We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1300 Third Street SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Winter Haven
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jenney B Lexington, Kentucky
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    59
    35
    41
See reviews for
108
18
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was old, run down, dirty, smelled, had bugs. Found a beetle in the bathroom! Breakfast very poor.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear our hotel was not up to your expectations. We are an older but remodeled hotel. If you had any problems you should have let us know immediately so we could correct the situation. Again, I am very sorry we were not able to accommodate your... More 

Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I entered my room I found a big roach in the bath tub. I went to the front desk right away and advised of the roach situation. The lady at the front desk that early evening seemed concerned about my situation but didnt really know what to do. I asked if I could have a newer room. She said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The shower handle was not broken, it wasn't turned in the right direction. The front desk clerk did try to call you but received no answer. This is a busy time, especially during breakfast hours, therefore the front desk clerk cannot leave the front desk. I am sorry for the... More 

Burlington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Website stated this hotel had a bar. It didn't. Hotel breakfast consisted of coffee, bananas, bagels, and cold cereal...but no milk. That was out of order. Rooms were large and clean. The outdoor pool was nice. Beds were very uncomfortable. Hallways were very dark.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel did offer a restaurant and bar but during the time of your stay, it had closed. We are in the process of having these amenities taken off our website but it is a process. I am sorry for this inconvenience. The breakfast is a cold continental breakfast. There... More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rude front desk people. They called me a liar! !! and made my sleeping children and family move to another room at 10 pm .

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not have a good experience during your 3 night stay at our hotel. However, at check in, you did not inform the front desk clerk you had a pet. You were checked into a non-pet friendly room. For medical reasons, hotels have certain rooms in certain areas for pets. I... More 

Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean room, nice pool. Good breakfast. Thorough job by room service. What more can you ask for at 63 bucks a night!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're glad we were able to be a comfortable and affordable hotel for you. We hope to see you again. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my second year staying at the HoJo in Winter Haven. My trip is based on going to watch my son play baseball. The staff at the HoJo are so accommodating and willing to ensure your stay there is top notch. From getting extra towels, answering questions on where to eat in the area and best of all getting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are always happy to see old friends. It's good to hear that we can make someone's stay comfortable and pleasant. We hope to see you again More 

Corning, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly at the front counter. Overall nice place. Breakfast could have a few more varieties of breakfast items.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope to see you again. More 

Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is pretty much what I expected for what we paid. The hotel was clean, the room was clean. Yes the hallway is dark and it's very dated. The staff are not overly friendly but efficient. We had booked a smoking room because that was all they had, and when we tried to check in early I asked if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
linda j, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize you were not greeted in a friendly manner. We strive to greet each of our guests with a courteous and upbeat manner. I am glad we were able to accommodate you comfortably with your room preference as this is a busy time. This hotel is located within walking distance of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question