We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1300 Third Street SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Winter Haven
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    53
    70
    41
    53
See reviews for
129
19
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came from Louisiana to make a trip to Legoland. The price of the Howard Johnson Hotel was significantly cheaper than any other hotel in the area.There is no shuttle bus to anywhere.The employees at the hotel were fantastic, the other guests not so much.The hotel is not very well insulated so if you're looking for a good night sleep,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wesley Chapel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bad location, rooms have not been updated in at least 40 yrs, cobwebs in light fixtures, air filtration system was non existant, breakfast was toast or doughnuts, cockroach, way overpriced. The only nice thing was the nice lady at check in.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for the Howard Johnson of Winter Haven. We are pleased our front desk staff left a good impression on you. I apologize you feel your stay was not up to your expectations. Our hotel is an older hotel and we have ongoing renovations daily. We are always updating our breakfast to appease the guests.... More 

Port Charlotte, Florida
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Floor was filthy, not swept or washed. Mirro was hanging off wall, no TV guide or phone book. Wires were hanging from bathroom ceiling, where the fan use to be. Not even a toilet paper holder in bathroom. All of these problems, and the rate was increased!! Was a loyal customer of this venue, but will not return.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking your time to write us a review. We are always striving to make our customers stay at the Howard Johnson of Winter Haven better every time. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We would have wanted to fix these issues while you were still on property with us. We... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't even sleep here. I spend 30 minutes in the room and I see 3 roaches and 2 lizards. Smell horrible. appliances turned of, smelly and dirty carpets, 2 colors paint walls. I went to another hotel after one hour to get here and just did not sleep here but I was charged for 1 night anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I apologize for your dissatisfaction with our hotel. We only charge for a one night stay if the room had been used or was prepaid online with a non cancellation policy. We would have gladly moved you to another room, but was not given a chance to rectify the situation.... More 

miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good experience with the staff, great pool, good comfort in the room, the room need more cleanning

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing us a review. We are always striving to make the customer happy. I am delighted that you were happy with your stay with us at the Howard Johnson of Winter Haven. I apologize that you felt the room was not as clean as you thought it should be. Please let... More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

After reading the reviews, I was very hesitant on booking here. I should have listened to my gut instinct because I was disappointed. Positives: Near Legoland, reasonable rates, dining nearby, comfortable beds. Negatives: unprofessional management, basic/bland breakfast, equipment in room missing plugs or just didn't work. I looked past the negatives as it would be more of a subjective interpretation... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review. We are pleased you were happy about our location and comfortable beds. I apologize you were dissatisfied with our breakfast. We are adding new items daily to try and spice up our complimentary breakfast for our guests. We are unable to correct any issues within the room unless we are notified of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 17 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel
Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel
#7 of 17 in Winter Haven
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#1 of 17 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
1.2 mi away
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
#6 of 17 in Winter Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
2.8 mi away
Legoland Florida Hotel
Legoland Florida Hotel
#3 of 17 in Winter Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay