We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Sugarloaf Key B&Bs / inns

Sugarloaf Lodge

2.5 of 5 Inn   |   17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042
Hotel amenities
Sugarloaf Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sugarloaf Lodge to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014
Dawn M Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    22
    11
    18
See reviews for
40
55
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sugarloaf Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

After reading the reviews online we decided to give the sugar loaf a try. I was coming down to do the Southernmost marathon so I needed something close to Keywest. The sugarloaf is only about a 20 minute drive from Keywest so that made it convenient for me to get to my race on time. The man at the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Great hotel, very nice room, beautiful view, clean, well managed, 20 minutes from key west without the high prices..highly recommended. they have a marina with dock space and watersports, also there is a tiki bar,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We are on our honemoon and wanted to go to the keys so we stopped here for the night on a whim and it paid off. The man working the desk was so nice for it being late in the evrning.., he made some recommendations on where to snorkel and watch the sunset. The room was very large and clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We chose to stay here because we wanted to be close to key west but didn't want to pay key west prices. Hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly. Hotel is older and when you walk in a room, you step back in time. Hotel is right on the water which had great views. Unfortunately, it was cloudy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

This was my first trip to the keys and Sugarloaf didn't disappoint. The room was retro but clean. Very reasonably priced. The sunset is spectacular as was the Tiki Bar! Great local entertainment on the weekend (locals and musicians!).Angelo the bartender rocks!! I will definitely stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Clean place and looks like it's kept in the late 60s on purpose. Enjoyed that. View can't be beat and every room has one. Friendly staff. May be pricey for some at about one and a half but everything is down there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middleburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Sugarloaf Lodge was the perfect place to stay in the keys! Being a small hotel, it was quiet and comfortable. We had one of the rooms on the lower floor, which allowed us to step out of our room and right up to the water. We took a small grill with us, and were able to cook dinner right outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm a regular visitor to sugarloaf lodge, primarily as a simple and relatively inexpensive, safe and clean place to stay in the lower keys while conducting business, but I also really enjoy this location for fishing and boating. Boats: Sugarloaf lodge is a boater's dream. You can pretty much have your boat tied up outside the back of your room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and thorough review. I makes me very happy when people enjoy the Lodge. More 

Saint James City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was once a great place in the Keys but has now gone down hill. Rooms were dirty and outdated. Same with the outside surroundings. Needs an uplift badly. The only good thing was the view over the water. It was outstanding

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay at the Sugarloaf Lodge. The lodge is in an older property and we have tried to maintain the original fixtures and furniture as many of our customers like the old keys 60's atmosphere. However I am sorry that you felt your room was dirty. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sugarloaf Key hotels

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Perfect for lobster mini season. Melinda at the bar was great and the Tiki Bar is legendary. Awesome keys experience. Beautiful location. Close to Key West and great fishing/boating in the lower keys. If you get bored, you can walk over to airfield and go skydiving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sugarloaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Lodge

Address: 17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarloaf Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sugarloaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Hotel Summerland Key

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay