We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Sugarloaf Key B&Bs / inns

Sugarloaf Lodge

2.5 of 5 Inn   |   17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sugarloaf Lodge to your Saves list
Sugarloaf Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
62%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
RickF9 Miami, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (122)
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    46
    19
    11
    18
See reviews for
32
51
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean place and looks like it's kept in the late 60s on purpose. Enjoyed that. View can't be beat and every room has one. Friendly staff. May be pricey for some at about one and a half but everything is down there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middleburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sugarloaf Lodge was the perfect place to stay in the keys! Being a small hotel, it was quiet and comfortable. We had one of the rooms on the lower floor, which allowed us to step out of our room and right up to the water. We took a small grill with us, and were able to cook dinner right outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm a regular visitor to sugarloaf lodge, primarily as a simple and relatively inexpensive, safe and clean place to stay in the lower keys while conducting business, but I also really enjoy this location for fishing and boating. Boats: Sugarloaf lodge is a boater's dream. You can pretty much have your boat tied up outside the back of your room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and thorough review. I makes me very happy when people enjoy the Lodge. More

Saint James City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was once a great place in the Keys but has now gone down hill. Rooms were dirty and outdated. Same with the outside surroundings. Needs an uplift badly. The only good thing was the view over the water. It was outstanding

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay at the Sugarloaf Lodge. The lodge is in an older property and we have tried to maintain the original fixtures and furniture as many of our customers like the old keys 60's atmosphere. However I am sorry that you felt your room was dirty. We... More

Travelers are raving about these Sugarloaf Key hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect for lobster mini season. Melinda at the bar was great and the Tiki Bar is legendary. Awesome keys experience. Beautiful location. Close to Key West and great fishing/boating in the lower keys. If you get bored, you can walk over to airfield and go skydiving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay! More

Dunedin, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't know if it is the time of year or because there's swamp all around but INSIDE the rooms I have killed at least 20 mosquitoes and its only night one. Rooms are WAY overpriced $180 for the night to be 30 minutes outside of Key West. Bartender at the tiki bar, SO RUDE! I never write reviews for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We have had an incredibly rainy summer and the mosquito control board was apparently caught off guard. I am very sorry that you felt the Tiki bartender was rude. That is unacceptable and we have spoken to all our bartenders about your review. Hopefully no... More

Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on our week long trip in the keys. The room was exactly as shown on the website and the property was quite large. With a pool, tennis court, boat ramp, tiki bar, kayak rentals and more there is plenty to do. The room was old school retro but I found it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Due to perennial popularity of the Florida Keys and restrictions on construction - hotel choices down here don't change much over time, and existing hotels don't feel excessive pressure to improve. That's particularly true of Lower Keys - between Marathon and Key West there are precious few places, none of which strives for particularly high standards. So, I don't want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgoodb, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sugarloaf Lodge. I am sorry that you were unhaopy with your stay. We strive to provide a clean room at a price significantly lower than Key West. The state of cleanliness you describe is not representative of our standards. I wish you would have alerted one of our staff and you... More

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was very nice, looked just like the pictures on their website. The view from the patio was beautiful especially the sunsets. The clerks in the office were very friendly and helpful. We had a room with two double beds, but neither one was very comfortable. The grounds were very well kept and the pool was nice in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 nights here the last week of June and thought it was the perfect location for what we planned. We spent a couple of night in Key West and it was only a 15 minute trip and also visited Marathon which was about 30 minutes away. Rooms were clean, great view, housekeeping was awesome and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sugarloaf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sugarloaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Lodge

Address: 17001 Overseas Hwy, Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Sugarloaf Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarloaf Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sugarloaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Hotel Summerland Key

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sugarloaf Logde is a family run, 31 unit waterfront resort in the Florida Keys 13 miles from Key West. All of our rooms face the water with sunset views and if you have a boat you can park it behind your room. The lodge has a Tiki Bar, marina, pool, tennis courts, and airstrip. We are pet friendly and are perfect for families, kayakers and flats fisherman. A fifteen minute drive from all that Key West has to offer without the crowds and high prices. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
31

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sugarloaf Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer