We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds

5001 North US Route 301, Tampa, FL 33610
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    22
    18
    12
See reviews for
19
50
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

This hotel is across the street from the Tampa Fairgrounds. The fairgrounds host many events and concerts. The only reason we stay here is because of the location. It is great to walk to and from the concert and not have to worry about parking, traffic and driving 2 1/2 hours home after a concert. That is the only reason... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Commerce Twp, MI
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I will admit that my husband and I are not frequent Red Roof visitors and I think we still feel the same. We were in town for a concert across the street at the Fairgrounds and by the time we booked very few rooms were still available. They have done some minimal upgrading in that bathroom and half of main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

The only positive I can really give this hotel is that it is far better than getting a DUI and spending the night in jail. All of the rooms are smoke free, but our room reeked of smoke. There was mold on the ceiling, the AC didn't work right and worst of all the smoke detector was missing with just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Miramar, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

After reading the reviews from previous posts, my family and I decided to give this hotel a try. Now that I have checked in and took a second look at some of the good reviews I have realized there are a lot of reviewers in which this hotel happens to be the only place they have reviewed. Suspicious? I think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I do apologize for your experience. Cleanliness is what we strive for. I will review with the staff these comments. Thank you again. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We booked a night stay at the Red Roof Inn this month and will never go back. When we first walked in we were overcome with a strong smell of mold and mildew. It was not clean, blood on the wall, and dead bugs along the wall near the bathroom. The area it was located was questionable as well. Next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you had this experience. I will follow up with the staff on this and again apologize for your experience. We do take cleanliness seriously and try to give our guest a pleasant experience. I do hope you will try us again so we can show you we are the best value in... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

My family and I attended a concert. We were able to walk across the street versus driving in traffic. Also, after the concert we were able to grab some grub by foot as well. I was worried that the rooms would not be so nice, but even that was a nice surprise. For a Red Roof Inn this location stands... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. I am happy you enjoyed the concert as well as our location to the venue. I will let the staff know of your delight with the room and I hope to see you for the next concert. Once again thank you for your comments. More 

Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I have stayed at this location a few times now over the years. The room (233) was very clean and cool upon arrival. They were very busy with a large concert crowd expected but everyone was courteous and quick. I had requested an adjacent room for a relative and that was handled perfectly. The cost seemed higher going through hotels.com... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. Concert check in can be very busy and I am happy the staff treated every one so well. This concert had a great crowd. I am happy you enjoyed your room as well as the convenience of our location to the venue. Hope to see you again soon and as always thank you. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I came for work and Angela was spectacular in her service . My company will definitely book here again. We were down here from Jan 2nd to February 15th before and Angela helped us then as well. She is a great asset to them and should be recognized for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, I will make sure I show Angela your comments. Mentioning her name in this review is a big pat on the back for any staff member. I hope to see you again soon, and again thank you for your comments. More 

Kincardine, Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Stayed at the Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds Mar 1 2015. We paid more than expected for less than expected. We were told they couldn't offer the Hotel Coupon rate because there was an event on at the Fairground. Given that it was Sunday night and the Motel was half-empty, I was skeptical of this claim. Sounded like it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry we were not accepting coupons at this time. This time of year is extremely busy for us and I do hope you will return. Again thank you for your comments. More 

Orangeville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I'd like to open the review by saying I am not overly picky with my hotels, especially when basically looking for somewhere just to crash for a night, as I was in this case. A friend of mine and I stayed in one of the "Premium King" rooms. We just needed somewhere to crash for one night in the Tampa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mark P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not have a great experience here at our hotel. I do want to thank you for your comments and let you know we have discussed this with the staff. I also hope you will be able to give us another chance in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay