We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2520 North 50th Street, I-4, Exit 3, Tampa, FL 33619
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #120 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    40
    28
    73
See reviews for
44
28
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (172)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City
See the most recent reviews
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

we booked our room thru a third party and didnt know what to expect at first glance the room looked ok until night hit and the roaches started to appear german type not the typical fl. palmetto bugs i immediately called the desk and told them what the problem was they replied would you like a can of bug spray!!!!..dont... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tampahojo4, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City, responded to this review

Dear Quest we do apologize for the problems that occurred during your stay, please know that management has increase our pest control service to eliminate any future problems, and have put security and our front desk staff notice to improve there service, this has been done so that all of our guest can enjoy there stay, we do hope that... More 

Acworth, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Upon arriving in the room found a dead roach stuck to shower curtain. Shower did not work and they needed to fix it and refused to move us to a different room. The next day we found two live roaches in the bathroom. Disgusting, will not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tampahojo4, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City, responded to this review

Dear Guest we apologize for your not so pleasant experience, please know that management has contacted our pest control company to increase the service of our rooms so that all of our Guest can enjoy there stay , we do hope you will consider us on your next visit to Tampa . Thank you More 

Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We checked in and right away the roaches were EVERYWHERE. They were on the walls. the floor, the ceilings, the beds, even crawling out of the clock radio. We had a very sleepless night. We checked out at 7 am never to look back. Someone needs to call a health inspector to this roach motel.I have been all over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tampahojo4, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City, responded to this review

Dear Guest we do apologize for the problem that occurred during your stay in one of our rooms, please know that the experience you had is not the norm and management has hired a new pest control company to take care of this issue. we do hope you will reconsider us on your next visit to Tampa . thank you. More 

Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family and I had an awful encounter at this hotel. We walked in our room and there was a small roach already on the wall. We brushed it off but as the day went on we noticed more and more. By the end of the night we saw about 25 roaches and when we turned off the lights about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tampahojo4, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City, responded to this review

Dear guest we do apologize for the problems that occurred during your stay with us ,please know that this is not the norm at our hotel and management has now change pest control company to resolve any and all problems we had , we do hope you will give us another try on your next trip to Tampa. thank you. More 

Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Room was pretty clean, saw a small itty bitty roach, but other thank that it was clean. It is located in a very sketchy area, and has a bar connected to it, so many party goers, sketchy people, smoking , noisy, and more sketchy people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tampahojo4, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City, responded to this review

Dear guest we do apologize for any problems that occurred during your stay, it is our goal for all of our Guest to have a pleasant stay, please know that management has change pest control company and has step up security to alleviate any future problems , we do hope you will stay with us on your next visit to... More 

Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for just one night in November 2013, before a cruise out of the Port of Tampa. Check-in was as simple as showing my printed confirmation and receiving the key. The front desk clerk was very nice. Our room was on the 2nd floor, no elevator but it wasn't really needed. I did like the fact that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Titusville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Room smelled bad at check in. Pubic hair on floor of bathroom. Ceiling peeling over one of the beds and in the bathroom. No flat screen TV... Really? Very very noisy with car doing peelouts in the parking lot for over an hour.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
tampahojo4, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Tampa Ybor City, responded to this review

Dear Guest please accept our apology for the problems that occurred during your stay, please know that management has address these issues in your complaints with housekeeping and maintenance and have made the necessary correction, we do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Tampa. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question