We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugarloaf Lodge

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042
Special Offer
CALL FOR BEST RATES
Sugarloaf Lodge
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014
keri g Bristol, Connecticut
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    64
    22
    11
    18
See reviews for
44
64
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sugarloaf Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

This was my first trip to the keys and Sugarloaf didn't disappoint. The room was retro but clean. Very reasonably priced. The sunset is spectacular as was the Tiki Bar! Great local entertainment on the weekend (locals and musicians!).Angelo the bartender rocks!! I will definitely stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Clean place and looks like it's kept in the late 60s on purpose. Enjoyed that. View can't be beat and every room has one. Friendly staff. May be pricey for some at about one and a half but everything is down there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middleburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Sugarloaf Lodge was the perfect place to stay in the keys! Being a small hotel, it was quiet and comfortable. We had one of the rooms on the lower floor, which allowed us to step out of our room and right up to the water. We took a small grill with us, and were able to cook dinner right outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm a regular visitor to sugarloaf lodge, primarily as a simple and relatively inexpensive, safe and clean place to stay in the lower keys while conducting business, but I also really enjoy this location for fishing and boating. Boats: Sugarloaf lodge is a boater's dream. You can pretty much have your boat tied up outside the back of your room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and thorough review. I makes me very happy when people enjoy the Lodge. More 

Saint James City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was once a great place in the Keys but has now gone down hill. Rooms were dirty and outdated. Same with the outside surroundings. Needs an uplift badly. The only good thing was the view over the water. It was outstanding

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay at the Sugarloaf Lodge. The lodge is in an older property and we have tried to maintain the original fixtures and furniture as many of our customers like the old keys 60's atmosphere. However I am sorry that you felt your room was dirty. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sugarloaf Key hotels

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Perfect for lobster mini season. Melinda at the bar was great and the Tiki Bar is legendary. Awesome keys experience. Beautiful location. Close to Key West and great fishing/boating in the lower keys. If you get bored, you can walk over to airfield and go skydiving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay! More 

Dunedin, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I don't know if it is the time of year or because there's swamp all around but INSIDE the rooms I have killed at least 20 mosquitoes and its only night one. Rooms are WAY overpriced $180 for the night to be 30 minutes outside of Key West. Bartender at the tiki bar, SO RUDE! I never write reviews for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We have had an incredibly rainy summer and the mosquito control board was apparently caught off guard. I am very sorry that you felt the Tiki bartender was rude. That is unacceptable and we have spoken to all our bartenders about your review. Hopefully no... More 

Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on our week long trip in the keys. The room was exactly as shown on the website and the property was quite large. With a pool, tennis court, boat ramp, tiki bar, kayak rentals and more there is plenty to do. The room was old school retro but I found it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Due to perennial popularity of the Florida Keys and restrictions on construction - hotel choices down here don't change much over time, and existing hotels don't feel excessive pressure to improve. That's particularly true of Lower Keys - between Marathon and Key West there are precious few places, none of which strives for particularly high standards. So, I don't want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sugarloaf Lodge. I am sorry that you were unhaopy with your stay. We strive to provide a clean room at a price significantly lower than Key West. The state of cleanliness you describe is not representative of our standards. I wish you would have alerted one of our staff and you... More 

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was very nice, looked just like the pictures on their website. The view from the patio was beautiful especially the sunsets. The clerks in the office were very friendly and helpful. We had a room with two double beds, but neither one was very comfortable. The grounds were very well kept and the pool was nice in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question