We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1300 Third Street SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Winter Haven
A recent review
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    63
    37
    44
See reviews for
115
19
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall the room was clean and beds nice, breakfast was good, i would say just a little renovarions here and there would make it an excellent hotel :) but yes i would stay again

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The place was rundown, the gym was closed and being used as a storage room. The A/C could not handle the hot Florida weather. Typical hotel beds, felt like I was sleeping on a rock.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Winter Haven hotels

Rhine, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was not what we had expected. When we went into the room the walls were yellow with white streaks. Like stay-puff wiped his hand on it. The furniture bore the marks from the old bolted down tv, and the bulbs above the bed didn't match. There was a picture missing meaning the screws were there but the picture was not.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hollywood Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just spent the night I read a lot of mixed reviews! I was pleasantly surprised the person at the front desk was really great.My room and bathroom were very clean and nice. I will stay there again next time I am here:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear you found our rooms nice and clean and accommodating. We do hope to see you again. More 

Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean and comfortable. Good size pool. Some areas such as fitness room and others were under renovation. Nothing fancy but good value for the price.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are still under-going renovations to be more accommodating and comfortable for our guests. I am glad to hear you were satisfied with our property. Hope to see you again. More 

Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If I could give a 0 I would! I will NEVER book another Howard Johnson. I stayed 10 minutes and then left. I'm celebrating my honeymoon and this hotel was beyond disgusting!! Walked in, no lights. Had to get out our cell phones to figure out why the light switch wasn't working. Once we got the lights synced with the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied. We are an older hotel and have made some changes and are still going through some renovations. We did call out Orkin the next day to spray and he found nothing. Guests have been in that room specifically and found no complaint. You... More 

nashville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Inconvenient access from the main road. Room was clean. We arrived late 10pm and had to register through a bullet proof glass window. Not sure of the neighborhood as music was loud from a vehicle driving around the parking lot several times through out the night. Called service desk to check and see if they can intervene. Music stopped for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. However, their may be some confusion about your reservation. I, myself checked you in early in the afternoon at the front counter. We don't have bullet-proof glass. Our hotel is located off a main road but easily enough to pull into our parking lot. Cars do drive by but we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay