We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

#84 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Affiliate website
111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    159
    122
    81
    57
See reviews for
143
110
53
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (561)
  • Mar-May only
    (216)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (164)
All months
Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For the price, you can't beat this place. The staff was super friendly. Room was clean, A/C worked great, beds were comfy. What more do you need? This hotel was nearly half the price of other hotel near the arena. We used the shuttle to get to the game. My only complaint is with the speed of the shuttle. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
20 hotel reviews
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel boasts a FREE shuttle - but it only goes in a TWO mile areas around the hotel. This does not include the AIRPORT or most of the important locations around the area. . I also had to pay for the breakfast buffet which was outrageously overpriced. The Advertising describes "views of the river". My room had a superb... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and candid comments. Particularly your last four sentences. I've been here a short time and have to agree with you entirely. I'm doing everything I can in the short term to address the subpar staffing levels where guest services are concerned. My aim is to elevate the morale of this truly dear hotel team and... More 

Pickerington, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a nice stay before departing on our cruise. Room was comfy & clean. Room was located on an upper floor & we had a very nice view of city. Breakfast was good, just wish it was included in booking. Best perk was the shuttle from hotel to our cruise ship. Made for a nice, quick departure when heading out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thanks for your time and kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you'll enjoy your cruise. Come back and see us again soon. More 

Deltona, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed one night (thank God) because we found 6 roaches in our room! We told them about the roaches at check out and they told us we would be refunded but three months later, no refund. Will not ever stay here again, paid too much money for a nasty room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I'm very sorry you had a poor experience and were not provided with the expected refund. Please contact me personally, and I will make good on this. Please call me at 813-223-1351 ext 3102, or email me at gm@barrymorehotel.com More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is pretty basic but worth it. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. For the most part it's a super nice and comfy hotel. Not to mention that you're in the middle of the city so transportation with the shuttle or walking is easy. I enjoyed my stay very much with my boyfriend and I'd definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time to review your stay at our hotel. The entire team appreciates your positive feedback and recommendation. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again. More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is big and has a nice little restaurant lounge that I enjoyed watching games with a beer. The food was great! The WiFi was AMAZING! Nice people, great service and the rate was good! The hotel was in a good location. It was easy to get around!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review. The entire team appreciates the feedback as we rebuild here at The Barrymore. We are pleased you had a great stay and hope you'll come back when travel brings you to Tampa. More 

Donalds, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and i came down to Tampa for a cruise. This is our second time staying at the Barrymore. Love it will never stay anywhere else in Tampa. The room was so clean had no complain about this Hotel. The ladies at the front desk was so helpful they answer every question we had. I love their beds they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time and kind comments regarding your recent stay. All of us here at the Barrymore a!re grateful for your input, and we hope you will come back the next time you visit Tampa. Thanks for being our guest More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a lovely plan conjured to bring my grandmother from England, my mother, my mother in law and my aunt and cousin to the Beauty and the Beast show today at the straz at 2:00pm. We arrived in the Barrymore parking lot at 12:19 chatted in the lobby and shortly secured a table in the dinning area by12:30. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our restaurant. I'm personally very sorry you had such a poor experience. And I"m embarrassed as well. All I can and will do, is regroup with our new leadership team in our food and beverage outlets, share your feedback from last week, and come to an understanding as to... More 

North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a pleasant stay dont normally do reviews but would like to say thank you eva for being one of the most pleasant persons ive met definatelty a people person ill look for you next year when i return for tennis thanks barrymore for having such great employees will come again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and positive comments. The entire team appreciates your feedback. I'd also like to thank you for personally recognizing Eva. She is a very valuable team member who really helps raise our service level. Please come back and stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities