We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Winter Haven hotels

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Third Street SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Winter Haven
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
J.d. W Corydon
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    53
    33
    37
See reviews for
101
14
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Corydon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice property overall. Room was surprisingly large, not some cramped little box. I wish the owner/operator would realize flat screen TVs exist.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay. We are looking into upgrading the TVs. If you're in the area in the future, we hope to see you again. More 

Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this facility from 2/8/15 thru 2/13/15. It's an older facility which definitely needs updating. The staff were amazing though. You couldn't ask for nicer or more accommodating people from the front desk to housekeeping. We had a king size bed, handicap accessible, non-smoking room. I detected no odor in the hallways nor the room. The bathroom had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have already ordered the new mattress for the room you stayed in and it will be changed. We hope to see again. Thank you, More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel deserved a renovation 10 years ago. I can't say how overdue it is. Very very old carpets, dusty blankets. Everyone in our party had a running nose from the dust. Met only one member of staff, a lady who checked us in in the evening and was very efficiently serving breakfast in the morning. Very attentive and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. If you had notified the front desk as soon as possible about having allergies we would have been able to accommodate your stay more efficiently. Again, I apologize. If you would like to discuss this further, you may contact me... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beware of this place. Located on a blue collar industrial strip where you wouldn’t want to leave your vehicle alone overnight if you need think you might need your tires&rims in the morning. The pictures on the website were probably taken in 1952. Dark dingy hallways leading to godforsaken rooms of the same era. The public restrooms on the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize our accommodations were not up to your expectations. Our hotel is located in the city where there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance. The area is safe and secure, we have not had one complaint about it otherwise. The pictures online were recently taken at the... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

I didn't expect much because it was so cheap. I stayed 3 nights. We stayed here because we went to legoland for the weekend. The outside of the hotel looked pretty standard. The hallways were kinda shady but the rooms were really good. The free breakfast was pretty good. Nothing cooked but they had cereal donuts and bagels besides other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and our price affordable. It was our pleasure having you at our hotel and we hope to see you again. More 

Cannon Falls, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We only booked this because the reviews seemed to be pretty fair. When we checked in the room was very unattractive, one bed had been removed and there was a large empty space. That was not too bad but the bathroom floor was dirty (hairs by the tub), and the pillows should have been thrown out months before. We booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your concerns. We're sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Emergencies happen that are beyond our control and we do our best to inform our guests. We hope you give us another chance in the future. Please call us to discuss further. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

hallways were dingy and dirty reception staff was neutral breakfast was like a pig trough I expected low budget at 79.00 a night, but really the hotel was more something I would have expected if I had been paying 29.00 a night. It was the worst low budget hotel I have ever been at.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

I appreciate your feedback about your resent stay. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our property. We certainly strive for a much different response from our guest and apologize for any inconvenience you were caused during your stay. We will certainly work to correct these issues. Again I apologize and hope you will give us another... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven

Address: 1300 Third Street SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay