We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Tampa Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
101 East Tyler Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Special Offer
Book Now & Save
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Residence Inn to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence Inn Tampa Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a wonderful time and stay this past weekend during Gaspirilla We are part of a Krewe and we have stayed here the past several years and we've always been treated so well that we return year after year. The rooms are comfortable and has all the amenities you would need here. I especially like how easy on and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jbulson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Residence Inn is a decent hotel. We have stayed here 3 Gasparilla's in a row and this is where the Krewe stays so theres a lot of Gasparilla fun. The staff is very friendly. The water temperature is extremely inconsistent and the rooms aren't in the best condition but it does the trick for a weekend where you certainly aren't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim D
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Kim D, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. While we are always grateful to have the Krewe stay at our hotel, we want each individual to enjoy everything that a Residence Inn by Marriott is here to offer. Thank you for letting us know that you had issues. Please feel free to come to the front... More 

Level Contributor
891 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My reservation got messed up and the front desk was very patient with me as I tried to explain what I thought went wrong. In the end, I had my room at a great price and was really appreciative thanks to their help.

Helpful?
Thank Les L
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Les L, Hi there! Thanks so much for a nice review and we are so happy to have you come and stay with us. We hope we have the opportunity to give you wonderful service again in the future! Sincerely, Shab S. More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in downtown Tampa within walking distance of many restaurants and bars. The Tampa Riverwalk is a few blocks away. The room was clean and huge with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and the price was very reasonable. The pool and courtyard are shared with the Courtyard Tampa Downtown. The staff is friendly and check-in (and check-out)... More 

Helpful?
Thank HRK1963
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

HRK1963, Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel! We don't have too many of our spacious 900 sq. feet two-bedroom suites as they do sell out quickly, however, they provide families and others with so much room and comfort! Residence Inn is Marriott's leading extended stay brand so all of our suites come with kitchens... More 

Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel at the last minute from Hotwire as we were in the city for a Tampa Bay Lightning hockey gam. It worked out to be approximately half off the usual sticker price for a room, which is more in line with its actual value. All the rooms are suites and ours had a kitchenette that will allow... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelers433
GuestServicesMegan, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing our hotel to stay at during your recent visit. I am glad that you could take advantage of our low rates. I apologize that you did not receive the guest experience that you deserve. I have notified our staff of the issues you faced during... More 

Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here while spending a night in Tampa Bay to go to a Lightening game. We had a studio suite which included a big kitchen with dishwasher. All fine. Just dated. The bed was comfortable but just a double....very small. The cleanliness was at best a 6 or 7/10. The bathroom shower curtain was dirty and in need of replacement.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelingT137
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

TravelingT137, Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry that you didn't receive the exceptional service that we would always want to provide to each and every guest. In times like these, we would always appreciate it if you would stop by the front desk and let us know so that we have the opportunity to fix these issues... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Room size is really nice because you have a bed, sitting area, work desk and kitchen area. Clean, quiet and comfortable, however room feels 'dated'. The extra features make this a great value: free breakfast, evening 'mixer' Mon-Wed with beer and wine, and free shuttle w/i 2 miles of the hotel. Will stay again for business, would stay elsewhere for... More 

Helpful?
Thank E A
Shab S, Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

E A, Thank you for the time that you took to write this review. We certainly appreciate the fact that you enjoyed all the things that our hotel provides our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Shab S. More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

This hotel is in need of some major updating. Rooms are tiny and cramp. Furniture is worn out and needs cleaning or replaced. Location is great - easy to walk around. Breakfast was fine - nothing special. The pool is small and they share with another Marriott property next door. Was disappointed that this Marriott property was not in better... More 

Helpful?
Thank cmddavis13
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

We booked this as a pre-cruise hotel for our trip on the norwegian star. So we only stayed two nights. It was livable. Key complaints....others in our group had no hot water - from reading the reviews this seems to be an ongoing problem, bad television reception, weak wifi, 5 am wake up call that I did not request (or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula Pelt T
GuestServicesMegan, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Paula Pelt T, Thank you for sharing your comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Please be confident that we will follow-up on the key points you have outlined to avoid a recurrence. I sincerely apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. Thank you for staying... More 

New England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

We decided to fly into Tampa a couple of days before a cruise to relax and wind down. We arrived via Super Shuttle from the airport as this hotel only provides shuttle within 2 miles of hotel. We were able to check in early which was very convenient. Room was clean and I had requested in advance a room facing... More 

Helpful?
Thank NEFrequentTraveler
GuestServicesMegan, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Tampa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with room reservations during your stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We appreciate including areas for improvement in your review. If your travels return you to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#20 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridan Palace Hotel
#94 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#77 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay