We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maryculter House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
South Deeside Road | Aberdeen, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Maryculter House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    101
    80
    32
    21
    9
See reviews for
53
88
6
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for an overnight stay, dinner, bed and breakfast. Staff all very friendly and helpful and offer of information on the history of the area was very useful and interesting. Booked into Riverview room, was lovely and good size. Went for drink in the bar sat in a very nice wee area overlooking the river. Dinner at night was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went to Maryculter House Hotel for Sunday lunch on 26 July. We used an itison voucher, which provided a main course for 2 persons plus a glass of Prosecco each for a basic price of £9.50 each. The room in which we were seated was pleasantly furnished. We particularly appreciated the generous space allocated to each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear granitemannie Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us recently, yes we are very luck to have such a beautiful setting for our diners to look over the River Dee. I have given your feedback to our Chef with regards to the Yorkshire Pudding... More 

Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is hotel is in a lovely location and we were lucky enough to be upgraded on arrival. The suite that we were given was very spacial and overlooked the river to the side and the gardens at the rear, however the patio door did not close properly so we were unable to use it at our leisure. The biggest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian1958Essex Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear you didn't really enjoy your stay and meals with us recently. The Hotel is a busy wedding venue with its superb location on the banks for the River Dee, apologies if the guests were a little noisy. I hope you... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been here for a family wedding which was wonderful... the location is perfect and the hotel is full of history... We stay for 3 nights and we were a bit disappointed with the rooms. We had a double room for 2 adults and 2 kids and we had a lot o problem with the bathroom : no hot water,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonia R Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while attending the wedding.. Sorry to hear you had problems with the bathroom, you were the first guests to use these bedrooms after their recent refurbishment and there was obviously teething problems which have now... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a very quiet Sunday afternoon with an itison voucher. We were seated at a nice table with a view of the courtyard. The restaurant lacked atmosphere, there was no music or liveliness. We could hear the staff discussing who had ordered what. The inclusive options on the voucher were not explained to us as they have been with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kayleee88 Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with lunch in our Poachers Brasserie recently, we take your comments on board and will look into making improvements. We hope you will return to visit us again soon Many thanks Bev Mackinlay More 

aberdeen scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Stayed the night following a family wedding. The wedding itself was good and the setting very nice. The food was pretty much what you normally get at weddings and was tasty but not amazing. The outside area is pretty scary when you have young children with you as it's very close to the river and there is no barrier to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear babybel Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed yourselves at the wedding and you found the family room and en-suite nice and spacious. We take your comments on board and will look into these to make improvements. Many thanks again and we hope you will visit again soon... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

The Maryculter House is situated by the banks of the river Dee in a wonderful setting.We were very impressed with the medieval guest lounge.Our room had a river view and was most comfortable and very clean.Dinner was exceptional in the characterful dining room as was the breakfast with a vast choice,all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glenparli Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you spent some time in our Residents Lounge, this room dates back to the thirteenth century, yes we are so lucky to have such an historic building and with its location right on the river... More 

West Point, Utah
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

We spent a night at the Maryculter hotel and had a very nice experience. The rooms were a decent size and well maintained. Th breakfast was good but our favorite part of the hotel is the old section of the hotel. It was a fun place to retreat to with it's large fire place and mid evil vibe. Throw in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear roliver67 Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and you had time to relax and take in the history of the Hotel. Yes parts of the building date back to the 13th century and were built by the Knights Templar so lots of history, we are... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

I was planning to stay here for one night during a business trip but for unforseen circumstances I had to cancel my trip and this meant the room at this hotel as well. I tried to inform the people at the hotel what had happened and this was a day before I was due to stay just to note it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KennyWeston Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, we take your feedback very seriously. I have had a look at your booking and found that we actually have not charged your card for your stay. You booked your stay via an Agent and we should have charged your card as you cancelled your... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

We got married on the 30th of May 2015 at Maryculter House Hotel, what a tremendous day and one that we will never forget, fantastic occasion and all staff at hotel contributed to making this a truly special day, a special mention must go to Fay Hardwick who was brilliant both during and leading upto the day. Wonderful location and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beverley M, Director of Sales at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tina & Rob Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day with us, it is always exciting working with couples to try and fulfil dreams, and its great to hear that you had a truly special day. I will make sure all the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryculter
3.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
9.5 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#3 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
9.2 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay