We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Hotel amenities
3 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,026 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    276
    410
    209
    82
    49
See reviews for
317
383
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1026)
  • Mar-May only
    (304)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (337)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (191)
All months
Kansas City ,Mo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have stayed here a number of times, the beach is gorgeous and 2 wonderful pools. The rooms and bath are 1960s beach and we knew that. The manager interceded with the new clerk to make sure we received the room we had requested. Unfortunately breakfast food was uneatable (the young waiter just surged and left the bill). The lovely pools... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mt Dora
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Front Desk Staff was great.. smooth easy check in! The staff at the beach was on top of it! The room was clean and the fact that all we had to do was walk down the stairs to the beach was awesome! I did note that some other resorts required a walk across the street.. These are not the greatest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us at the Sandcastle. I will pass along your comments regarding the staff to my fellow associates. There is a great group of people working here; very friendly and always willing to help our guests and each other. Yes, our beach is spectacular. Due to the size (600 feet wide) and beach renourishment that took place... More 

Bierland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a long overdue salute towards Sandcastle's staff during our cross country roadtrip in 2014. We had been on the road for four weeks traveling from San Diego (taking the long northern route) when we arrived in Lido beach the day of the world cup finals. Since my family is German/American we were quite panicked to find a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Good to read that you were able to view the World Cup finals. I understand the panic of missing an event that occurs once every four years; especially if you are cheering for one of the teams (Germany?). Thank you for staying with us and please come back to visit. Regards, Eddie S. More 

White Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall we're very pleased. We booked a gulf view room with a balcony. All of the staff that we had contact with were very friendly and helpful. If you want to be on the beach with a beautiful view in every direction than this location is absolutely perfect. The hotel provides the guests with fresh towels on your way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

I am pleased to read you found the associates here at the Sandcastle to be friendly and helpful. The most important asset of our resort is our staff. They are a great group of individuals and understand the importance of taking care of our guests. Thank you for visiting us and we do hope you return to the Sandcastle. Regards,... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit run down but location is great close to St Amands shopping Mote Aquarium and restaurants. Wonderful beach and double pool area outdoor tiki bar was quite busy but restaurant and indoor bar were empty . Rooms could stand updating and grounds were a bit littered with empty glasses etc., overall a decent place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was in a great location, but just average at best for the cost. I booked online through trip advisor and paid what I thought was the total price up front. I received a confirmation that I was paid in full and owed nothing at the hotel. Upon check out they wanted collect an additional resort fee, which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed here a few times and always enjoyed our visits. The hotel room itself is older but clean and comfortable. I recommend staying beachfront, it's worth the extra money. The sunsets are incredible and the water is warm and perfect for swimming. The food at the restaurant is quite good and our kids really enjoyed the pool as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edgewater Fl
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent place on the beach.Breakfast is not included but they have a good restaurant on the premises. The Gulf water is a bit to warm in August but thats not their fault.There are beach chairs and umbrellas for the guests use.I think would be a good idea for them to change the carpet to tile since the people bring in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I go to this place at least twice during the summer. It was bought a few years ago and alot of changes have been made. There are alot of fees. Resort fees of 25.00 a night. Breakfast buffet is 15.00 a person. The beach is beautiful and they have a very nice pool. The rooms are older,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family has been staying at this resort for over 30 years. Met lots of lovely people who today we call our friends. When we vacationed there last year we noticed the property was going down. We thought it was because it had in recent years changed owners. Thought for sure that the knew owners would clean it up. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(8)
  • Pool bar(5)
  • Gulf view room(4)
  • Lido Beach(4)
  • Gift shop(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

469 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (463)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (112)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#4 of 11 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay