We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1300 Third Street SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Winter Haven
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Christina D Virginia Beach, Virginia
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    62
    36
    44
See reviews for
112
19
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (219)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Hollywood Fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just spent the night I read a lot of mixed reviews! I was pleasantly surprised the person at the front desk was really great.My room and bathroom were very clean and nice. I will stay there again next time I am here:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear you found our rooms nice and clean and accommodating. We do hope to see you again. More 

Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and comfortable. Good size pool. Some areas such as fitness room and others were under renovation. Nothing fancy but good value for the price.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are still under-going renovations to be more accommodating and comfortable for our guests. I am glad to hear you were satisfied with our property. Hope to see you again. More 

Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If I could give a 0 I would! I will NEVER book another Howard Johnson. I stayed 10 minutes and then left. I'm celebrating my honeymoon and this hotel was beyond disgusting!! Walked in, no lights. Had to get out our cell phones to figure out why the light switch wasn't working. Once we got the lights synced with the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied. We are an older hotel and have made some changes and are still going through some renovations. We did call out Orkin the next day to spray and he found nothing. Guests have been in that room specifically and found no complaint. You... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winter Haven hotels

nashville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Inconvenient access from the main road. Room was clean. We arrived late 10pm and had to register through a bullet proof glass window. Not sure of the neighborhood as music was loud from a vehicle driving around the parking lot several times through out the night. Called service desk to check and see if they can intervene. Music stopped for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. However, their may be some confusion about your reservation. I, myself checked you in early in the afternoon at the front counter. We don't have bullet-proof glass. Our hotel is located off a main road but easily enough to pull into our parking lot. Cars do drive by but we... More 

Lexington Park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was underwhelmed with this stay. Rooms were dirty, no vacuuming done during my stay and they added an extra $1.06/day charge for a safe? The staff told me it was required by Wyndham to have the safe but was not included as part of the cost per room on the reservation. Various minor construction events were on-going in each... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will be consulting with housekeeping why your room was not properly cleaned and checked. We are under-going numerous renovations, so I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We hope to see you again. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was available when we needed to check in. The room was very comfortable and we slept well.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear we were able to make your stay comfortable and accommodating. We hope to see you again. More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Air condition was noisy, the breakfast items were very few and stale ! Property was run down! Need a big time face lift!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied during your multi-night stay. Our property is older and is still under-going renovations. If you would like to give us another chance, please give me a call directly. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities