We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beechwood Inn

GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
220 Beechwood Drive, P.O. Box 429, Clayton, GA 30525
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Beechwood Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    157
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
142
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Atlanta,Ga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beechwood is an older building set on a hill, rustic and worn in a good way Front porch is a great meeting spot to make new friends and taste the wine offerings The stand out here is the food, fresh, local.We visited on a Saturday night and enjoyed a wonderful dinner with wine pairing. The chefs do a great job... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review

We are always pleased to help to make special occassion escapes successful and romantic. We are also glad you delighted in Beechwood Inn’s rustic charm. And you are correct, the Beechwood Inn experience is all about our farm to table meals. Our culinary team appreciates your praise. David Darugh Innkeeper More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had nice weekend getaway at the Beechwood Inn. The inn itself is very rustic and dates back nearly a century. It will take you a moment or two to get used to it if you're not prepared for it. One of the first things you'll see upon driving in is a flower bed. Not a flower bed like you're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for noticing and complimenting almost every aspect of Beechwood Inn and our staff. You mentioned Gayle's flower bed, the inn's charm, our daily wine-thirty, our house-made andouille sausage, our Beechwood Inn wines, your hosts, Fortify Kitchen and Bar and our Fortify discount coupon, your room, your walls, your bed, overall cleanliness of the inn, breakfast, the "Wine Cave" where... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Used this Inn as a base for area hiking. The hiking in this area is very nice, with well marked trails. The Inn is old but well kept. Charming would be the right word, and it is set in a bucolic garden. The Inn keeper and his staff are all wonderful and one should make an effort during "wine thirty"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review

Beechwood Inn is historic, and we are proud to have saved her. Glad you found the inn well kept and charming. We spend a fortune each year to keep it that way. We are constantly making improvements and are pleased that it shows. Yes, we are far enough away from the main highway to offer seclusion and privacy in our... More 

Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

It was a wonderful get away midweek!! We had stayed here before. It is so relaxing. Near the local town, but yet away from everything. Beautiful gardens. On arrival, the host provided us beautiful cheese plate and fruit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your return visit. Yes, Beechwood Inn is close to town yet you feel remote surrounded by forest and our 8 acres of grounds. I will pass on to Octavio, our grounds-keeper, your compliments of our gardens. Glad you enjoyed our daily wine-thirty with local cheese and fruit. we look forward to your next visit. David Darugh More 

Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We Visited the weekend of July 4th for our anniversary. I could not have selected a better location. We often stay at select registry properties, and Beechwood Inn is one of the best. My wife was thrilled. Beechwood Inn sits secluded in the trees on a hill overlooking Clayton and Blackrock Mountain. We enjoyed absolutely beautiful accommodations and fabulous meals.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased with your generous compliments of Beechwood Inn, our foods, our grounds, the inn’s décor and your guest room. We are most appreciative of your more personal observations about our gracious, personal and attentive service. John, my wife Gayle, Octavio our grounds keeper, our house-keepers Gina and Christina and me, all work very hard to make every guest... More 

Decatur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Other rooms may be nicer, but the Nantahala room is unpleasant and overpriced. It is musty-smelling and drab. The inn has a nice porch, but Clayton has gotten so over-developed that you hear constant traffic noise. Common areas did not have much light. Breakfasts are nice, but not as nice as the innkeeper thinks they are. We were somewhat disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry for your somewhat disappointing experience. We do value constructive commentary. It is one way to improve our property and service. Had you told us about your concerns while you were here we would have moved you to another guest room. In your personal email to us you said “breakfasts were nice, but were somewhat stingy.” All guests... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

The building is old but well maintained. Our suite was spacious, well furnished and the bed was comfortable. The bath was a little tight but worked just fine. The location is very easy to reach and quite peaceful when you get there. It was very hot so the climate control struggled a bit. Unfortunately we only got to enjoy breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Our whole family rented all the rooms and had 18 people in town to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. The Inn was perfect for giving us all space to enjoy each others company and have clean and comfy places to sleep. Breakfast and Dinner were awesome. The front porch overlooking Black Rock Mountain and Clayton was a beautiful cool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Savannah, GA/ Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

Cute and cozy inn with a secluded location in Clayton. Owner joined us for wine-thirty. Great knowledge of both wine and fresh, farm to table food. Our room was nice, great sheets, nicely updated bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful as was the breeze and view from the front porch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review

Beechwood Inn enjoys a wonderful secluded mountainside location, yet we are only steps from downtown Clayton and fabulous restaurants. And yes, our passion is wine and food; I guess it shows. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and our updated accommodations. Yes, our front porch view is drop-dead gorgeous. We never tire of it. David and Gayle Darugh, Innkeepers More 

Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

My husband and I enjoy staying in B&Bs. We have frequented B&Bs in Highlands, NC, for many years, and we have always "driven through" Clayton on our way to Highlands. At the last minute, we decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary/Memorial Day on May 23. For a change, we checked out B&Bs in Georgia. I have received the Beechwood Inn's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DDarugh, Owner at Beechwood Inn, responded to this review

We are so thrilled Beechwood Inn “diverted” you from your usual visit to Highlands. Clayton is an adorable town in its own right. Annie’s at Allies in Lakemont is a great place for lunch. They advertise “Great Food – Lousy service” – but she is charming and delightful as is her staff. And your praise that Beechwood Inn’s “farm to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
3:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
7.3 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 3 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
4.7 mi away
The York House Inn
The York House Inn
#2 of 2 in Rabun Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rabun Manor
Rabun Manor
#1 of 2 in Dillard
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay