see that we charge a small supplement for a few breakfast items, I think this quite common in a lot of... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

My friends, myself and my other half attended a deal through ItIsOn on 18 Dec at Maryculter House Hotel - the deal was for a 3 course meal, half bottle of wine, disco with overnight stay and breakfast. We were so looking forward to our evening that we couldn't help but be disappointed by the time of our checkout! On... More 

Helpful?
Thank M P
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MP Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear you did not experience our usual high quality guest experience and apologise for that, we will take all your comments on board and speak to the members of staff concerned. I am glad that you enjoyed our Party Night, with... More 

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

We had Christmas lunch with all the trimmings. A big group of us. Yet there were so many staff - they were extremely attentive, friendly and professional. The food was beautifully presented and piping hot. Plenty of it too. Although we didn't expect much, we got a fantastic surprise. Maryculter House Hotel has certainly come up to a new and... More 

Helpful?
Thank HankBrogieLabrador
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HankBrogielLabrador Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas Lunch with all the trimmings, yes the Team always try their best to make guests visits as enjoyable as possible. We have planned lots of new events for 2016 including Burns Nights, Murder Mystery Evenings, a Wine... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel is set in a beautiful location! It sits beside the river Dee and there is a Templar graveyard nearby which is worth a visit! Rooms were good and for the price we paid really good value. Shower was a bit trickesome to use but reception were very helpful and had it fixed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danmc22
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danmc22 Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, yes we are very lucky to be situated on the banks of the River Dee with spectacular views and so much history being linked with the Knights Templar. Thank you for dining in our restaurant the Chefs will be happy... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

Very good indeed, reasonably priced pints and bar snacks, great quality too and plenty, polite, friendly helpful staff, all in all excellent. Will come again if there are deals on; couldn't afford full price though, I'm not in oil.

Helpful?
Thank Shugo3
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shugo3 Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself at the Hotel and you felt you were looked after well. We try to keep our prices as reasonable as we can so guests can come along and enjoy themselves. We currently have lots of offers on so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryculter
3.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
9.9 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
9.5 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#3 of 5 in Banchory
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
9.3 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay