We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Sugarloaf Key B&Bs / inns

Sugarloaf Lodge

2.5 of 5 Inn   |   17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042
Hotel amenities
Sugarloaf Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sugarloaf Lodge to your Saves list
62%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Krr1975 Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    19
    11
    18
See reviews for
34
51
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose to stay here because we wanted to be close to key west but didn't want to pay key west prices. Hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly. Hotel is older and when you walk in a room, you step back in time. Hotel is right on the water which had great views. Unfortunately, it was cloudy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first trip to the keys and Sugarloaf didn't disappoint. The room was retro but clean. Very reasonably priced. The sunset is spectacular as was the Tiki Bar! Great local entertainment on the weekend (locals and musicians!).Angelo the bartender rocks!! I will definitely stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Clean place and looks like it's kept in the late 60s on purpose. Enjoyed that. View can't be beat and every room has one. Friendly staff. May be pricey for some at about one and a half but everything is down there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middleburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Sugarloaf Lodge was the perfect place to stay in the keys! Being a small hotel, it was quiet and comfortable. We had one of the rooms on the lower floor, which allowed us to step out of our room and right up to the water. We took a small grill with us, and were able to cook dinner right outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm a regular visitor to sugarloaf lodge, primarily as a simple and relatively inexpensive, safe and clean place to stay in the lower keys while conducting business, but I also really enjoy this location for fishing and boating. Boats: Sugarloaf lodge is a boater's dream. You can pretty much have your boat tied up outside the back of your room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and thorough review. I makes me very happy when people enjoy the Lodge. More

Saint James City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was once a great place in the Keys but has now gone down hill. Rooms were dirty and outdated. Same with the outside surroundings. Needs an uplift badly. The only good thing was the view over the water. It was outstanding

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay at the Sugarloaf Lodge. The lodge is in an older property and we have tried to maintain the original fixtures and furniture as many of our customers like the old keys 60's atmosphere. However I am sorry that you felt your room was dirty. We... More

Travelers are raving about these Sugarloaf Key hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Perfect for lobster mini season. Melinda at the bar was great and the Tiki Bar is legendary. Awesome keys experience. Beautiful location. Close to Key West and great fishing/boating in the lower keys. If you get bored, you can walk over to airfield and go skydiving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay! More

Dunedin, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I don't know if it is the time of year or because there's swamp all around but INSIDE the rooms I have killed at least 20 mosquitoes and its only night one. Rooms are WAY overpriced $180 for the night to be 30 minutes outside of Key West. Bartender at the tiki bar, SO RUDE! I never write reviews for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We have had an incredibly rainy summer and the mosquito control board was apparently caught off guard. I am very sorry that you felt the Tiki bartender was rude. That is unacceptable and we have spoken to all our bartenders about your review. Hopefully no... More

Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on our week long trip in the keys. The room was exactly as shown on the website and the property was quite large. With a pool, tennis court, boat ramp, tiki bar, kayak rentals and more there is plenty to do. The room was old school retro but I found it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Due to perennial popularity of the Florida Keys and restrictions on construction - hotel choices down here don't change much over time, and existing hotels don't feel excessive pressure to improve. That's particularly true of Lower Keys - between Marathon and Key West there are precious few places, none of which strives for particularly high standards. So, I don't want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sugarloaf Lodge. I am sorry that you were unhaopy with your stay. We strive to provide a clean room at a price significantly lower than Key West. The state of cleanliness you describe is not representative of our standards. I wish you would have alerted one of our staff and you... More

Do you own or manage Sugarloaf Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sugarloaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Lodge

Address: 17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarloaf Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugarloaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Hotel Summerland Key

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Sugarloaf Lodge