We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1300 Third Street SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Winter Haven
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
maydelyst miami
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    52
    68
    39
    51
See reviews for
124
19
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I don't even sleep here. I spend 30 minutes in the room and I see 3 roaches and 2 lizards. Smell horrible. appliances turned of, smelly and dirty carpets, 2 colors paint walls. I went to another hotel after one hour to get here and just did not sleep here but I was charged for 1 night anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I apologize for your dissatisfaction with our hotel. We only charge for a one night stay if the room had been used or was prepaid online with a non cancellation policy. We would have gladly moved you to another room, but was not given a chance to rectify the situation.... More 

miami
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good experience with the staff, great pool, good comfort in the room, the room need more cleanning

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing us a review. We are always striving to make the customer happy. I am delighted that you were happy with your stay with us at the Howard Johnson of Winter Haven. I apologize that you felt the room was not as clean as you thought it should be. Please let... More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading the reviews, I was very hesitant on booking here. I should have listened to my gut instinct because I was disappointed. Positives: Near Legoland, reasonable rates, dining nearby, comfortable beds. Negatives: unprofessional management, basic/bland breakfast, equipment in room missing plugs or just didn't work. I looked past the negatives as it would be more of a subjective interpretation... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our company sent two employees every week down to Winter Haven, Fl. The rooms progressively got worse, and yes even more worse. The carpets were reported as disgusting. Not to mention the horrible customer service I received when booking reservations and trying to get Folios/receipts emailed to me. They will only fax. The Guest Service Representative had a very difficult... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winterhaven, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This establishment DOES NOT have an elevator. Upon entering the room there was a strong mold smell, the room was quite warm even though it had been on for a while. As we began to unpack we noticed the painted yellow drywall had a minor crack. The tv wall was poorly patched and wasn't painted. The bed sheets had wax... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us at the Howard Johnson of Winter Haven. I appreciate you taking your time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad you found our front desk staff friendly and helpful. As you know we are an older hotel and yes we do not have an elevator. If there are any issues within... More 

Shreveport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Need to clean the rooms better. Replace carpet nasty and carpet nails. Walls need to be painted. Refrigerator door did not close. Not enough towels in the room. Need to be renovated. Pay more and stay somewhere else..

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

I apologize for your dissatisfaction in our Howard Johnson in Winter Haven. Our hotel is an older hotel and we are in the process of upgrading on a daily basis. If our front desk is unaware of the issues they cannot rectify them. Please let us know about a need for more towels, refrigerator not operating properly, or the cleanliness... More 

Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel because it was the only one we could find that would allow pets. The floors were tile which would have been ok if there were not sticky. The sheets had foreign pieces of debris stuck on them. I went to Walmart and purchased my own blankets to cover the bed and cover up with. I bought... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I apologize for any inconvenience you felt you had during your stay with us. Please let us know about any issues with your room during your stay as soon as you see them so we can address them immediately by switching your room or changing your bedding. If we are... More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is no elevator , very outdated, rugs smell and the toilet seat was broken. the breakfast was horrible

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven, responded to this review

Thank for writing a review to help better us. I apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay. We are an older hotel, therefore we do not have an elevator. However we are doing our best to update our facility with ongoing renovations. If there is ever any issues within the room please notify the front desk so we can rectify... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay