We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Sarasota hotels

Gulf Side Motel

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   138 Garfield Dr, Lido Beach, Sarasota, FL 34236
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gulf Side Motel to your Saves list
Gulf Side Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
38%
Ranked #36 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014
peace183 Sarasota, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (13)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

the location can't be beat, across the street from the beach and just blocks away from the circle. Norman, the manager, was on the spot. enjoyed my stay at Gulf Side. Just a quiet little place right next to an Ashram.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

If you wish to be treated with some respect then keep well clear of this hell hole of a hotel and it awful rude staff. Specially this guy named "NORMAN" Very condescending. The most rude human being Very poor housekeeping. I left as soon as possible, I couldn't rest my head on their filthy bedding, and the very bad smell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
oceanliver, Owner at Gulf Side Motel, responded to this review

I tried to respond to this guest but he had an invalid email. I don t know who they are or when and if they even stayed here. I do have a manager named Norman but he is usually very polite and attentive to guests needs if he is aware of them. What bothers me more is your slanderous remarks... More

Kissimmee, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed in the studio, just my husband and I for a long weekend away. The location is AWESOME about 200 yards from the beach you can't ask for more at the price we paid. It's a mom and pop type of establishment ( older style), the manager was very friendly came over and asked us a few times if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Raymond, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you're looking for starched white sheets, plush carpets, and a view of the gulf out your window, I'm sure there are a plethora of places along Lido Key that will provide that...at 2, 3 times the price. Staying at the Gulf Side Motel was like being invited to stay at a friend's beach cottage for a few days. Small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Newton Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We found the room and the property to be quite dilapidated. If you're looking for quaint and cute, look elsewhere - however, with some care and attention, this could be just that. We're pretty hardy travelers though, so it wasn't anything that sent us running the other way. Bathroom was acceptably clean and had hot running water. Bed, after careful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Key Largo, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

In room 109 it was awesome management got us a blender room clean. Beach awesome I will be back!!! They had clean towels. Every item in the condo. Staff was great very helpful and the beach And pool right there great parking

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This place should be avoided. It is filthy and disgusting. Dirty,old bedding, dilapidated old stove and appliances, no water from the kitchen faucet,mold on the refrigerator,musty smell,no lock on the door,etc, etc. These operators are ripping off the public. Don't even consider staying here is my advice. I cancelled my stay on arrival and was charged for one night only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
oceanliver, Owner at Gulf Side Motel, responded to this review

This individual thought he booked a resort not an economy motel. His wife was expecting the Ritz and wanted to leave immediately. All of his remarks are untrue and were made solely to seek a refund from Hotels.com. Within two days of his departure I received a visit from State authorities in response to his slanderous claims. I showed the... More

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a family wedding at an expensive resort, which was a little out of my budget. I found the Gulf Side Motel and secured the 1 bedroom apartment. It was $89 per night. My daughter and I were leary, as I had read some reviews. When we arrived, we were smitten with the charm and decor. We found the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Torrington, CT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lido Beach is one block away and is gorgeous but this is like the Bates Motel!!! It is old fashioned and creepy. The floors are terrazzo and it is like an apartment with a window air conditioner. It is equipped with a full kitchen, bathroom, and separate bedroom, and a living room area with TV. It is quaint but creepy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
managergulfsidemotel, General Manager at Gulf Side Motel, responded to this review

we dread reviews like this one, when the guest NEVER CALLS OUR OFFICE TO COMPLAIN about something but rather waits until they are miles away to vent sbout a horrible bed.....we just had installed sealy posturepedic double pillow top beds at the motel and it is possible that your back is so damaged prior to arrival that you could not... More

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The price and location for this place can't be beat, but there are some down sides. The neighborhood is wonderful, and it's very close to the beach. The room was spacious. They have a middle communal patio and a table and chairs outside. As another reviewer mentioned it appears clean, but I also found some remnants of previous occupants. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Management response:

I saw your comment re the washcloths with dog hair on them...I believe you were the lady who came with a dog and perhaps thats how you saw the dog hair on them or perhaps your long black hair got entangled with them. I never heard from you re the towels so I know they were clean when I handed... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gulf Side Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
4.4 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#19 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota
Free Parking, P...
Show More
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#23 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Side Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Side Motel

Address: 138 Garfield Dr, Lido Beach, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gulf Side Motel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Gulf Side Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines