We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk

#82 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
111 W Fortune Street, 275N Ex-44 I-4/275S Ex-45A, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Tampa-Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Rate this Hotel

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    153
    115
    80
    51
See reviews for
138
101
50
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (527)
  • Mar-May only
    (182)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (164)
All months
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Barrymore was swamped with us Gasparilla International Film Festival guests being there at the same time as a convention of High School student Theatre groups; High School rowing crews sculling on the river; and many other groups. They really need more front desk staff and shuttle drivers for the load. Checking in was a nightmare (Manager Shari the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

A sincere thank you for your feedback. We're sorry for the subpar check in experience. It was a challenge, and we can certainly improve upon accommodating a large number of early arrivals in the future. At the same time, we appreciate your positive comments and mentioning our team members by name. That truly helps, and we hope you enjoy the... More 

Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
40 hotel reviews
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the outside the Barrymore Hotel is impressive. The lobby is old, dirty and smelled. The restaurant looked more like a dirty cafeteria. Hallways smelled. Rooms were just average in cleanliness. Manager is certainly not staying on top of this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid comments. As the new General Manager, I do recognize that there are several opportunities for improvement with our hotel product and our team. We are committed to doing all we can to get better, and we are especially encouraged with recently approved renovation plans for our restaurant. We do hope you'll forgive this experience and... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We rented last minute because our dog lost her vision instantly. The price was fair and the shuttle service to the popular sights in the area (aquarium, waterfront restaurants, convention center) was a complete hit with us. The staff was friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thanks very much for sharing your positive comments. It means a lot, and the entire team is appreciative and encouraged. We hope all is well with your dog, too. Please come back and see us the next time you visit the Tampa,Florida area. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Ron the maintenance guy was very nice! He was very helpful in finding great places to go and was very friendly. Outgoing and very polite, it was nice to have a person like him in the hotel. Only problem was in the room, I prefer to have a vent fan in my bathroom which there was not.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments and suggestions regarding your recent stay with us at The Barrymore Hotel. Everyone on the team appreciates your time and input. More so, thank you for mentioning the individual efforts of Ron in our maintenance department. I'm glad he could help point you toward some of the sights in downtown Tampa. We hope... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel in December 2014 for the Fleetwood Mac concert. We chose the hotel for the location and because we got a groupon. The location wound up being perfect. We were able to get a ride to the concert and walk back without any issues. The room was fine. Nothing incredible but no issues either. The lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your candor, and apologize for the indecision on our bus service to the arena and for the over charge in our lounge. Fortunately our team was able to correct things prior to your departure. Also, we are grateful for your positive comments as well, and hope you will come... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the Barrymore for a conference in March. The location was great--I enjoyed running on the riverwalk and it was easy to get to restaurants downtown. The hotel itself was just okay. I had to turn the AC off and on because it didn't seem to respond to temperature adjustments. Hallways felt weirdly humid. Room was not well-cleaned;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response. In light of a less than average experience, it is appreciated that you still took the time to point out some positive aspects of your stay. I understand your comments and want you to know that the current capital improvements underway should help greatly improve the physical space and functionality of the guest room... More 

Monmouth, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights in mid-March for a conference held at the Convention Center. I was really happy with the location, about a mile from the Conv. Ctr. As a 40-something female, I felt quite safe walking outside during the daytime and the nighttime, using the Tampa Riverwalk along the Hillsborough River for most of my walks. I also jogged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your time and input very much. Please accept my apologies for the air conditioning and van service problems. I will address these with our team and make sure they are corrected. Overall, I hope you enjoyed your stay and will consider us again should you return to our area. More 

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are frequent visitors to the restaurant because we go to the Shows at the Straz Performing Arts Center across the street. It is great and convenient for parking, stopping in for a quick bite and then walking over to the show. The service has always been hit or miss - but knowing this we always plan ahead to allow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding your poor experience in the restaurant. I am new to the Barrymore Hotel team, and I will do everything I can to use your example as a meaningful path toward improvement. You've pointed out the obvious facts, and they will be shared far and wide with the team and the owners. More 

Northfield MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great time at the Barrymore Hotel and without the help of one of the shuttle drivers, Karen, I really don't think my stay would have been as fun. Karen helped me with things to do in the area (since I'm from Massachusetts) and was very kind and helpful whenever I had any questions. I was annoyed that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. I appreciate your time and input. I understand your disappointment regarding the fifth night charge given your personal emergency. Should travel bring you back to Tampa in the near future, please contact me directly and I will help you out with one night complimentary. Also, thanks for mentioning Karen in guest services. It's... More 

Greenfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I stayed at the Barrymore for a conference that was held a mile away. The hotel staff was very helpful with ideas for things to do in the area during our down time from the conference. The hotel offers free shuttle rides within 2 miles for the hotel. Our driver for most of the trip was Karen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHgeneralmanager, General Manager at The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive input. More so, thank you for mentioning Karen in guest services and the personal impact she had on your stay. She truly does a great job, and I will personally recognize her for it. Everyone at The Barrymore Hotel hopes you will come back and stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question